Klar Question


Rules Questions


Ok so I was over at my friends house last night and they where gaming (I do not have a character in their campaign) and I was just Bsing with them. One of them asked a question and I honestly was not sure what the answer would be.

If his character has a Klar in each hand and is using TWF, as well as shield focus feat, would he gain the Shield Bonus from both weapons and would Shield Focus add an additional +2 to that number.

I think the way he imagines it is using it like a basket katar were the skull is basically like a armored gauntlet that lets him deflect an attack off the skull before striking with the spike like blade.


No. You only add shield bonus once. You can dual wield two shields, but you only apply the shield bonus from either one time.


Nein. Shield bonuses don't stack, you take the highest.


Pity I will let them know.


It's because it's a Shield type bonus to AC and same type doesn't stack. Now, hypothetically, if you had a way to turn a shield bonus into some other type (ie. Deflection), then that'd be fine; you could leave one shield as a Shield bonus and the other one giving a Deflection bonus, for instance. But I'm not familiar with any such ability that does such a thing.

Grand Lodge

Are you guys running it as a Light, or One-handed weapon?

The Klar is listed as either, depending on source.


I believe his was bone which is the light version, Metal one is One-Handed.

Grand Lodge

Wait... what?


The Klar is a skull with a blade coming out of it. The bone version of the skull apparently is the light weapon type. If the skull is metal its a one handed weapon.

Grand Lodge

I have seen no evidence, that the material has an effect on handedness.

Is that your houserule?


It is just what I was always told seemed to make sense, never really bothered to look through it so its possibly a house rule. I only ever see Klar as a one handed weapon to be honest.

Grand Lodge

It has been listed as a Light Weapon, and an One-handed Weapon, in different sources.

Each source, notes there a Bone and Steel versions, but never notes how that changes handedness.

Sounds like a houserule, that you didn't even know was a houserule.

I have been there, like with Readied Actions.


I guess it is, thought like I said it makes sense. Bone is lighter then steel, so it would be a Light Weapon in comparison.


material has nothing at all to do with whether a weapon is Light, One-Handed or Two-Handed.

Light means it's a balanced, probably physically small weapon like a dagger, which is easily held and manipulated with one hand or a few fingers.

One-Handed means that your entire hand must be used to hold and it wield it properly. Longswords, for instance, are One-Handed, and while they are light enough to be wielded as such, they are too imbalanced or large to be wielded with the dexterity of Light weapons.

Two-Handed means you must use two hands to properly wield the weapon. Greatswords are Two-Handed because it's extremely hard, or even requires atypical training (such as from a Class), to wield with just one hand - they're far too imbalanced, large, and clumsy to be wielded with just one hand without some extremely rare circumstances (going even beyond Feats).

---

A greatsword can weigh 1 pound if it's made out of a light enough material, but it's still a Two-Handed Weapon because of it's shape and dimensions.

Shields are Light or One-Handed weapons based solely on their size and shape - material has absolutely nothing to do with it.

Bucklers can't be used as weapons because they're much too small physically, and barely cover your forearm. You can't naturally use them as weapons because there's nothing there, and a punch is both more effective and less difficult.

"Light" shields are Light weapons because they are relatively small. They're only a foot and a half or so across, so they're agile and aren't cumbersome.

"Heavy" Shields are One-Handed weapons because they're fairly large, and require your entire forearm and then some to maneuver, regardless of weight. Captain America's shield is a "Heavy" shield, despite weighing next to nothing.

"Tower" Shields are so massive that the cannot be used as weapons, simply because BY DESIGN they are supposed to be about the same size as their user - either just shorter or even larger than their wielder are possible. The RX-78GP02A Gundam Physalis has a Tower Shield that's appropriately sized for it; the Gundam cannot make a Shield Bash with it because the shield is literally taller than it - it's shield is specifically meant to be nothing more than a massive shield.

---

A Klar has 2 parts - a blade and a shield. The Shield is as a normal shield, and is a Light weapon regardless of whether it's bone or steel. The blade is too large and unwieldy to be used as a Light weapon, and is thus a One-Handed weapon.

When using a Klar, you decide whether you are going to use it as a Shield to attack (in which case it's a Light weapon and a Shield Bash for purposes of TWF), or you're going to use it as a blade (in which case it's treated as a One-Handed weapon for the purposes of TWF).

Grand Lodge

Checking all weapons tables, that list the Klar, you have this:

Varisia, Birthplace of Legends pg. 14 (One-handed),
Rise of the Runelords Player's Guide pg. 11 (One-handed),
Pathfinder Campaign Setting pg. 209 (One-Handed),
Curse of the Crimson Throne Player's Guide pg. 13 (One-handed), Adventurer's Armory pg. 18 (One-handed),
Inner Sea World Guide pg. 290 (One-handed),
Ultimate Equipment pg. 18 (One-handed).

Now, it also notes, in many descriptions, it is considered an attack with a Spiked Light Shield, which is a Light weapon.

This is where the confusion lies.


blackbloodtroll wrote:

Checking all weapons tables, that list the Klar, you have this:

Varisia, Birthplace of Legends pg. 14 (One-handed),
Rise of the Runelords Player's Guide pg. 11 (One-handed),
Pathfinder Campaign Setting pg. 209 (One-Handed),
Curse of the Crimson Throne Player's Guide pg. 13 (One-handed), Adventurer's Armory pg. 18 (One-handed),
Inner Sea World Guide pg. 290 (One-handed),
Ultimate Equipment pg. 18 (One-handed).

Now, it also notes, in many descriptions, it is considered an attack with a Spiked Light Shield, which is a Light weapon.

This is where the confusion lies.

Right; it matters how you use it -

Do you perform a Shield Bash with it and inflict Bludgeoning and Piercing Damage?

If yes, then you are using its Shield part, which is a Light weapon.

Do you Slash with it, in order to use it's blade like a sword?

If yes, then you are using it's blade, which is fused to the Shield and thus cannot be manipulated like a Light Weapon, so it is treated as a One-Handed weapon.

It's really not difficult to comprehend how a Klar works, and I've never understood why people have such a problem getting that. It takes a read-through, sure, but just reading it and looking at the image of it is enough to figure out how it works.


Well I don't think figuring out if it was light or not was the issue here. Just if it was possible to use two and get stacking effects, but as its not possible it shouldnt be an issue.

Grand Lodge

Well, how does a Klar interact with the Bashing property?

Can you enchant the "spiked shield" portion with weapon properties, along with the Blade portion?

These, and others, are the type of questions that come up.

Sczarni

I don't think it's ever treated as a shield with shield spikes... If I recall, it's treated as a shield with "armor spikes".

And all that stuff about bashing or slashing is not found anywhere in the description of the klar.

Grand Lodge

I never quite got how that "bashing but not slashing" thing came about either.

I did, however, wonder how things would work, under that assumption.


As far as I understood it the klar is only light if you have thunder and fang.

Sczarni

Just a Guess wrote:
As far as I understood it the klar is only light if you have thunder and fang.

I think that's the idea, at least when reading the Thunder & Fang feat. But - in description of a klar it specifically references a klar being treated as a "light wooden shield with armor spikes" or a "light steel shield with armor spikes".

Then, when you read about "light" steel or wooden shields you find that they are considered "light weapons" and heavy wooden/steel shields are considered "one-handed" weapons.

It all makes for a very confusing weapon.

If it's truly treated as a "one-handed" weapon it has the advantage of being able to be used two handed - providing 1.5x STR bonus and 3:1 power attack bonus. But, if you want to TWF with double klars are you taking a -4/-4 penalty (with TWF feat)?

If it's able to be treated as a "light weapon" the TWF penalties are better at just -2/-2, but you gain no extra STR or Power Attack damage.


You've got to consider base and virtual classifications. For instance, the Bastard Sword is a 1-h weapon, but can also count as a virtual 2-h weapon in certain circumstances. An Earthbreaker is a 2-h weapon, but if you have T&F, it counts as a virtual 1-h weapon. The Klar is a 1-h weapon and can also count as a virtual light weapon. What it counts as for TWF depends on how you decide to use it. If you use it to attack with the blade part, it deals 1d6 slashing damage and, as a 1-h weapon, you'd get -4/-4 TWF penalty. However, you may use it as if it were a light spiked shield and, as such, it would deal 1d4 piercing damage and count as a light weapon for TWF penalties. T&F makes the use of a Klar for the slashing blade a virtual light weapon. Additionally, since Improved Shield Bash only applies to making a shield bash attack, it would not allow you to keep your shield bonus to AC if you attack with the blade part. In short, it isn't an "either or" kind of situation; it's both.

Sczarni

That sounds all well and good. But I have yet to see any official text describing this whole "slashing or bashing" thing...

I know the Klar appears in various publications, with various differences in the description.

None of the sources I have differentiate between bashing or slashing.


I believe the klar can be wielded as a one-handed slashing weapon or a light shield weapon.

What I'm not sure of is, "Do feats that apply to the klar, still apply to the klar when used to shield bash?"


Krodjin wrote:

That sounds all well and good. But I have yet to see any official text describing this whole "slashing or bashing" thing...

I know the Klar appears in various publications, with various differences in the description.

None of the sources I have differentiate between bashing or slashing.

So none of your sources say that it can be used as a light spiked shield? Maybe you have older editions? Try looking online; those should be the most up-to-date versions. Ultimate Equipment would probably be most reliable:

PRD wrote:

Table entry for Klar:

Klar 12 gp 1d4 1d6 ×2 — 6 lbs. S See text
...
Description for Klar:
The traditional form of this tribal weapon is a short metal blade bound to the skull of a large horned lizard, but a skilled smith can craft one entirely out of metal. A traditional klar counts as a light wooden shield with armor spikes; a metal klar counts as a light steel shield with armor spikes.
...
Table entry for light spiked shield:
Spiked light shield +50 gp 1d3 1d4 ×2 — Special P —
...
Description for light spiked shield:
You can bash with a spiked light shield instead of using it for defense. A spiked light shield can't be disarmed. See the armor spikes entry on page 10 for details.

The bold portions state that a klar counts as a light spiked shield (wood or metal based on the klar's material). So, in addition to being the Klar weapon, it can also be used as a virtual light spiked shield weapon (I provided the table entry and description of the light spiked shield for reference).

Grand Lodge

All of this debate is totally irrelevant to the OP's original quesiton, which was could he get stacking shield bonuses from two klars, the answer to which is no, since shield bonuses do not stack.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Klar Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.