| The Holy Moo |
cept the pull manuever requires a listed pull amount
excerpt from universal monster rules "pull"
"The distance pulled is set by this ability. The type of attack that causes the pull and the distance pulled are included in the creature’s description. This ability only works on creatures of a size equal to or smaller than the pulling creature. "
But it isn't listed under the weapon.
Jeff Merola
|
Against creatures, "...the autograpnel attempts a pull combat maneuver check with a CMB of +16." The size of the creature is irrelevant.
The problem is that it doesn't list a pull distance, which means it's missing a vital piece of information.
To answer the OP's question, the weapon is badly written. It can support 500 pounds, but can't pull an object more than 100 pounds. It can pull any creature your size or smaller (since pull only works on creatures your size or smaller, and the autograpnel doesn't say otherwise) but it doesn't say how far it pulls them.
| Joe Homes Editor |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
This caused a lot of grief and snap judgments as I was trying to fumble through this at my table, but ultimately I came up with the following.
I ran this gun's pull as a drag combat maneuver, allowing 5 feet on a successful check plus another 5 feet for each 5 by which the +16 CMB check exceeded the target's CMD. If the CMB check failed, the wielder had to succeed at a Reflex save to hang onto the gun (and be dragged along himself) or drop the gun, which then retracted itself back to its harpoon in the enemy. If he failed the CMB check or Reflex save by 5 or more, he was also knocked prone, regardless of whether he maintained his grip on the gun.
The size of the creature that could be affected depended on the gun's size (M), not the size of the wielder. A Small creature can't use the Medium two-handed gun anyway.
There's another question, which is "what happens after the enemy is dragged toward you?" Presumably, it's still got this harpoon stuck in it. I let the enemy take a move action (that didn't provoke) to remove the harpoon. If it chose not to, and tried to move farther away from the gun's wielder, the wielder had a choice to either let the reel out or lock the reel in place and attempt an opposed Strength check to keep the enemy from moving farther away. If the wielder failed this Strength check, I treated it as if he had failed the CMB check to pull.
Imbicatus
|
There is no pull combat maneuver. There is the pull universal monster ability, and there is the drag and reposition combat maneuvers.
Because the drag maneuver requires you to move, I think the best way to run this is as a reposition maneuver, but you can only move the target in a straight line towards you. They move 5', plus an additional 5' for every 5 points by which the cmd was beaten.
There is no official ruling on this, but that's how I would run it.