Move Action


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

I've a question. Can a person move a flaming sphere which says it requires a move action to move it, then also cast a spell, then also take a 5 foot step all in the same round? The gm i was playing with said the move action on flaming sphere doesn't count as a movement so he can still do a 5 foot step yet I disagree. Does anyone know if this is possible or impossible according to the rules?

Does the moving of a flaming shpere which takes up a move action-from concentrating on it count as a persons movement in a round or can they also do a 5 ft step too and a standard?


You didn't move, so you can take a 5' step. The fact that your move action was spent making a Flaming Sphere move is irrelevant; only that you didn't move yourself.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

poundpuppy30 wrote:
gm i was playing with said the move action on flaming sphere doesn't count as a movement so he can still do a 5 foot step yet I disagree.

Strangely this rule, while very clear, is misunderstood more than anything else it seems.

It is probably because it isn't intuitive.

The rule is "move for any distance" and using a move for a Flaming Sphere doesn't move your PC to a different square. So you can 5 ft step in the same round.


PFSRD wrote:
You can't take more than one 5-foot step in a round, and you can't take a 5-foot step in the same round that you move any distance.

Using a move equivalent action doesn't prevent you from taking a 5' step.


You can't use a move action to move if you take a five-foot step. But you can use it to do other things.

Silver Crusade

So then what does the spell mean by it its (a move action for you)? For instance if I wanted to draw a wand its a move action even though I didn't move my feet right so does that mean I can still move after drawing, and using something?

Grand Lodge

poundpuppy30 wrote:
So then what does the spell mean by it its (a move action for you)? For instance if I wanted to draw a wand its a move action even though I didn't move my feet right so does that mean I can still move after drawing, and using something?

You get a standard action and a move action each round. If you draw and use a wand, you've used both your available actions, so you don't have a move action available, but you can take a 5-foot step because you haven't moved any distance.


Drawing a wand takes a move action but because you didn't travel any distance you can still take a 5' step.


Using a Move Action =/= Moving


poundpuppy30 wrote:
So then what does the spell mean by it its (a move action for you)? For instance if I wanted to draw a wand its a move action even though I didn't move my feet right so does that mean I can still move after drawing, and using something?

In your mind, change the phrase "Move Action" to "Secondary Action". If you spend your Secondary Action to direct a Flaming Sphere, you can take a 5' step, because you haven't moved.

If you had spent your Secondary Action to move your speed, you couldn't take a 5' step.


poundpuppy30 wrote:
So then what does the spell mean by it its (a move action for you)? For instance if I wanted to draw a wand its a move action even though I didn't move my feet right so does that mean I can still move after drawing, and using something?

Yes.

Dark Archive

To throw some confusion fuel on the fire, you can draw a wand as part of your move because it is 'weaponlike'. :D


I saw the title, and immediately knew its a dumb question about move actions and 5ft steps.
The only thing you need to look at is the fact that it says that you cant otherwise move on the round u 5ft step. So u can use a move action, or even multiple but as long as u dont MOVE from your square, u can 5ft step.


Be nice. Nothing wrong with asking a question.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Move Action All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions