Butterfly Sting


Rules Questions


Can I use the Butterfly Sting's effect more than once in a round? In other words, assuming I crit'd 4 times in a round, could I pass off all 4 crits? Would it matter if I hit multiple opponents?

Feat: Butterfly’s Sting (Critical)

You can forgo a critical hit in order to pass it on to an ally.

Prerequisite: Combat Expertise.

Benefit: When you confirm a critical hit against a creature, you can choose to forgo the effect of the critical hit and grant a critical hit to the next ally who hits the creature with a melee attack before the start of your next turn. Your attack only deals normal damage, and the next ally automatically confirms the hit as a critical.


Nothing saying that passing on the hit requires an action, so I'd say yes you can pass on all 4 crits. With multiple opponents, as long as you're not trying to pass on a crit against A to your friend's attack against B you're fine.

Liberty's Edge

Treesmasha Toothpickmaker wrote:

Can I use the Butterfly Sting's effect more than once in a round? In other words, assuming I crit'd 4 times in a round, could I pass off all 4 crits? Would it matter if I hit multiple opponents?

Feat: Butterfly’s Sting (Critical)

You can forgo a critical hit in order to pass it on to an ally.

Prerequisite: Combat Expertise.

Benefit: When you confirm a critical hit against a creature, you can choose to forgo the effect of the critical hit and grant a critical hit to the next ally who hits the creature with a melee attack before the start of your next turn. Your attack only deals normal damage, and the next ally automatically confirms the hit as a critical.

No, You can pass along one critical hit per enemy. The first time you use this ability, the next ally will confirm his next hit as a critical against that enemy. If you use it multiple times on that enemy, you just have the same effect stacked onto itself, each applying to the next attack. Once that attack happens, all butterfly sting effects are over.

Shadow Lodge

How I've always thought of it was like this:

You hit him the first time, crit, and sacrifice it for an ally.

You hit him a second time, roll a critical threat, and set of the previous sting and get critical damage yourself. If you confirm, you set up a sting for your next attack. Then for the 3rd and 4th times, the chain continues giving you 3 crits and your friend[hopefully a Barbarian with a Scythe] gets a free crit as well.

Lantern Lodge

It's effect does not stack.


No.

You hit and crit, using sting to pass the crit to the next hit. The next hit auto-crits--that uses up the sting. You can choose to forgo that crit as well, passing it along to the next hit, but you still only end up with one crit in the end.


There's a bunch of threads around Butterfly's Sting - this one seems to go most directly to the point I'm considering. The consensus seems to be that a creature with the feat Butterfly's Sting isn't going to be able to critical a target twice in one round (because the first hit will set the second hit up with Butterfly's Sting's benefit.

In a different thread blahpers nicely laid it out as like this

blaphers order of event:

1. You hit, and confirm a critical.
2. Since you've just confirmed a critical, you can forgo it via Butterfly's Sting. The next ally who hits will automatically confirm a critical.
3. You hit again, automatically confirming a critical.
4. Since you've just confirmed a critical, you can forgo it via Butterfly's Sting. The next ally who hits will automatically confirm a critical.
5. Repeat until you run out of attacks. There is still one outstanding Butterfly's Sting that an ally can take advantage of. (Note that no critical hits have actually been executed at this point; all have been foregone.)

This is perfectly fine, and it doesn't allow stacking crits either, so it's hard to argue that it's overpowered.

But I don't see anyone in the prior threads I looked for accounting for the fact that the creature using Butterfly's Sting could be making multiple ranged attacks. As far as I can see Butterfly's Sting's benefit can be triggered by a ranged attack - but it isn't collected until a melee attack hits.

Any thoughts on how this weird feat works when the feat holder crits a creature with a thrown dagger twice in a round?


I didn't realize there was so much argument over this.

Swashbuckler with a Keen Rapier attacks 3 times... all three are crits...

He hands the first crit to Dave, the second crit to Jessica, and the third crit Jessica's pet... what is there to argue about? Three crits confirmed, three crits passed to other allies. Or three crits passed to the same ally. Who cares?

The same number of crits have been confirmed. So what if they are being confirmed by someone else? It's not overpowered, it's teamwork. Teamwork should always be highly encouraged.


First, it looks like the problem is in the feat's wording: "...you can...grant a critical hit to the NEXT ally who hits..." So, whoever hits next gets an auto-crit. If you don't count yourself as your ally and crit multiple times, they all get passed "to the next ally who hits", not to whoever you want.
And even worse, if you do count as your own ally, then your second attack triggers the auto-crit from the first, and the third from the second. Which makes this feat...annoying.

Second, this thread is seven years old.

Dark Archive

VoodistMonk wrote:

I didn't realize there was so much argument over this.

Swashbuckler with a Keen Rapier attacks 3 times... all three are crits...

He hands the first crit to Dave, the second crit to Jessica, and the third crit Jessica's pet... what is there to argue about? Three crits confirmed, three crits passed to other allies. Or three crits passed to the same ally. Who cares?

The same number of crits have been confirmed. So what if they are being confirmed by someone else? It's not overpowered, it's teamwork. Teamwork should always be highly encouraged.

but you dont hand the crits to others

the NEXT attack is a crit. no matter how many crits you "pass out" only THE NEXT SINGLE attack is a crit on that opponent. Its not a "buff" to hand out, but a "debuff" that once the 1st person hits them goes away, no matter how many times you stack it


Quixote wrote:

if you do count as your own ally, then your second attack triggers the auto-crit from the first, and the third from the second. Which makes this feat...annoying.

Second, this thread is seven years old.

If you do count as your own ally then your next MELEE attack that hits benefits from the prior Butterfly Sting - you would auto-crit (not role to conform) and could either take the critical or pass it to the next melee attack - IF however, you are generating the crits with missile weapons - it doesn't matter if you count as your own ally - as the crit passes to the next ally who hits with a melee attack.

Yes, the thread is 7 years old but - discusses a lot of relevant material - it however, does not cover a Butterfly's Sting user making only missile attacks.

I'd personally rule that the feat holder roles to confirm on subsequent hits and just takes their critical w/ the Butterfly's Sting crit holding to the next melee attack - but am hoping some of the individuals who have used/seen the feat in play weigh in- before I attempt it at table.

Liberty's Edge

You count as your own ally. It is in the FAQs.


Diego Rossi wrote:
You count as your own ally. It is in the FAQs.

Yes. In general (with exceptions like Gang Up) but that is completely irrelevant if the creature with Butterfly's Sting is using ranged attacks.

Butterfly's Sting: "next ally who hits the creature with a melee attack"

Dark Archive

Diego Rossi wrote:
You count as your own ally. It is in the FAQs.

I feel people always overlook the other, very important, part of that statement

You count as your own ally unless otherwise stated or if doing so would make no sense or be impossible

now if a situation does or doesn't make sense is another issue


Either way, it actually doesn't matter. If you are your own ally in this instance, then:

1. Threaten and confirm your critical.
2. Pass it on with the feat.
3. Hit with your next attack. The feat triggers.
4. Pass it on again with the feat
5. Repeat.

Now as for it stacking, it definitely looks like it does not. It's the next melee attack. Just the next one.
So you can crit a hundred times on your turn, with a rapier or a pellet bow or whatever, and pass them all on down...and they all trigger on the *next* melee attack.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Butterfly Sting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.