Spell Storing armor


Rules Questions


My question is not "swift action", I am assuming that if hit, then the armor goes off. My question is the touch spells: I have an inquisitor. Doesn't seem to be a good selection of spells for this item. I can only store inflict spells? I wanted Retribution but it has a close range? Can I store Righteous vigor and have it go off on me? Or does the enemy now tear me up because I just buffed Him? Thanks for the clarification.


Quote:

DESCRIPTION

This armor allows a spellcaster to store a single touch spell of up to 3rd level in it. Anytime a creature hits the wearer with a melee attack or melee touch attack, the armor can cast the spell on that creature as a swift action if the wearer desires. Once the spell has been cast from the armor, a spellcaster can cast any other targeted touch spell of up to 3rd level into it. The armor magically imparts to the wielder the name of the spell currently stored within it. A randomly rolled suit of spell storing armor has a 50% chance to have a spell stored in it already. Spell storing armor emits a strong aura of the evocation school, plus the aura of the stored spell.

Only targeted touch spells so no Retribution

The spell is cast on "that creature" being the creature that "hits the wearer" so if you store Righteous Vigor then yes it goes off on your enemy

Also, YOU don't have to be the one that cast the spell into the armor...if you happen to have another caster in the party they can use up one of their spells if you ask nicely lol

EDIT: I actually used spell-storing daggers before when we had a sorcerer in the group...at the end of our day I would see how many spells she had left and then she charged my 2 daggers with whatever spells I wanted before she slept. They weren't my main weapons...they came in handy a few times especially since they were loot off a "boss" we fought so I didn't have to pay for them lol


Nope not much on the inqusitors list that can be used..

But if you have an arcane caster...
Frigid Touch (arcane) is nice makes target staggered. So i guess it would cancel a full attack...

Ill Omen also nice, makes it harder to hit you again, perhaps setting him up for a SoS spell.

Or empowered/maximized/intenficied shocking grasp (if your lucky enough to have that kind of spells in the party...)

I'll have to settle for a frigid touch..

Grand Lodge

Here's an interesting thought: cast a cure spell into the armor. The spell is only cast if the wearer desires. So now there's a freebie cure spell out there if someone just reaches out and touches you. If it's an ally, and you want them to get the healing, they get healed. If it's an undead, and you want them to get wrecked, they get wrecked.

It's an interesting mechanic I'm planning to use with the cleric I have coming up.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

1) Most likely, they intended to say "immediate action".

Swift action would only be usable during your turn to respond to Attacks of Opportunities scored against you.

You are aware of this topic, and that it has been discussed in the past.

2) You can od inflict, yes.

3) You can't have the armor hit you unless you attack yourself with a melee or touch attack (and deal damage).

Grand Lodge

James Risner wrote:

1) Most likely, they intended to say "immediate action".

Swift action would only be usable during your turn to respond to Attacks of Opportunities scored against you.

You are aware of this topic, and that it has been discussed in the past.

2) You can od inflict, yes.

3) You can't have the armor hit you unless you attack yourself with a melee or touch attack (and deal damage).

Um, what?

1) yes, it would almost have to be an immediate action. I don't think that's in question.

2) Where do you read that you can only do inflict? (I assume "od" is an acronym for only do, because that's what the OP asked about.) The armor only casts the spell if the wearer wishes. So there's absolutely no reason it has to discharge. If you cast a beneficial spell, it doesn't do anything to your enemies unless you just want it to.

3) It only says they have to hit you with a melee attack or melee touch attack. It does not say they have to do damage. If I have inflict serious in my armor and my opponent hits me with a touch of madness attack, I absolutely want them to take the inflict spell, even though they didn't do any damage. Otherwise, my spell would go off the moment my cleric cast a cure spell on me.

I see no reason you couldn't touch your own armor and get the spell cast on you.


Quote:
2) Where do you read that you can only do inflict? (I assume "od" is an acronym for only do, because that's what the OP asked about.) The armor only casts the spell if the wearer wishes. So there's absolutely no reason it has to discharge. If you cast a beneficial spell, it doesn't do anything to your enemies unless you just want it to.

More likely, it is a miss-typed "do".

Grand Lodge

Jeraa wrote:
More likely, it is a miss-typed "do".

Fair. I agree that you can cast inflict spells. I just see no reason you must.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

tchrman35 wrote:

2) Where do you read that you can only do inflict?

3) It only says they have to hit you with a melee attack or melee touch attack.

I see no reason you couldn't touch your own armor and get the spell cast on you.

2) od = do. Typo

3) Ignore damage, so long as someone rolls a d20 and hits your melee or touch AC, the armor can discharge. If the someone is you, you still need to roll a touch vs your AC.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Why do you have to hit your own AC? Are you trying to dodge yourself? How would you miss?


@ OZY: My guess is because in order for the spell to trigger, you must be hit with a melee or melee touch attack in order for the armor to take the action.

I can see how it makes sense, but the way I see it, you automatically touch yourself anyway, but you would have to spend an attack to do so. (This is why Iterative Attacks are awesome.)


Sure, you certainly don't get to do it as a free action.

Grand Lodge

_Ozy_ wrote:
Sure, you certainly don't get to do it as a free action.

Then I think we've come to a place of agreement. RAW, there's no exception to its being a standard action to deliver just because it's you. So it will take a standard action to touch your armor. But you do not have to roll, and you can consider it an automatic success.

And since I don't have to make a roll to touch an ally, an ally could spend a standard action to come touch my armor and receive whatever spell was in it (though I would get the chance to allow or disallow the discharge of the spell.)

Shadow Lodge

I like putting Force Punch into it.

There's some really awesome 4th level spells for it, but it can only take up to 3rd.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Actually, I'm not entirely sold on requiring an attack. You would have to burn a Standard Action or an iterative attack or haste attack or something, to touch yourself.


My personal favorite spell to place inside spell storing armor is Frigid Touch. It will completely ruin an opponent's full attack sequence, assuming they are susceptible to cold damage.


@ James: To be fair, when the spell is cast, you can touch one target as a Free Action in the same round. Unfortunately, the Spell Storing property doesn't follow those rules.

Zenogu wrote:
My personal favorite spell to place inside spell storing armor is Frigid Touch. It will completely ruin an opponent's full attack sequence, assuming they are susceptible to cold damage.

Thanks for the Frigid Touch spell reference, I didn't know Druids got a spell like that.

Man, the fact that there is no save and it happens right then and there is hilarious, and almost worth not getting a scaling damage dealing effect.

**EDIT** Frostbite is also another great one, if you're planning to fight a Barbarian.


As a slightly related question, if I had a +1 Spell Storing armor with a Frigid Touch spell applied, and I Wildshaped as a Druid, would I be able to activate the Spell Storing property on the armor?


Only if your armour was a +1 Spell Storing Wild Armor.

Only armors with the "Wild" ability can be used in wildshape.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
@ James: To be fair, when the spell is cast

Which isn't what is happening here. The spell storing armor is triggering the cast from an attack made against the wearer.

Dr Styx wrote:

Only if your armour was a +1 Spell Storing Wild Armor.

Only armors with the "Wild" ability can be used in wildshape.

+1


James Risner wrote:
Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
@ James: To be fair, when the spell is cast
Which isn't what is happening here. The spell storing armor is triggering the cast from an attack made against the wearer.

I said that in the same post:

Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
Unfortunately, the Spell Storing property doesn't follow those rules.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32, 2010 Top 8

I always kept bestow curse in Ksenia's armor as an anti-grapple bit. "Oh you wanted to grapple me? Here, have a free '50% chance to do nothing." wih a DC 20 save.'

Being a witch, grappling isn't *as* dangerous as it is for a wizard/arcanist (hello hexes) but the "can't maintain a grapple" effect is worth it.

Grand Lodge

Darksol wrote:
Thanks for the Frigid Touch spell reference, I didn't know Druids got a spell like that.

Do you suppose your armor would "glow with a pale blue radiance"?


Matthew Morris wrote:

I always kept bestow curse in Ksenia's armor as an anti-grapple bit. "Oh you wanted to grapple me? Here, have a free '50% chance to do nothing." wih a DC 20 save.'

Being a witch, grappling isn't *as* dangerous as it is for a wizard/arcanist (hello hexes) but the "can't maintain a grapple" effect is worth it.

Oh man, that's funny.

Grand Lodge

You do get a free action touch attack when you cast a touch spell, so you could use hte armro to double up on touch buffs. Store Cat's Grace, then cast Bull's Strength on yourself and get both with one action.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Markov Spiked Chain wrote:
You do get a free action touch attack when you cast a touch spell, so you could use hte armro to double up on touch buffs. Store Cat's Grace, then cast Bull's Strength on yourself and get both with one action.

I like this, I think I'll use it.


^^^ nifty tactic, I like.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell Storing armor All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.