Do you take Dazzling Display once per weapon or once overall


Rules Questions


I just want to check: If you have multiple weapons that you have Weapon Focus in, do you only need to take the Dazzling Display feat once, or is it specific to a particular weapon?

The prerequisites of the feat include "Proficient with the selected weapon", but it does not have the "Special: You can take this feat multiple times for different weapons" that Weapon Focus has.

Cockatrice cavalier order get it as a bonus feat (with no weapon required) but that's maybe a special case.

Thanks


The text of the Dazzling Display feat says:
Dazzling Display (Combat)
Your skill with your favored weapon can frighten enemies.
Prerequisite: Weapon Focus, proficiency with the selected weapon.
Benefit: While wielding the weapon in which you have Weapon Focus, you can perform a bewildering show of prowess as a full-round action. Make an Intimidate check to demoralize all foes within 30 feet who can see your display.

From Order of the Cockatrice
Braggart (Ex): At 2nd level, the cavalier can spend a standard action to extol his own accomplishments and battle prowess. He receives Dazzling Display as a bonus feat. He does not need a weapon in hand to use this ability. The cavalier receives a +2 morale bonus on melee attack rolls made against demoralized targets.

So to answer your question:
Dazzling Display is only taken ONCE(or in the case of the Order of the Cockatrice, you get it for free @ 2nd level)
Order of the Cockatrice ability allows you can use Dazzling Display with no weapon in hand. (normally you'd need to have Weapon Focus (Unarmed) to use Dazzling Display while unarmed)
However, if you have a weapon in hand, you'd have to have the Weapon Focus feat for that specific weapon to use Dazzling Display.

Silver Crusade

I am not sure about the order of the cockatrice required to have weapon focus.... however I guess it would only matter if you had something that added to intimidate checks when using it.
Basically, with the orders version of dazzling display you do not have to use a weapon for the check, you can still have a weapon of course, you just do not have to use that for your dazzling display.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Rabscuttle wrote:
does not have the "Special: You can take this feat multiple times for different weapons" that Weapon Focus has.

When this is not present, you explicitly can not take the feat more than once.

Contributor

CrazyElf wrote:

From Order of the Cockatrice

Braggart (Ex): At 2nd level, the cavalier can spend a standard action to extol his own accomplishments and battle prowess. He receives Dazzling Display as a bonus feat. He does not need a weapon in hand to use this ability. The cavalier receives a +2 morale bonus on melee attack rolls made against demoralized targets.
Quote:

Order of the Cockatrice ability allows you can use Dazzling Display with no weapon in hand. (normally you'd need to have Weapon Focus (Unarmed) to use Dazzling Display while unarmed)

However, if you have a weapon in hand, you'd have to have the Weapon Focus feat for that specific weapon to use Dazzling Display.

That's a poor ruling. If you read the Braggart ability, it says that you use Dazzling Display by extoling your accomplishments and battle prowess. You mean to tell me that in your games, you wouldn't allow the cavalier to verbally extol his battle prowess while holding a weapon?

"does not need" and "while not wielding" are completely different.


CrazyElf wrote:

So to answer your question:

Dazzling Display is only taken ONCE(or in the case of the Order of the Cockatrice, you get it for free @ 2nd level)
Order of the Cockatrice ability allows you can use Dazzling Display with no weapon in hand. (normally you'd need to have Weapon Focus (Unarmed) to use Dazzling Display while unarmed)
However, if you have a weapon in hand, you'd have to have the Weapon Focus feat for that specific weapon to use Dazzling Display.

Disagreed on Order of the Cockatrice. It says that you don't need a weapon. That means you can perform a Dazzling Display while empty-handed. It does not state that he must not have a weapon in hand.

Essentially, that Order's Braggart ability functions as a universal Dazzling Display, usable empty-handed or with whatever weapon(s) the Cavalier might be holding at the moment.


You take dazzling display only once. To use it as per the normal feat you must be weilding a weapon in which you weapon focus in.

The cockatrice order is a specific addition to this, as their special ability allows you to use this feat without holding a weapon in hand, nor do you need to meet the pre to get this feat as the class gives it to you. You're literally standing there and bragging about how bad ass you are. You CAN use a weapon however if you desire.


Thanks, that was what I thought it should be.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Do you take Dazzling Display once per weapon or once overall All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.