Magical Lineage and Metamagic Master traits


Rules Questions


Hi, I have a simple question.
Both the traits in the subject reduce the metamagical cost on one spell by 1.
Can I select the same spell for both traits, reducing the cost by 2?
Is there any rule that do not allow that?

Thanks for any answer!


Rob80 wrote:

Hi, I have a simple question.

Both the traits in the subject reduce the metamagical cost on one spell by 1.
Can I select the same spell for both traits, reducing the cost by 2?

Thanks for any answer!

Yes, you can. The question periodically comes up. If you want to hear more on it, then search for those threads.

-James


Thank you and sorry for posting an already solved question.

Sczarni

The reason your search probably didn't find anything was because there is no such thing as "Metamagic Master". That is what the website d20pfsrd.com had to rename "Wayang Spellhunter" to avoid copyright infringement.

The traits Wayang Spellhunter and Magical Lineage both work together.


Am I correct that they still can't reduce the cost below the original spell level?

i.e. merciful fireball as a second level spell.


Quantum Steve wrote:

Am I correct that they still can't reduce the cost below the original spell level?

i.e. merciful fireball as a second level spell.

Correct.


But can you apply these traits with weaken spell? For example a silent, still and weakened fireball as a second level spell?

Shadow Lodge

Weaken Spell isn't a thing, so... no.


I am talking about weak spell feat, third party feat from super genius.

Sczarni

That will have to be up to your GM, since it is 3rd party.

My suggestion, not knowing what "Weaken Spell" does but assuming it lowers the level by 1, would be to not lower it any further than the level it is with these traits.

Casting a level 1 Fireball would still be overpowered.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Rob80 wrote:
I am talking about weak spell feat, third party feat from super genius.

No, because 3rd is the base level.

still (+1) + silent (+1) + weaken (-1) + fireball (3) = 4 - 1 = 3 and the second -1 is a no-op.


Being able to enlarge and extend a color spray is amazing.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magical Lineage and Metamagic Master traits All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions