Blessed Hammer + Spell-like abilities


Rules Questions


Blessed Hammer feat:

Blessed Hammer wrote:


You can use any warhammer you wield as a holy symbol when casting spells that require a divine focus or when you channel energy.

Furthermore, as a swift action when you cast a divine touch spell, you can choose to have the warhammer carry the charge of the spell instead of your hand. When you deliver a touch spell with your warhammer you can do so as part of melee attack made with the warhammer. If you drop the warhammer or the warhammer is disarmed while carrying a charge, the charge is lost.

So, given that certain domains grant divine spell-like abilities with a range of touch, would you be able to use this feat to deliver the SLA? And if so, would you still provoke an AoO?


Domain Strike seems very similar mechanically, without provoking:

Domain Strike wrote:
When you gain this feat, choose one domain-granted power that you can use to affect no more than one opponent. If you make a successful unarmed strike against an opponent, in addition to dealing your unarmed strike damage, you can use a swift action to deliver the effects of the chosen granted power to that opponent. Doing so provokes no attacks of opportunity.

Scarab Sages

Spell Like Abilities are not spells. Blessed Hammer specifies Divine Spells. SLAs cannot be delivered via Blessed Hammer.


While I do realise that a SLA is not a spell, per se, the Magic rules have got me slightly confused.

Quote:

Usually, a spell-like ability works just like the spell of that name. A spell-like ability has no verbal, somatic, or material component, nor does it require a focus. The user activates it mentally. Armor never affects a spell-like ability's use, even if the ability resembles an arcane spell with a somatic component.

A spell-like ability has a casting time of 1 standard action unless noted otherwise in the ability or spell description. In all other ways, a spell-like ability functions just like a spell.

Hence, in that light, is there a difference at all? Because it seems to me that the last sentence indicates that you can treat SLA's as spells for most purposes.


Imbicatus wrote:
Spell Like Abilities are not spells. Blessed Hammer specifies Divine Spells. SLAs cannot be delivered via Blessed Hammer.

I disagree.

Rules wrote:
A spell-like ability has a casting time of 1 standard action unless noted otherwise in the ability or spell description. In all other ways, a spell-like ability functions just like a spell.

If it functions in ALL ways like spell why doesn't it function here. Imho it does/

I believe you can use SLA if it is of divine nature. There is a FAQ that addresses how to determine if it's divine or arcane

EDIT: Ninjad by 52 seconds

Scarab Sages

Spell-Like Abilities, Casting, and Prerequisites: Does a creature with a spell-like ability count as being able to cast that spell for the purpose of prerequisites or requirements?

Only if the pre-requisite calls out the name of a spell explicitly. For instance, the Dimensional Agility feat (Ultimate Combat) has "ability to use the abundant step class feature or cast dimension door" as a prerequisite; a barghest has dimension door as a spell-like ability, so the barghest meets the "able to cast dimension door prerequisite for that feat. However, the barghest's dimension door would not meet requirements such as "Ability to cast 4th level spells" or "Ability to cast arcane spells".

Based on the SLA FAQ reversal, It doesn't work. If Blessed Hammer allowed you to use Inflict Light Wounds with your hammer instead of "divine touch spell" and you had a SLA for Inflict Light Wounds, you could use it.

However, as it specified "divine touch spell" it no longer works.


Mmkay. Would the fact that I wasn't planning on using a spell-like ability to qualify for the feat change anything? Like, a level 5 cleric of Torag would be able to get the feat regardless of any SLA's he might possess. To me, at least, it seems rather silly that he would not be able to use his class-given abilities together with a feat that he explicitly qualifies for.

Especially considering how the feat, as you said, says "divine touch spell". For instance, just the very beginning of the ability granted from the Good Domain:

Quote:
Touch of Good (Sp):* You can touch* a creature as a standard action..

It functions like a spell*, it has a range of touch*, and it most certainly is divine, so how does it not work? I might be ridiculously obtuse, so I'm sorry if I'm coming across as cross and difficult, but ruling that it does not function seems even more ridiculous, to me.


A SLA is not a divine touch Spell. And that is what Blessed Hammer Care about. So no.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Cap. Darling wrote:
A SLA is not a divine touch Spell. And that is what Blessed Hammer Care about. So no.

+1

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Blessed Hammer + Spell-like abilities All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions