Question on Attack of Opportunity


Pathfinder First Edition General Discussion


When you leave a threatened square you provoke; do you provoke when you enter one to attack? I thought that you didnt provoke upon entering if you charged, but you did if you didnt.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

No, you don't provoke when you enter a threatened square.

Keep in mind, however, that if your enemy has reach, it might threaten the square you left, and thus gain an AoO for that reason.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

You only provoke on leaving a threatened square, not entering. Now if said enemy has a reach weapon such as a spear, you'll be leaving their threatened area when you move from their 10' square to their 5' square so you'll provoke because they have a reach weapon. Movement from Charge provokes regardless; just the charge action itself doesn't provoke. By contrast, the Bladed Dash spell allows you to move a certain distance and make an attack; it provokes when you cast it because it's a spell (unless you cast defensively) but the movement it allows does not provoke because it specifically says so.


Charge provokes if you pass through a square by an enemy you arent directly attacking, not the guy you are attacking right?

IE you have to pass one square out from a melee mob to get a straight charge line on their healer/mage. The meleer you pass by gets the AOO not the mage youre charging?

Just trying to make sure Im doin it right. The group Im with has over the years become EXTREMELY rules lawyery because if the DM isnt super lawyery, half of the group will be so, and run the game for him -.- or find every loophole they can to break the game.

Its fairly annoying but the games net result is its still fun


buddahcjcc wrote:
IE you have to pass one square out from a melee mob to get a straight charge line on their healer/mage. The meleer you pass by gets the AOO not the mage youre charging?

That's right. This is also the case if you perform a normal move-then-attack and happen to pass through someone's threatened square during your move.


How about when you move around an enemy to set up a flank--moving from one threatened square to another for the same foe?


buddahcjcc wrote:
Charge provokes if you pass through a square by an enemy you arent directly attacking, not the guy you are attacking right?

Charging doesn't grant any special changes about attacks of opportunity.

.

buddahcjcc wrote:
IE you have to pass one square out from a melee mob to get a straight charge line on their healer/mage. The meleer you pass by gets the AOO not the mage youre charging?

If you're wielding a sword, and the mage is wielding a longspear, she will get an attack of opportunity when you charge her.

Silver Crusade

Calybos1 wrote:
How about when you move around an enemy to set up a flank--moving from one threatened square to another for the same foe?

Yes, you are still leaving a threatened square, and that's what counts.

The fact that you're also entering a square threatened by the same person doesn't make any difference.

The best way out of this is to take a 5-foot step; that will not provoke (unless your speed is only 5-feet or less).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / General Discussion / Question on Attack of Opportunity All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in General Discussion