
Some Random Dood |

1. When a lv 10+ beastmorph alchemist uses a (feral) mutagen, he can gain the trip ability. My question is, does the trip ability only apply to one natural attack or all of them?
2. With the trip ability, if you take your free trip attempt and fail, do you fall prone?
3. Would this combo be possible? Amplify Elixir -> Alchemical Allocation -> Enhance Potion -> Potion of Barkskin = +6 enhancement bonus to natural armor, assuming a caster lv of 9+.
4. If an alchemist is grappled, would he need to make a concentration check to use an extract?

Bertious |

I'll have a go at answering can't say if i get them right however just my opinion.
1. I would say the trip ability functions as the creature you take it from so if you added some wolf it's the bite ect.
2. Nope!
3. I'd say no as barkskin doesn't have a variable numeric effect (variable effect would be 1d4 of something).
4. I would say no as it's the same action as drinking a potion however it would provoke an AoO which could be used to disarm it or sunder it.

Some Random Dood |

I'll have a go at answering can't say if i get them right however just my opinion.
1. I would say the trip ability functions as the creature you take it from so if you added some wolf it's the bite ect.
2. Nope!
3. I'd say no as barkskin doesn't have a variable numeric effect (variable effect would be 1d4 of something).
4. I would say no as it's the same action as drinking a potion however it would provoke an AoO which could be used to disarm it or sunder it.
Thank you for your answers.
1. The problem with that is the alchemist doesn't take the ability from any specific creature. They gain it from using their mutagen. My first thought would be that you gain the free trip with each natural attack, but that sounds overpowered, so I'm not sure.
3. Makes sense, but I would like to hear other opinions before doing anything.
4. I can see your point, just as well as I can see the other sides. Casting a spell in that situation would require a concentration check, but an extract is "cast" by drinking it like you would a potion. The alchemist is full of exceptions isn't it?

Bertious |

They were not joking when they called it the ADVANCED players guide :)
1. To make my thought process clearer the beastmorph ability mimics the beastshape spells therefore i figured that you are gaining actual abilities from animals (making you some kind of mongral beast) so if you take trip you are taking it from one of the animals that has it and therefore use that animal's rules for it.
3. Amplify Elixir is basicly Empower for Alchemists and i just used the rules for Empower.
4. That was my best guess as i have nothing more than thats how i'd hand it to go by :)

MurphysParadox |

1. Trip (special modifier for attacks) says - "A creature with the trip special attack can attempt to trip its opponent as a free action without provoking an attack of opportunity if it hits with the specified attack." So you must specify the attack which has the trip modifier; it does not exist for all attacks. This one is a bit hazy and is really up to your GM. I'd say it is the bite because that is the usual case for trip, but that's just me.
3. Amplify says - "For the duration of this extract, any potion or elixir you consume is treated as if it were empowered. Increase all variable numeric effects of the potion or elixir by half. If the potion or elixir does not have any variable numeric effects, it is instead treated as if it were extended (double the duration of the potion or elixir)." Empower Spell says - "All variable, numeric effects of an empowered spell are increased by half including bonuses to those dice rolls." Since barkskin has no variable numeric effects (no dice rolled), it will not boost the total bonus.
Doing what you described, at CL 9, will give you a +4 barkskin bonus that lasts 180 minutes (twice as long). And a potion of barkskin with some backwash from spitting it back into the bottle (dude, that's gross).
4. The Alchemist description says "An extract is 'cast' by drinking it, as if imbibing a potion". A created extract is a potion when consumed. The Alchemist casts his spell when making the extract but consuming it is no different than drinking a potion, so follow the rules for drinking potions while grappled. I would say he can't really make a new extract while grappled.

Some Random Dood |

1. Trip (special modifier for attacks) says - "A creature with the trip special attack can attempt to trip its opponent as a free action without provoking an attack of opportunity if it hits with the specified attack." So you must specify the attack which has the trip modifier; it does not exist for all attacks. This one is a bit hazy and is really up to your GM. I'd say it is the bite because that is the usual case for trip, but that's just me.
3. Amplify says - "For the duration of this extract, any potion or elixir you consume is treated as if it were empowered. Increase all variable numeric effects of the potion or elixir by half. If the potion or elixir does not have any variable numeric effects, it is instead treated as if it were extended (double the duration of the potion or elixir)." Empower Spell says - "All variable, numeric effects of an empowered spell are increased by half including bonuses to those dice rolls." Since barkskin has no variable numeric effects (no dice rolled), it will not boost the total bonus.
Doing what you described, at CL 9, will give you a +4 barkskin bonus that lasts 180 minutes (twice as long). And a potion of barkskin with some backwash from spitting it back into the bottle (dude, that's gross).
4. The Alchemist description says "An extract is 'cast' by drinking it, as if imbibing a potion". A created extract is a potion when consumed. The Alchemist casts his spell when making the extract but consuming it is no different than drinking a potion, so follow the rules for drinking potions while grappled. I would say he can't really make a new extract while grappled.
Thank you for the help.
1. So the trip is only applied to one natural attack (possibly of my choice), but for simplicity I'll just go with the bite.
4. Agreed, you can not make an extract while grappled, but you should be able to use one you had already created.

Some Random Dood |

I have one more question, so figured I would post it here instead of make a new topic about it.
When you use a potion of greater magic fang, and choose to gain a +1 to all natural and unarmed attacks, does it only give the bonus to any natural attacks you have when you drank the potion? Or would it be to any natural attack you may have for the duration of the spell?
Example being, alchemist uses potion of greater magic fang, chooses +1 to all natural attacks, but has no natural attacks at the time they used the potion. Later on uses mutagen to gain 3 natural attacks, would those 3 natural attacks gain the benefit from greater magic fang?
Alternatively, you may imbue all of the creature's natural weapons with a +1 enhancement bonus (regardless of your caster level).

MurphysParadox |

Eh... that's touchy. Magic fang says it gives one natural attack of the subject. If you use it before you take the feral mutagen, you don't actually have any natural attacks so the spell has nothing to affect.
So, by RAW it would fail if you drank the Magic Fang extract before the Mutagen but I think that's being pedantic. Really is a GM's choice.
As for your question 4 from above - drinking an extract while grappled follows the exact same rules for drinking a potion while grappled (whatever those are, heh).

![]() |

I have one more question, so figured I would post it here instead of make a new topic about it.
When you use a potion of greater magic fang, and choose to gain a +1 to all natural and unarmed attacks, does it only give the bonus to any natural attacks you have when you drank the potion? Or would it be to any natural attack you may have for the duration of the spell?
Example being, alchemist uses potion of greater magic fang, chooses +1 to all natural attacks, but has no natural attacks at the time they used the potion. Later on uses mutagen to gain 3 natural attacks, would those 3 natural attacks gain the benefit from greater magic fang?
** spoiler omitted **
** spoiler omitted **
I just want to make you aware that what I highlighted in your comments is wrong. You get a +1 to ONE natural attack. So if you have claws, a bite and a tail then you would need 4 of those extracts.
Its why an amulet of mighty fists is the solution to making undarmed strikes and natural attacks better.

![]() |

Some Random Dood wrote:I have one more question, so figured I would post it here instead of make a new topic about it.
When you use a potion of greater magic fang, and choose to gain a +1 to all natural and unarmed attacks, does it only give the bonus to any natural attacks you have when you drank the potion? Or would it be to any natural attack you may have for the duration of the spell?
Example being, alchemist uses potion of greater magic fang, chooses +1 to all natural attacks, but has no natural attacks at the time they used the potion. Later on uses mutagen to gain 3 natural attacks, would those 3 natural attacks gain the benefit from greater magic fang?
** spoiler omitted **
** spoiler omitted **
I just want to make you aware that what I highlighted in your comments is wrong. You get a +1 to ONE natural attack. So if you have claws, a bite and a tail then you would need 4 of those extracts.
Its why an amulet of mighty fists is the solution to making undarmed strikes and natural attacks better.
You are confusing Magic Fang, and Greater Magic Fang.

Gignere |
Some Random Dood wrote:I have one more question, so figured I would post it here instead of make a new topic about it.
When you use a potion of greater magic fang, and choose to gain a +1 to all natural and unarmed attacks, does it only give the bonus to any natural attacks you have when you drank the potion? Or would it be to any natural attack you may have for the duration of the spell?
Example being, alchemist uses potion of greater magic fang, chooses +1 to all natural attacks, but has no natural attacks at the time they used the potion. Later on uses mutagen to gain 3 natural attacks, would those 3 natural attacks gain the benefit from greater magic fang?
** spoiler omitted **
** spoiler omitted **
I just want to make you aware that what I highlighted in your comments is wrong. You get a +1 to ONE natural attack. So if you have claws, a bite and a tail then you would need 4 of those extracts.
Its why an amulet of mighty fists is the solution to making undarmed strikes and natural attacks better.
No what he posted is correct, he is posting about greater magic fang not magic fang. GMF has 2 options, 1 is to enchant 1 natural attack for + x enhancement bonus x is dependent on the caster level, the other option GMF offers is to enchant all natural weapons for a +1 enhancement bonus.