Breath of Life Twice


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

If a character took a large amount of damage, greater than one casting of Breath of Life can recover from, can a second casting in the same round bring the character back?

Grand Lodge

Yes.


I wonder, can any other kind of healing be applied once breath of life has been cast, or do the others still run into the "can't be dead" limit even once you've cast breath of life?


You'd be able to cast other healing spells after Breath of Life if it brings them back to life. If they're still dead you'd only be able to Breath of Life again


Yeah, I think you have to use breath of life to get them above hp = -con in order to use other healing magic. Otherwise the remain dead.

And honestly, getting more than one casting of breath of life would be difficult anyways...so it's unlikely to come up I think.

RPG Superstar 2012 Top 16

A moderate Quicken Rod would do it.

The Answer is Yes. Each spell checks independently of whether or not the person qualifies. If Breath of Life fails to revivify the person due to HP damage, it still applies the healing effect to the damage he suffered, per the spell. even if he remains dead. The next spell would apply against the new total, and potentially get him back up and running.

==Aelryinth

Sczarni

If you are a cleric and have the feat (don't remember it's name) that lets you expend 3 channels for 1 breath of life casting then you can have an extra cast per 3 channels you have left each day.

Silver Crusade

It's difficult, but I've seen it happen. I was running a higher level adventure, one of the PC's got dropped by a Cannon Golem crit. The party's oracle BoL'd the PC, failed to bring them up and the NPC Oracle travelling with the party jumped in and got the PC up with the BoL double-tap.


Aelryinth wrote:

A moderate Quicken Rod would do it.

==Aelryinth

Yeah, but you would need to have it in hand when the character went down. Or at least very easy access.

Assuming you are not adjacent to the character when they drop, you would need to move, retrieve the rod of quicken (move aciton), cast quickened BoL (swift action), and a normal BOL (standard action).

And that's too many acitons for one person to accomplish it in one round. Which is the limit on BoL.

RPG Superstar 2012 Top 16

retrieving the rod is the equivalent of drawing a weapon, which you can do as part of another move action if you have at least +1 BAB.

So, yeah, not that hard to do.

==Aelryinth

Sovereign Court

UndeadMitch wrote:
It's difficult, but I've seen it happen. I was running a higher level adventure, one of the PC's got dropped by a Cannon Golem crit. The party's oracle BoL'd the PC, failed to bring them up and the NPC Oracle travelling with the party jumped in and got the PC up with the BoL double-tap.

I've seen it as well, but from Determination armor and the party's cleric after a fighter at 6 hit points got hit with a maximized cone of cold and failed the spell. The two BoL's served to get the fighter back to positive where he was dimension door'ed out of the room by the wizard.


Aelryinth wrote:

retrieving the rod is the equivalent of drawing a weapon, which you can do as part of another move action if you have at least +1 BAB.

So, yeah, not that hard to do.

==Aelryinth

Retrieving a wand is called out as being a weapon like object and could be drawn with a +1 BAB and part of a move. Rods, however, are not called out as such, so expect table variation...

RPG Superstar 2012 Top 16

Since a number of rods are actually weapons, I don't expect much of a problem. :)

==Aelryinth


Aelryinth wrote:

Since a number of rods are actually weapons, I don't expect much of a problem. :)

==Aelryinth

True...but the metamagic rods aren't...


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Sniggevert wrote:
Aelryinth wrote:

retrieving the rod is the equivalent of drawing a weapon, which you can do as part of another move action if you have at least +1 BAB.

So, yeah, not that hard to do.

==Aelryinth

Retrieving a wand is called out as being a weapon like object and could be drawn with a +1 BAB and part of a move. Rods, however, are not called out as such, so expect table variation...

Considering a lot of rods ARE weapons, and since a rod is very much like a wand in shape regardless, it'd have to be a kinda douchey DM to disallow it.

Sniggevert wrote:
Aelryinth wrote:

Since a number of rods are actually weapons, I don't expect much of a problem. :)

==Aelryinth

True...but the metamagic rods aren't...

They can be. IIRC it's like 35% of all rods, no matter the type. And if you're like me, you custom order one that acts as a light mace to begin with. Because why not?

Sovereign Court

Sniggevert wrote:
Aelryinth wrote:

Since a number of rods are actually weapons, I don't expect much of a problem. :)

==Aelryinth

True...but the metamagic rods aren't...

I could have sworn they were considered weapon-like items (which is why wands are allowed to be drawn with that as well) ...


Aelryinth wrote:

retrieving the rod is the equivalent of drawing a weapon, which you can do as part of another move action if you have at least +1 BAB.

So, yeah, not that hard to do.

==Aelryinth

Assuming you have it in an easily accessible spot. I'm not saying it's impossible. I'm just saying, if you're not prepared for it in advance you wont be able to do it.

I guess my ultimate point is that combat is dynamic, and having the correct set of conditions to allow you to pull this off isn't necessarily easy. Distance and difficult terrain could definitely cause problems. Not having two spells slot dedicated to Breath of Life. Enemies attack you and tripping you as you move toward your ally.

Liberty's Edge

You have less than 1 round to get the second casting off, how much less depends on initiative order. A second high level healer at the table is fairly rare, so the odds are low of the situation coming up. The recipient will have 2 temporary negative levels if it does happen.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Glue a blade onto the end of your rod?


Rynjin wrote:
Sniggevert wrote:
Aelryinth wrote:

retrieving the rod is the equivalent of drawing a weapon, which you can do as part of another move action if you have at least +1 BAB.

So, yeah, not that hard to do.

==Aelryinth

Retrieving a wand is called out as being a weapon like object and could be drawn with a +1 BAB and part of a move. Rods, however, are not called out as such, so expect table variation...

Considering a lot of rods ARE weapons, and since a rod is very much like a wand in shape regardless, it'd have to be a kinda douchey DM to disallow it.

Sniggevert wrote:
Aelryinth wrote:

Since a number of rods are actually weapons, I don't expect much of a problem. :)

==Aelryinth

True...but the metamagic rods aren't...
They can be. IIRC it's like 35% of all rods, no matter the type. And if you're like me, you custom order one that acts as a light mace to begin with. Because why not?
PRD on Rods wrote:
They range from 2 feet to 3 feet long and are usually made of iron or some other metal. (Many, as noted in their descriptions, can function as light maces or clubs due to their hardy construction.)

A 2 to 3 foot piece of metal is not really like a wand. They are also, as indicated, called out in their descriptions if they can function as light maces or clubs...none of the metamagic rods are called out as such, so they would not function as a light mace or club.

Wands can be drawn as a weapon like object, without equivocation, because they are called out as counting as such.

I can see allowing it, but it's also not 100% in the rules that they ARE weapons or weapon like objects.


Sniggevert wrote:
Rynjin wrote:
Sniggevert wrote:
Aelryinth wrote:

retrieving the rod is the equivalent of drawing a weapon, which you can do as part of another move action if you have at least +1 BAB.

So, yeah, not that hard to do.

==Aelryinth

Retrieving a wand is called out as being a weapon like object and could be drawn with a +1 BAB and part of a move. Rods, however, are not called out as such, so expect table variation...

Considering a lot of rods ARE weapons, and since a rod is very much like a wand in shape regardless, it'd have to be a kinda douchey DM to disallow it.

Sniggevert wrote:
Aelryinth wrote:

Since a number of rods are actually weapons, I don't expect much of a problem. :)

==Aelryinth

True...but the metamagic rods aren't...
They can be. IIRC it's like 35% of all rods, no matter the type. And if you're like me, you custom order one that acts as a light mace to begin with. Because why not?
PRD on Rods wrote:
They range from 2 feet to 3 feet long and are usually made of iron or some other metal. (Many, as noted in their descriptions, can function as light maces or clubs due to their hardy construction.)

A 2 to 3 foot piece of metal is not really like a wand. They are also, as indicated, called out in their descriptions if they can function as light maces or clubs...none of the metamagic rods are called out as such, so they would not function as a light mace or club.

Wands can be drawn as a weapon like object, without equivocation, because they are called out as counting as such.

I can see allowing it, but it's also not 100% in the rules that they ARE weapons or weapon like objects.

So what I'm hearing from you is that you think a "2 to 3 foot piece of metal, many of which can be used as weapons" is less weapon-like than a "thin baton that weighs less than an ounce" (and they really are very similar in shape, a rod and a baton. Size is the only difference here).

It takes some pretty skilled mental gymnastics for anyone to actually think such, hence why I said it would take a pretty douchey GM to disallow it.


Rynjin wrote:
Sniggevert wrote:
Rynjin wrote:
Sniggevert wrote:
Aelryinth wrote:

retrieving the rod is the equivalent of drawing a weapon, which you can do as part of another move action if you have at least +1 BAB.

So, yeah, not that hard to do.

==Aelryinth

Retrieving a wand is called out as being a weapon like object and could be drawn with a +1 BAB and part of a move. Rods, however, are not called out as such, so expect table variation...

Considering a lot of rods ARE weapons, and since a rod is very much like a wand in shape regardless, it'd have to be a kinda douchey DM to disallow it.

Sniggevert wrote:
Aelryinth wrote:

Since a number of rods are actually weapons, I don't expect much of a problem. :)

==Aelryinth

True...but the metamagic rods aren't...
They can be. IIRC it's like 35% of all rods, no matter the type. And if you're like me, you custom order one that acts as a light mace to begin with. Because why not?
PRD on Rods wrote:
They range from 2 feet to 3 feet long and are usually made of iron or some other metal. (Many, as noted in their descriptions, can function as light maces or clubs due to their hardy construction.)

A 2 to 3 foot piece of metal is not really like a wand. They are also, as indicated, called out in their descriptions if they can function as light maces or clubs...none of the metamagic rods are called out as such, so they would not function as a light mace or club.

Wands can be drawn as a weapon like object, without equivocation, because they are called out as counting as such.

I can see allowing it, but it's also not 100% in the rules that they ARE weapons or weapon like objects.

So what I'm hearing from you is that you think a "2 to 3 foot piece of metal, many of which can be used as weapons" is less weapon-like than a "thin baton that weighs less than an ounce" (and they really are very similar in shape, a rod and a baton. Size is the only difference here).

It takes...

What you're hearing is a pedantic reading of the rules, caused by time after time after time of being in a discussion where RAW is all, RAW is it, RAW is unassailable. Not saying I like it, but it's what's they've wrote.

And I've been talking specifically about the metamagic rod, which is what this discussion turned to about using one to quicken a BoL if you'll remember. Those rods are specifically not usable as weapons, since it has stated that only those described as being suitable as a light mace or club can be considered as such.

Also, the insulting tenor is really not needed. I'm trying to point to the 2 specific rules that back up why I feel it's not as clear as you're assuming. The notion of feminine hygiene has anything to do with a GM making a call is really not needed.


I was in an Eyes of the Ten group that had two clerics, There were a couple of occasions we had two breaths of life to bring PCs back. The bad guys were playing whack a mole.

Silver Crusade

Sniggevert wrote:
Rynjin wrote:
Sniggevert wrote:
Rynjin wrote:
Sniggevert wrote:
Aelryinth wrote:

retrieving the rod is the equivalent of drawing a weapon, which you can do as part of another move action if you have at least +1 BAB.

So, yeah, not that hard to do.

==Aelryinth

Retrieving a wand is called out as being a weapon like object and could be drawn with a +1 BAB and part of a move. Rods, however, are not called out as such, so expect table variation...

Considering a lot of rods ARE weapons, and since a rod is very much like a wand in shape regardless, it'd have to be a kinda douchey DM to disallow it.

Sniggevert wrote:
Aelryinth wrote:

Since a number of rods are actually weapons, I don't expect much of a problem. :)

==Aelryinth

True...but the metamagic rods aren't...
They can be. IIRC it's like 35% of all rods, no matter the type. And if you're like me, you custom order one that acts as a light mace to begin with. Because why not?
PRD on Rods wrote:
They range from 2 feet to 3 feet long and are usually made of iron or some other metal. (Many, as noted in their descriptions, can function as light maces or clubs due to their hardy construction.)

A 2 to 3 foot piece of metal is not really like a wand. They are also, as indicated, called out in their descriptions if they can function as light maces or clubs...none of the metamagic rods are called out as such, so they would not function as a light mace or club.

Wands can be drawn as a weapon like object, without equivocation, because they are called out as counting as such.

I can see allowing it, but it's also not 100% in the rules that they ARE weapons or weapon like objects.

So what I'm hearing from you is that you think a "2 to 3 foot piece of metal, many of which can be used as weapons" is less weapon-like than a "thin baton that weighs less than an ounce" (and they really are very similar in shape, a rod and a baton. Size is the only

...

My read on metamagic rods is they weigh 5 pounds. Seems to be they can be used as improvised weapons, does that count?


MichaelCullen wrote:
I was in an Eyes of the Ten group that had two clerics, There were a couple of occasions we had two breaths of life to bring PCs back. The bad guys were playing whack a mole.

That Reach Breath of Life really came in handy! Thanks Yuki.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Breath of Life Twice All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions