CLW wand and 1st level ranger / paladin


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

Is this correct? I got this from post last year on who can use a wand.

So a wand of CLW can be used by alchemists, bards, clerics, oracles, druids, inquisitors, paladins, rangers, and witches. This is REGARDLESS of the character's level in one of those classes, their ability scores, their known or prepared spells, or any similar issue.

Sovereign Court

That would be correct. Wands are very versatile. There is an exception here or there if for example a Paladin takes the archetype that gives up spell casting or something similar but otherwise most can use that wand at 1st level.

Shadow Lodge

Morgen wrote:
That would be correct. Wands are very versatile. There is an exception here or there if for example a Paladin takes the archetype that gives up spell casting or something similar but otherwise most can use that wand at 1st level.

Thanks for the info.


Relevant text:

d20pfsrd.com wrote:
Spell trigger items can be used by anyone whose class can cast the corresponding spell. This is the case even for a character who can't actually cast spells, such as a 3rd-level paladin.

Emphasis mine. :)


I think this has been officially changed.... Paladins and such have a ZERO level caster level until fourth and therefore cannot use wands.


Argen wrote:
I think this has been officially changed....

Changed where? The relevant text is still listed under Spell Trigger, and the PRD is automatically updated when errata is released.

Argen wrote:
Paladins and such have a ZERO level caster level until fourth and therefore cannot use wands.

They don't need to have a caster level, just a level in a class that can cast the corresponding spell.


Argen wrote:
I think this has been officially changed.... Paladins and such have a ZERO level caster level until fourth and therefore cannot use wands.

Not quite, but you're close.

You're most likely thinking of this post by Jason Bulmahn. This was explaining that Paladins and such can't use scrolls before level 4 because they don't have a caster level. This wasn't a change though, it was just clarifying the rules.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / CLW wand and 1st level ranger / paladin All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions