
TranslucentDuck |
3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |
Hi, first time posting.
Proxy Summoning
Creatures you summon can act as proxies to deliver your spells to foes.
Prerequisite(s): Ability to cast conjuration (summoning) spells or a conjuration (summoning) spell-like ability, caster level 5th.
Benefit(s): Whenever you cast a touch spell while adjacent to a creature you summoned (including an eidolon), you can have the summoned creature carry the spell's charge. Once the spell is cast, you and any creature you summon gain the share spells ability. This feat doesn't qualify you for feats or other rules options that require you to have an animal companion, familiar, or similar allied creature with the share spells ability.
Does this mean I can cast personal range spells on summoned creatures?
Do I have to cast a touch range spell before my summoned creatures get share spells? (“once the spell is cast”... Once what spell? The summon spell?)
If I get the shared spells ability, does this mean the summoned creature can cast personal ranged spells on me?

dragonhunterq |

When you summon a creature and if it is adjacent to you any touch spell you cast activates this feat.
Once you've cast that touch spell both you and the creature summoned gain the share spells ability.
Once you've done that, then as long as it has a target: You, yes you can cast personal spells on the summoned creature.
You have to cast a touch spell to gain share spells. The spell it refers to is the touch spell, not the summon spell
Yes, I believe that as you gain the share spells ability as well the summoned creature can cast personal spells on you (as long as they are target:you of course)

prismaticsoul |
Hi, first time posting.
Proxy Summoning
Creatures you summon can act as proxies to deliver your spells to foes.
Prerequisite(s): Ability to cast conjuration (summoning) spells or a conjuration (summoning) spell-like ability, caster level 5th.
Benefit(s): Whenever you cast a touch spell while adjacent to a creature you summoned (including an eidolon), you can have the summoned creature carry the spell's charge. Once the spell is cast, you and any creature you summon gain the share spells ability. This feat doesn't qualify you for feats or other rules options that require you to have an animal companion, familiar, or similar allied creature with the share spells ability.Does this mean I can cast personal range spells on summoned creatures?
Do I have to cast a touch range spell before my summoned creatures get share spells? (“once the spell is cast”... Once what spell? The summon spell?)
If I get the shared spells ability, does this mean the summoned creature can cast personal ranged spells on me?
Where is this feat from? Regardless of how it triggers, the ability to gain share spells with summons is amazing...probably summoner is the only class I can think of that it would be so so for among those that like to sling "summon x" spells.

Rajnish Umbra, Shadow Caller |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Raise Dead Thread?
Proxy Summoning is... confusing, at least to me, but I haven't seen it addressed anywhere.
The flavor text speaks about how "you can have the summoned creature carry the spell’s charge" when you cast a touch spell with an adjacent summon.
So, it gives your summons Deliver Touch Spells?
No.
"Once the spell is cast, you and any creature you summon gain the share spells ability."
So, share spells? You can't actually cast spells with the Target: You on this, because it specifies touch spells.
Sooo... The benefit is the second part of the Share Spells? "A wizard may cast spells on his familiar even if the spells do not normally affect creatures of the familiar’s type (magical beast)." So you can cast buffs on your summons even if their type wouldn't usually allow it?
But again, the feat specifies touch spells. How many touch spell buffs with type restriction are there?
And for the icing on the cake, only after a touch spell has been cast do the creatures you summon gain Share Spells. Notice the lack of past tense - the already summoned creatures don't get it - you cast any touch spell, and then future summons get Share Spells... Until when? Forever?
Also, you get it too, so can you deliver your spellcasting summon's touch spells?
So, given the flavor text, and considering that the RAW really doesn't seem to make much sense (at least to me), how are the chances that RAI is just "When you cast a touch spell while adjacent to one of your summoned creatures, the summon can deliver the spell for you. This works as Deliver Touch Spells, but can not serve as prerequisite for other feats or abilities"?

Aetheldrake |

I and quite a few GMs in my local area would also like to know, as this would mean I have to change this feat taken at level 7, if it doesn't mean we get "summon or eidolon can deliver touch spells" then it's just another mostly useless feat
Also like, nowhere in Google can I find an answer and almost nobody anywhere talks about this feat.