Can a Magus / Monk use Flurry of Blows with two touch spells?


Advice

Shadow Lodge

Sort of curious if RAW prevent this? Let's say you get the jump on an enemy and have time to cast both spells before entering combat. Would you be able to deliver two touch spells using Flurry of Blows, say maybe two empowered shocking grasps?


You can't hold more than one touch spell at a time. Casting the second ends the first.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The only way you could work this is one of the touch spells that lasts for multiple touches, such as Frostbite. And most of those are a much lower damage.


And i wouldnt say you could use spell combat and flurry of blows in the same round either, both would be seperate actions. so round one you spell combat/spell strike. round two, assuming you used a multi hit charge spell in round one, you can flurry for multiple discharges.

But you could do something close to what you want with a spell storing weapon.

Shadow Lodge

if you have spell strike as a calss feature i can accomplish this. each fist counts as a weapon so you could hold 2 different spells in your "hands" as long as you wanted and didnt touch anything.

a monk magus can be very, very powerful using 2x shocking grasps during a flurry. and im pretty sure you could also use a spell storing AOMF for a third shocking grasp.


From the PRD:

"Touch Spells and Holding the Charge: In most cases, if you don't discharge a touch spell on the round you cast it, you can hold the charge (postpone the discharge of the spell) indefinitely. You can make touch attacks round after round until the spell is discharged. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates."

According to that last stand alone sentence casting a second spell would dissipate the first.


But if you have improved unarmed strike in one hand, a spell storing AMF, a spell storing melee weapon in the other and you cast a touch spell to hold a charge ahead of time... there are three shocking grasps in a first round flurry.

Liberty's Edge

You can't hold two different spells at the same time.

But what you can do is already have one charge going, then declare spell combat/spell strike and hit the enemy first discharge the spell, then cast the spell as the last part of spell combat.

As you get up in levels and are able to use quickened spells and a spell storing AOMF and another spell-storing weapon, you can extend this to five spells.


I think you max out at three due to being unable to mix spell combat with flurry or TWF. You can cast one in spell combat, one quickened with spell strike, and discharge a spell storing weapon. But you cant use a spell storing weapon and a spell storing AMF in any round where you spell combat because you are using your off hand to cast a spell for spell combat so you cant use it for TWF; Flurry is a special action which cant be combined with any other special full round actions.

Liberty's Edge

Torbyne wrote:
I think you max out at three due to being unable to mix spell combat with flurry or TWF. You can cast one in spell combat, one quickened with spell strike, and discharge a spell storing weapon. But you cant use a spell storing weapon and a spell storing AMF in any round where you spell combat because you are using your off hand to cast a spell for spell combat so you cant use it for TWF; Flurry is a special action which cant be combined with any other special full round actions.

No its a max of four, more usually three, unless you happen to be something with more than two arms and can hold a bunch of spell storing weapons like a marilith.

I was mistaken on using both a AoMF and a weapon with spell-storing since the faq specificly says the one light or one-handed weapon in your other hand.

Spellstrike is a part of making an attack and isn't a seperate action, the 3rd spell either requires a quickened spell or the critcal strike magus arcana.


So it comes out like this?

1) Held charge dispelled on first hit

2) Discharged Spell Storing from first hit

3) Spell storing discharge from weapon in off hand

4) Quickened spell delivered through Spell Strike

I think i follow now. :) as if a Magus didnt nova fast enough already...

Sovereign Court

Torbyne wrote:

So it comes out like this?

1) Held charge dispelled on first hit

2) Discharged Spell Storing from first hit

3) Spell storing discharge from weapon in off hand

4) Quickened spell delivered through Spell Strike

I think i follow now. :) as if a Magus didnt nova fast enough already...

I believe it's completely incorrect to say a swift action cannot be taken during a full attack. A 5-foot step is an action, so why cant' a swift action be during a full-attack? Swift actions, per SRD, can be taken anytime a free action can be. You can speak during a full attack? Hey guess what you can now use a quickened spell during a full attack.

"You can't hold two different spells at the same time."

You don't need to. You cast the quickened spell after the standard hits. And if you cast the spell before combat that means you're "holding" the spell well before any full attack begins.

I'd still imagine, crunch-wise that you get higher DPR out of just using a single weapon like a rapier or a wakizashi with an improved critical range, however. Easier to confirm a full attack that way. Would be pretty sick build to get ability damage thrown out with something like this though....

Too bad touch of idiocy isn't on the Magus spell list. Then you'd be looking at 3d6 mental damage per turn, and follow it up with a bestow curse and you're looking at almost any character being in a coma for well over a week.


taldanrebel2187 wrote:
Torbyne wrote:

So it comes out like this?

1) Held charge dispelled on first hit

2) Discharged Spell Storing from first hit

3) Spell storing discharge from weapon in off hand

4) Quickened spell delivered through Spell Strike

I think i follow now. :) as if a Magus didnt nova fast enough already...

I believe it's completely incorrect to say a swift action cannot be taken during a full attack. A 5-foot step is an action, so why cant' a swift action be during a full-attack? Swift actions, per SRD, can be taken anytime a free action can be. You can speak during a full attack? Hey guess what you can now use a quickened spell during a full attack.

"You can't hold two different spells at the same time."

You don't need to. You cast the quickened spell after the standard hits. And if you cast the spell before combat that means you're "holding" the spell well before any full attack begins.

I'd still imagine, crunch-wise that you get higher DPR out of just using a single weapon like a rapier or a wakizashi with an improved critical range, however. Easier to confirm a full attack that way. Would be pretty sick build to get ability damage thrown out with something like this though....

Too bad touch of idiocy isn't on the Magus spell list.

So you are looking at it from the POV of holding a charge before combat, round one Spell combat plus quicken charge? That comes out something like this:

1) Held charge discharged on hit from regular attacks

2) Spell from spell combat goes off and is delivered via Spell Strike

3) Quickened Spell goes off via Spell Strike

4) Spell from Spell Storing weapon goes off on one of the above hits.

That still maxes out at four spells "cast" in a round. My point above is that you cant mix Spell Combat with any kind of TWF/Flurry Of Blow/Multi-attack.

Sovereign Court

You don't need spell combat. Nothing says spell strike is an action at all.

"At 2nd level, whenever a magus casts a spell with a range of “touch” from the magus spell list, he can deliver the spell through any weapon he is wielding as part of a melee attack"

Any weapon, any melee attack. Regardless of action. Spell strike is not an action at all. Spell Combat is not required :P

Per FAQ:

"If I use spell combat, how many weapon attacks can I make?

You can make as many weapon attacks as you would normally be able to make if you were making a full attack with that weapon."

As long as the magus is casting the spell he can use Spellstrike as a non-action to deliver it through any held weapon. Including a fist. Or a glove of spell storing heh


Torbyne wrote:

So it comes out like this?

1) Held charge dispelled on first hit

2) Discharged Spell Storing from first hit

3) Spell storing discharge from weapon in off hand

4) Quickened spell delivered through Spell Strike

I think i follow now. :) as if a Magus didnt nova fast enough already...

You're not even spell combating to do that, so you don't even need to be a magus to do that aside from being able to deliver 1.) and 4.) through your weapon.

If you're spell combating, you cannot do 3.) since you cannot use a weapon in your off hand. So the Magus would more likely do something like

1.) Deliver a held charge through your weapon, making your full attack sequence of 1+ attacks (Spell Strike)
2.) Deliver Spell Storing from any hit you land. (Weapon enchant, free action.)
3.) Cast a quickened spell and deliver the free attack via your weapon. (Metamagic, Spellstrike, swift action.)
4.) Cast a spell normally and deliver it through your weapon. (Spell Combat and Spell Strike.)

That's 4 spells in 1 round and 3 melee attacks at your BAB -2 as well as any hasted or iterative attacks at -2 from their normal bonus.

I'm not sure if you can combine Spell Combat with Flurry, because I think Flurry counts as using your offhand even if you only use one weapon. But that's something you'd have to look over the rules as well as the rulings since clearing that brouhaha about not being able to flurry with just one manufactured weapon for all of your attacks got cleared up, the rule might not be what I think it is.


Yeah, I was looking at ways to get the most spells off in one round and didn't use spell combat in some of the set ups, just two weapons in a flurry.

Round one: cast and hold charge in main hand. Draw second weapon.

Round two: hit with main hand, discharge cast spell.
Discharge spell storing weapon.
Hit off hand, discharge spell storing weapon.
Quicken touch spell, spell strike from main hand.

Or

Round one: cast and hold a charge spell

Round two: declare spell combat, hit main weapon and discharge previous charge.
Discharge spell storing weapon on hit from main.
Cast spell from spell combat and deliver by spell strike.
Quicken touch spell and spell strike that.

So a magus of high enough level could get 3-4 spells off in a round.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Can a Magus / Monk use Flurry of Blows with two touch spells? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Advice