Self targetted Channel Energy?


Rules Questions


Simple question, does channel energy affect the cleric using it? The reaosn I ask is that if it does, good clerics heal themselves or harm undead, and evil clerics heal undead or -hurt- themselves, and it seems a little counterproductive for evil clerics to be a little gimped by an ability with a drawback compared to good clerics. If it doesn't affect the cleric using it then it equally benefits both. So which is it?


Theomniadept wrote:
does channel energy affect the cleric using it?

Channel Energy (Su): "A cleric can choose whether or not to include herself in this effect."


It states in the rules that a cleric can choose to include him/herself in the channel. If an evil cleric is an undead, and chooses to use harm on living creatures, it would be healing itself at the same time it is harming living creatures, so it is balanced.

Silver Crusade

PRD wrote:

Channel Energy (Su): Regardless of alignment, any cleric can release a wave of energy by channeling the power of her faith through her holy (or unholy) symbol. This energy can be used to cause or heal damage, depending on the type of energy channeled and the creatures targeted.

A good cleric (or one who worships a good deity) channels positive energy and can choose to deal damage to undead creatures or to heal living creatures. An evil cleric (or one who worships an evil deity) channels negative energy and can choose to deal damage to living creatures or to heal undead creatures. A neutral cleric who worships a neutral deity (or one who is not devoted to a particular deity) must choose whether she channels positive or negative energy. Once this choice is made, it cannot be reversed. This decision also determines whether the cleric casts spontaneous cure or inflict spells (see spontaneous casting).

Channeling energy causes a burst that affects all creatures of one type (either undead or living) in a 30-foot radius centered on the cleric. The amount of damage dealt or healed is equal to 1d6 points of damage plus 1d6 points of damage for every two cleric levels beyond 1st (2d6 at 3rd, 3d6 at 5th, and so on). Creatures that take damage from channeled energy receive a Will save to halve the damage. The DC of this save is equal to 10 + 1/2 the cleric's level + the cleric's Charisma modifier. Creatures healed by channeled energy cannot exceed their maximum hit point total—all excess healing is lost. A cleric may channel energy a number of times per day equal to 3 + her Charisma modifier. This is a standard action that does not provoke an attack of opportunity. A cleric can choose whether or not to include herself in this effect. A cleric must be able to present her holy symbol to use this ability.

Second to last line.


Dakota_Strider wrote:
If an evil cleric is an undead, and chooses to use harm on living creatures, it would be healing itself at the same time it is harming living creatures, so it is balanced.

Channel Energy (Su): "Channeling energy causes a burst that affects all creatures of one type (either undead or living) in a 30-foot radius centered on the cleric."

An undead cleric is not living, so it would not be affected if it chooses to target living creatures.


Grick wrote:
Dakota_Strider wrote:
If an evil cleric is an undead, and chooses to use harm on living creatures, it would be healing itself at the same time it is harming living creatures, so it is balanced.

Channel Energy (Su): "Channeling energy causes a burst that affects all creatures of one type (either undead or living) in a 30-foot radius centered on the cleric."

An undead cleric is not living, so it would not be affected if it chooses to target living creatures.

Ahh, so they have gimped that a bit. Having yet to play a cleric, or any other divine channeller in PF, I thought I had a good enough understanding of the current rules. Missed or forgot about the "either" clause. A bit different than older versions of the game when positive or negative energy affected all within it based on whether it was living or dead.


Okay that second to last line clears it up, that makes it much easier.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Self targetted Channel Energy? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.