Moving after a 5' step.


Rules Questions


If you take a 5' step, can you then use your standard action to do a movement?

Thx,
Darthslash


No. The 5 foot step is a special action that can only be used when no other movement is taken.


Seconded


Wouldn't doing that be basically the same as doing a full round withdrawal action?

Liberty's Edge

Darthslash wrote:

Wouldn't doing that be basically the same as doing a full round withdrawal action?

No. In what possible way?


Or I guess it's more like a restricted Withdraw.

@Howie23: Because it lets you move out of the first square without taking AOO's, but still move up to your speed.


Darthslash wrote:

If you take a 5' step, can you then use your standard action to do a movement?

Thx,
Darthslash

Nope. Nor can you use your move action to move, though you can use it for other things, like drawing a weapon, or drinking a potion.

Grand Lodge

Darthslash wrote:

Or I guess it's more like a restricted Withdraw.

@Howie23: Because it lets you move out of the first square without taking AOO's, but still move up to your speed.

Is there a reason you don't want to/can't use Withdraw? edit: You can also withdraw at your speed if you're restricted to a standard action, so that's not a limitation.


No. A friend of mine wanted to take a 5' steep and then use his standard action to move. So I just wanted to know if he could. Then it struck me that its sort of the same as just doing a withdraw anyway.


Darthslash wrote:
No. A friend of mine wanted to take a 5' steep and then use his standard action to move. So I just wanted to know if he could. Then it struck me that its sort of the same as just doing a withdraw anyway.

Taking a 5' step is not a move action, it is a separate free action that can be taken if you make no other movement during the round. If you 5' step you still have your move action and your standard action, you just can't use either of them for movement. Note that a move action is not necessarily movement, there are many actions that require a move action that are not movement.


Here is the official ruling from the Core Rule Book regarding the 5' step:

Core Rule Book wrote:

Take 5-Foot Step

You can move 5 feet in any round when you don't perform any other kind of movement. Taking this 5-foot step never provokes an attack of opportunity. You can't take more than one 5-foot step in a round, and you can't take a 5-foot step in the same round that you move any distance.

You can take a 5-foot step before, during, or after your other actions in the round.

You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn't hampered by difficult terrain or darkness. Any creature with a speed of 5 feet or less can't take a 5-foot step, since moving even 5 feet requires a move action for such a slow creature.

You may not take a 5-foot step using a form of movement for which you do not have a listed speed.

You can find it at this link.


BiggDawg wrote:
If you 5' step you still have your move action and your standard action, you just can't use either of them for movement.

Not strictly true. You can still move, it simply cannot be of the walking sort. You could use that cleric Travel domain ability (or a similar one) to teleport as a move action. You could use your move action to teleport. Or you could take an immediate action, procced by an ally, to move, though that would burn your swift action (unless it was an immediate, free action? Not sure if there are any of those.)

You simply can't move in a manner that uses a listed speed, or by swimming, or by climbing.

Dark Archive

Similar vain to this. Can you take a 5' step and then use a spell or ability to allows you to move?
In particular the Magus spell Bladed Dash (ISM pg 54) after performing a 5' step.

Liberty's Edge

Bronnwynn wrote:
BiggDawg wrote:
If you 5' step you still have your move action and your standard action, you just can't use either of them for movement.

Not strictly true. You can still move, it simply cannot be of the walking sort. You could use that cleric Travel domain ability (or a similar one) to teleport as a move action. You could use your move action to teleport. Or you could take an immediate action, procced by an ally, to move, though that would burn your swift action (unless it was an immediate, free action? Not sure if there are any of those.)

You simply can't move in a manner that uses a listed speed, or by swimming, or by climbing.

Teleporting is not considered 'moving' as far as game terms are defined.

Lazoth wrote:

Similar vain to this. Can you take a 5' step and then use a spell or ability to allows you to move?

In particular the Magus spell Bladed Dash (ISM pg 54) after performing a 5' step.

Bladed Dash would work with a 5 foot step because the movement noted int he spell is part of the spell effect. The spell also does not say that it uses up the Magus' movement.

As for other spells or abilities, it depends on what they say.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Moving after a 5' step. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions