Magus are awesome in the new actions system from unchanged


Rules Questions


Spell Combat (Attack, Complex): You make an attack roll
with a light or one-handed melee weapon, then cast a spell
on the magusUM spell list with a casting time of 1 standard
action. You take a –2 penalty on the melee attack, but the
spell is cast regardless of whether the attack hits. If you
cast the spell defensively, you can subtract your Intelligence
bonus from the result of the attack roll to add the same
value as a circumstance bonus on the concentration check.
You must have the spell combatUM class feature to take this
action, and can take this action only once per turn. To take
this action, you must have one hand free. You can’t also
take the following actions this turn: cast a standard-action
spell or cast a 1-round-action spell.

and

Spellstrike (Complex; 2 Acts): You cast a spell from the
magusUM spell list with a range of touch, but instead of
making a touch attack, you make a melee attack with a
weapon you are wielding. If the attack hits, the attack deals
its normal damage as well as any effects of the spell. You
must have the spellstrikeUM class feature to take this action.

Stacks XD or am I wrong. Cast 2 spells in a turn and get 2 attacks XD


What's "unchanged"?


Your quote specifically disallows any other spells with a standard or a 1-round action to be cast.

Spell Combat wrote:

You can’t also

take the following actions this turn: cast a standard-action
spell or cast a 1-round-action spell.


Cast a Standard-Action Spell (Complex; 2 Acts): You
cast a spell with a casting time of 1 standard action. This
isn’t an attack action, even if the spell requires a ranged
attack roll. If you provoke attacks of opportunity when
casting the spell, you don’t provoke attacks a second time
when making the ranged attack roll

Cast a 1-Round-Action Spell (Complex; 3 Acts): You cast
a spell with a casting time of 1 round. You can split the
acts over 2 rounds, but those rounds must be consecutive.
If you cast the entire spell in 1 turn, you can choose to
have the spell’s effects manifest at the end of that turn or
at the start of your next turn. This isn’t an attack action,
even if the spell requires a ranged attack roll. If you
provoke attacks of opportunity when casting the spell,
you don’t provoke attacks a second time when making
the ranged attack roll.

There are specific actions i think

Grand Lodge

bigrig107 wrote:

Your quote specifically disallows any other spells with a standard or a 1-round action to be cast.

Spell Combat wrote:

You can’t also

take the following actions this turn: cast a standard-action
spell or cast a 1-round-action spell.

Read it again, it says "you can't take these actions" and then names the specific two actions that can't be taken. It looks to me like the rules he quoted specifically says Spellstrike is its own action.


I would assume the normal limit of 1 spell per round would still prevent this?

The only way to cast a second spell in one round is for that spell to have a swift action casting time.

Or is there something in the new rules which overrides the CRB in this?


There's a 1 swift action spell limit, no 1 spell/round limit.


So it works like I think it dose. So you can make 2 attacks one that's on full BAB and another one with BAB -5 then you can cast 2 spells one must be channeled through your weapon and the other one can be channeled or normal. Is this correct?


You're still restricted to the maximum number of attacks you can make by BAB


LoneKnave wrote:
There's a 1 swift action spell limit, no 1 spell/round limit.

Wrong. There's a 1 spell/round limit AND a 1 swift/round limit.

"A spell with a casting time of 1 swift action doesn't count against your normal limit of one spell per round. However, you may cast such a spell only once per round. Casting a spell with a casting time of 1 swift action doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity."


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The whole problem is fixed if you put the word "When" in front of the explanation of Spellstrike.


RAW it seems that you can do both.
However, that won't be the case in my games.
Indeed, I'll delete the spellstrike action as a separate action, and let the magus use that class feature when he casts a spell or makes an attack while holding the charge. I don't think spellstrike deserves an action by itself, it just augments other actions.


Agreed, spellstrike really should not have been listed as an action. The normal class ability handles the situation fine when using the attack or spell combat actions.


Still can't cast two spells in a turn without quicken, so it remains a non-issue.

*edit*

except you now can't use spellcombat for a touch spell and spellstrike it in the same round. Lame.


Zautos' wrote:
So it works like I think it dose. So you can make 2 attacks one that's on full BAB and another one with BAB -5 then you can cast 2 spells one must be channeled through your weapon and the other one can be channeled or normal. Is this correct?

Nope.

Spellstrike is an action here, so it's one that must be channeled through the weapon, one that cannot be.


Spell strike never was an action before, it was a modification to the spellcasting/magic rules. Making it an action essentially breaks it, and I can honestly see a valid reason for errating that action out of existence.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
DM_Blake wrote:
What's "unchanged"?

Pathfinder Unchanged - a new rulebook that tells you to run everything strictly by Core RAW. It includes the Unchanged Rogue - which is exactly the same as the original Rogue - and the Unchanged Action Economy system, in which you get one move, one standard and one swift action per round.

It's quite fun, aside from a few game balance issues.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magus are awesome in the new actions system from unchanged All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions