Enlarge Person and equipment dropped on the ground


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

Here is a question for all those rule lawyers out there.

I am building a character with some back story/RP to it and I need a ruling on something.

The character I am building carries around a large Bastard Sword that he inherited (trait) from the demon side of his family (Oni-Spawn tiefling).

Here is where I need something clarified, If I spike/drop the bastard sword to the ground before drinking a potion of enlarge person would the sword increase in size even though I am no longer holding it?

There are some silly Rp/mechanic things I am thinking about doing with this character. One of them being after he uses all his bombs/needs to help on the front line he pops a few buff spells on himself to boost his str from 10 to 18 (ragecamist + enlarge person) and charges in wielding a huge sword. I need to know if I control if my sword goes up to a huge size or not.

And yes, this is very min/max-y. I apologies for being a newer player/GM and trying different styles of playing.


Quindo wrote:
Here is where I need something clarified, If I spike/drop the bastard sword to the ground before drinking a potion of enlarge person would the sword increase in size even though I am no longer holding it?

No.

Enlarge Person wrote:
All equipment worn or carried by a creature is similarly enlarged by the spell.

(Emphasis mine.)


This strategy won't work. Enlarge person only works on humanoids, and Tieflings are outsiders.

But you have to look at the last paragraph of the enlarge person spell that Ben qouted. It goes on to say that even if you were holding an item when you enlarge, if the item leaves your possession it returns to the item's original size.


In the future you may do better asking such questions in the Rules forum as there's nothing really PFS specific in the question.

The Exchange

there also might be a problem with GETTING a large weapon. Is it on equipment lists? are we allowed to buy large weapons (in PFS?

otherwise this is a cool idea.

Shadow Lodge

Brian Lefebvre wrote:
This strategy won't work. Enlarge person only works on humanoids, and Tieflings are outsiders.

I learn something new every day. I will need to keep that in mind when the GM tries to use a really bad spell vs me.

I will adjust my strategy so that I will not be breaking any rules.

Shadow Lodge

Pirate Rob wrote:
In the future you may do better asking such questions in the Rules forum as there's nothing really PFS specific in the question.

I looked for a PFS specific rules forum and could not find one.

Paizo Employee Developer

Moved to rules forum, as this isn't a rule that functions differently in Pathfinder Society than in the Core Rulebook.

Shadow Lodge

Brian Lefebvre wrote:

This strategy won't work. Enlarge person only works on humanoids, and Tieflings are outsiders.

But you have to look at the last paragraph of the enlarge person spell that Ben qouted. It goes on to say that even if you were holding an item when you enlarge, if the item leaves your possession it returns to the item's original size.

But what about the reverse situation? If you had been disarmed and then enlarged what would happen when you pick up your weapon? You are no longer carrying or wearing it.


nosig wrote:

there also might be a problem with GETTING a large weapon. Is it on equipment lists? are we allowed to buy large weapons (in PFS?

otherwise this is a cool idea.

Under Spoils of War in the Guide on page 23 it says any item on a chronicle sheet can be bought as either small or medium. There have been large items listed on chronicle sheets in the past.

However the Always Available section on page 25 allows mundane gear to be purchased for small, medium or large creatures.

So you can't rely on the chronicle sheet access to bypass fame limits for size large items most of the time.

Shadow Lodge

Brian Lefebvre wrote:
nosig wrote:

there also might be a problem with GETTING a large weapon. Is it on equipment lists? are we allowed to buy large weapons (in PFS?

otherwise this is a cool idea.

Under Spoils of War in the Guide on page 23 it says any item on a chronicle sheet can be bought as either small or medium. There have been large items listed on chronicle sheets in the past.

However the Always Available section on page 25 allows mundane gear to be purchased for small, medium or large creatures.

So you can't rely on the chronicle sheet access to bypass fame limits for size large items most of the time.

The Heirloom Weapon (Proficiency) can get around this correct?

Liberty's Edge

Brian Lefebvre wrote:
So you can't rely on the chronicle sheet access to bypass fame limits for size large items most of the time.

It looks like that trait has no bearing on the purchasing of the weapon.

However, the passage under 'Spoils of War' nosig is referring to has a contradiction (note the portions in bold):
PCs can always buy weapons and equipment off their Chronicle sheets and the approved equipment lists for their size so long as their size is Small or Medium. Thus, if a Chronicle sheet offers a Small PC the opportunity to purchase a +1 frost longsword, she can always buy the +1 frost longsword at size Small. Items found while playing the scenario, however, are the size they are when they’re found. The size can only be adjusted up or down after the scenario is over, while the PCs are buying new gear. PCs purchasing equipment at sizes other than Small and Medium must adjust the prices per the existing weapon size rules (Core Rulebook 144).

It would stand to reason that players can purchase large items.


Quindo wrote:
Brian Lefebvre wrote:

This strategy won't work. Enlarge person only works on humanoids, and Tieflings are outsiders.

But you have to look at the last paragraph of the enlarge person spell that Ben qouted. It goes on to say that even if you were holding an item when you enlarge, if the item leaves your possession it returns to the item's original size.

But what about the reverse situation? If you had been disarmed and then enlarged what would happen when you pick up your weapon? You are no longer carrying or wearing it.

I would assume that if something shrinks when you drop it, it would also enlarge when you pick it up.

Regarding the humanoid thing, it seems strange to me personally. There some reason why tieflings aren't humanoid? I mean sure they're part demon, but still that's only partially, and demons are unofficially/loosely humanoids anyway (if you were to describe them).


Joesi wrote:
Regarding the humanoid thing, it seems strange to me personally. There some reason why tieflings aren't humanoid? I mean sure they're part demon, but still that's only partially, and demons are unofficially/loosely humanoids anyway (if you were to describe them).

According to their Bestiary entry, Tieflings (and Aasimar, Sylphs, Fetchlings, Oreads and a few more) are 'Outsiders' (with the 'Native' subtype), rather than 'Humanoids'. Yes, this leads to quite a lot of... interesting rules effects.

Tne fact that demons (and devils, and angels...) often have humanoid forms is utterly irrelevant. What you need to be looking at is the 'creature type'.

It is the devs' stated and repeated position that the planetouched races are considered Outsiders, rather than humanoids, on purpose.

Grand Lodge

Unless you have Scion of Humanity. Then you are considered both Human and Native Outsider. Both for the purposes of damage done to you and effects.

For example, my Assimar cleric with the Scion of Humanity, will take extra damage from someone who targets humans. But he's also allowed to use the above mentioned potion.

Grand Lodge

Quindo wrote:
Brian Lefebvre wrote:

This strategy won't work. Enlarge person only works on humanoids, and Tieflings are outsiders.

But you have to look at the last paragraph of the enlarge person spell that Ben qouted. It goes on to say that even if you were holding an item when you enlarge, if the item leaves your possession it returns to the item's original size.

But what about the reverse situation? If you had been disarmed and then enlarged what would happen when you pick up your weapon? You are no longer carrying or wearing it.

The spell ONLY effects what you are carrying or wielding at the time the spell takes effect. Anything you grab afterwards does not change size. Anything you drop or otherwise separate from your person reverts to normal size and does not "regrow" when you pick it up again.

Shadow Lodge

RedDogMT wrote:
Brian Lefebvre wrote:
So you can't rely on the chronicle sheet access to bypass fame limits for size large items most of the time.

It looks like that trait has no bearing on the purchasing of the weapon.

However, the passage under 'Spoils of War' nosig is referring to has a contradiction (note the portions in bold):
PCs can always buy weapons and equipment off their Chronicle sheets and the approved equipment lists for their size so long as their size is Small or Medium. Thus, if a Chronicle sheet offers a Small PC the opportunity to purchase a +1 frost longsword, she can always buy the +1 frost longsword at size Small. Items found while playing the scenario, however, are the size they are when they’re found. The size can only be adjusted up or down after the scenario is over, while the PCs are buying new gear. PCs purchasing equipment at sizes other than Small and Medium must adjust the prices per the existing weapon size rules (Core Rulebook 144).

It would stand to reason that players can purchase large items.

I've always thought that that passage meant that you can purchase small and medium versions of equipment at the price listed on the chronicle, but that you needed to adjust the price accordingly for other sizes; meaning YES, you can purchase it as a large weapon, but you need to adjust the price.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Enlarge Person and equipment dropped on the ground All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions