Spiked Shields and flanking


Rules Questions


So I've considered using a spiked shield to provide flanking with the rogue,leaving my other hand free to cast. Question is, do spiked shields allow me to count as wielding a weapon?


Yes.

Sczarni

You actually threaten just by wearing a light or heavy shield.

Spikes are not necessary.


Cool! But a buckler didn't cut it, right?

Liberty's Edge

A buckler cannot be used to shield bash unless you are a Thunderstriker (fighter). You would need to have a light shield to threaten.


You could just have a gauntlet and a buckler, if you were attached to bucklers.


possibly armour spikes as well? Though I remember that whole situations blowing up at one point... but that was a reach and spiked thing. Not a "threaten with them" in general thing.

That would be easier for you. If you can cast in armour anyway


Cleric. I should be fine for casting. It was just something I'm toying with for a holy vindicator.


Yeah Armour spikes would be applicable totally. shield spikes on a non buckler as well.

Grand Lodge

Shields are weapons.

They threaten, just like any other weapon.

They don't need to be spiked.


can i just point out that Blackbloodtroll appears any time someone makes a threat about shields and if the fact that shields are weapons is questioned even a little he defends it to the last, i agree with him but its kinda funny how he does it all over

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Captain America fan.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I recommend a quickdraw shield. With the Quick Draw feat, you can whip it out as a free action (since it is a weapon) AND don it as a free action (since it is a quickdraw shield) allowing you to be ready to go in almost any situation. I often pair it up with an armored coat (even if only used as backup armor), which can be donned as a move action.

I've had magus characters (who already have great action economy abilities) go from totally ambushed and unprepared to totally equipped and in the enemy's face in 1 round.

Grand Lodge

You can also put away a Quickdraw shield as a free action.

So, you want to cast a spell, or attack with a two-handed weapon?

Go ahead, then pull out the shield for AC.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spiked Shields and flanking All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions