Oracles: Dual-Cursed Seeker possible? (and other questions)


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

I was reading the rules on archetypes and it is very clear that if two different archetypes modify or replace the same class feature, then you cannot take them.

1.) The Oracle Archetype, Seeker, clearly states that it replaces the bonus class skills gained via the mystery. The Dual-Cursed Archetype merely states that the oracle gains no additional class skills from her mystery. How do these interact since I am not sure if Dual-Cursed Oracle is modifying or not. Of course, other modification abilities clearly state that that is the case so..maybe I am just answering my own questions.

While I am at it:

2.) Crossblooded Sorceror must choose only one bloodline power when they qualify for one but you have two bloodlines.

Tattooed Sorcerors must replace their first level bloodline power.

How do the rules look at this? Some digging on the forums got me strange results (such as this very question being asked but another question being answered instead).

So, you can apparently be crossblooded and tattooed. Right? Or did I miss something?

3.) The Tattooed Sorcerors tattoo familiar states that it does not allow you to have both a familiar and bonded item. Does this mean that if later, you become a wizard, that you gain no benefit from arcane bond?

Sorry for the rehashing.


1for the oracle I think they are both modifying the bonus skill.

Tatooed sorcerer and crossblooded both modify the bloodline. So don't work.

If yiur tatooed sorcerer became a wizard he'd get no use out of annarcane bondes item.

Grand Lodge

I realize this thread is some years old but I didn't want to start a new thread!

While I understand that allowing Seeker and Dual-Cursed would be a reasonable house rule in the least, is it really true that the two do not stack? The text for the skills of the Dual-Cursed oracle lack the "This alters"/"This replaces" line that is generally seen in archetypes that forbid stacking.

Is there some piece of information that I am missing? It would appear that this is a legal combination.

Am I misunderstanding?


They didn't start making sure to have that line until later archetypes. It's supposed to be implied, but because of questions like this, they started ensuring the line was present. It's still not legal, unfortunately.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Dual Cursed modifies: Curse, class skills, bonus spells, and Revelations.

Seeker modifies: class skills, 3rd and 15th revelations.

So they don't stack.

Thewms wrote:

"This alters"/"This replaces" line

Am I misunderstanding?

Yes, you are missing that those lines are not required to be there. The rules state if something is modified, it doesn't stack.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Oracles: Dual-Cursed Seeker possible? (and other questions) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions