Paladin Action Economy


Rules Questions

The Exchange

Hi all, I just want to confirm if I am interpreting this correctly, but I assume a paladin can do all of the following in one round: (1) lay on hands on his/her-self (swift action), (2) take a 5-foot step, and (3) make a full attack.

Points
1-Lay on hands on oneself is a swift action. A swift action is like a free action except you can only take one swift action per round.

2-The only movement you can take during a full attack is a 5-foot step. You may take the step before, after, or between your attacks.

This came up under discussion in a recent game.

Thanks in advance for your responses and clarification.


One free hand for Lay on hands
So... if you have a 1 handed weapon, drop your weapon [free], use lay on hands [swift], regrab weapon with cord [move], finish with [standard action] to attack.
Edit: Hope it's clearer now, sorry for the confusion
BTW holding the weapon with your shield in hand already... I think it's not allowed, it's like trying to hold two swords in one hand, one will fall. Not checked so it's possible.


Weapon cords have been errata'd to use a move action.

But, LoH still requires a free hand. So long as you are not using a heavy shield and a one handed weapon you should have a hand free (as a light shield still allows you to hold objects in your hand, which seems like it should be free enough*) and with a two-handed weapon you can let go with one hand as a free action and put it back on as a free action again. Thus allowing you to full attack.

Edit: You're correct LAIF, for some reason when I read your statement I thought your scenario had weapon cords as a free.

*Not sure on RAW


Yes, you've got it correct.

You technically need a free hand to use lay on hands, but in practice this is unimportant since switching which hand is holding an item is a free action. This means you can release a two-handed weapon with one hand (holding it in the other) as a free action, use lay on hands, then grip the weapon in both hands again to wield it as a free action. Similarly, you can move a one-handed weapon into your other hand (you can still hold items even when wielding a light shield) as a free action, use lay on hands, then move it back to your main hand as a free action.

The Exchange

Dasrak wrote:
Yes, you've got it correct.

Great, so it works fine with a composite longbow as well... just hold the bow in one hand while you swift-action heal, take a step, and fire your volley of arrows.

Liberty's Edge

The Mighty Thrar wrote:
Dasrak wrote:
Yes, you've got it correct.
Great, so it works fine with a composite longbow as well... just hold the bow in one hand while you swift-action heal, take a step, and fire your volley of arrows.

Yup. Heavy Shield use and TWF are the only two things it really makes difficult, and even then a Glove of Storing fixes the problem.


Dasrak wrote:

Yes, you've got it correct.

You technically need a free hand to use lay on hands, but in practice this is unimportant since switching which hand is holding an item is a free action. This means you can release a two-handed weapon with one hand (holding it in the other) as a free action, use lay on hands, then grip the weapon in both hands again to wield it as a free action. Similarly, you can move a one-handed weapon into your other hand (you can still hold items even when wielding a light shield) as a free action, use lay on hands, then move it back to your main hand as a free action.

I was actually thinking you could touch yourself with the "free hand" of your light shield arm, but whether you can or cannot is moot since as you pointed out you can move the weapon to your shield hand as a free action, use your definitely free hand to swift heal, and then move the weapon back as a free action. That is why I was unsure about it by RAW, so despite my process not necessarily being legal the starting conditions I stated do allow for a legal process to accomplsih the same thing.


just another example of why paladins are BA-ROKE

-ducks-

Silver Crusade

Not really. Paladins are good, but certainly not 'BA-ROKE'. I'd give a Wizard good odds against a Paladin any day of the week.


There's a feat from 3.5 that makes any Paladin spell for a Paladin a swift action too. . .


Nathanael Love wrote:
There's a feat from 3.5 that makes any Paladin spell for a Paladin a swift action too. . .

Good thing this is Pathfinder and not 3.5

The Exchange

Claxon wrote:
Nathanael Love wrote:
There's a feat from 3.5 that makes any Paladin spell for a Paladin a swift action too. . .
Good thing this is Pathfinder and not 3.5

Not yet, thank goodness.

Anyway... Thanks for the clarification.

Silver Crusade

Here's the corresponding Oracle action economy:

Your Move Action: Quick Channel positive energy in 30' radius
Your Standard Action: Cast a Spell
Your 5' Step to fish for AoOs
End your turn
Enemy turn: possibly get some AoOs
Enemy turn: Immediate Action Misfortune forces foe to re-roll a d20.

Other classes have similar combinations.

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

Magda Luckbender wrote:
Your 5' Step to fish for AoOs

What am I missing here?


I think he's saying you should always in your turn with a 5' step because it forces enemies to move as well, possibly provoking.

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

Prok wrote:
I think he's saying you should always in your turn with a 5' step because it forces enemies to move as well, possibly provoking.

They'd need to make a 5' to "catch up" with him though right? So that wouldn't provoke.


Magda Luckbender wrote:

Here's the corresponding Oracle action economy:

Your Move Action: Quick Channel positive energy in 30' radius
Your Standard Action: Cast a Spell
Your 5' Step to fish for AoOs
End your turn
Enemy turn: possibly get some AoOs
Enemy turn: Immediate Action Misfortune forces foe to re-roll a d20.

Other classes have similar combinations.

How are you using your move to quickchannel AND taking a 5 foot step?

As for the rest.... Your fishing kind of hard for it.

Im not going to get into the whole paladins are over powered debate, thats not what the thread is about. Just making a point.

Liberty's Edge

blue_the_wolf wrote:
How are you using your move to quickchannel AND taking a 5 foot step?

Uh...5-foot steps are a free action. That can be taken as long as you make no other actual movement. Quick Channel is not movement, just a Move Action.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Paladin Action Economy All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions