Magic Jar vs. an Outsider


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Question came up tonight during our game.

Can an Outsider specifically an Elemental be the target of a Magic Jar spell?

The outsider trait that prevents using resurrection seemingly implies that you cannot separate the soul from the body of an outsider without destroying it.

How would you rule this.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I would rule that it works. Magic jar's target line says "one creature" without regard for type. It's also simpler to "gloss over" the intricacies and allow the players to have their fun (or the NPCs to do what I want)--particularly if nobody currently involved in the spell's use is asking about said intricacies in the first place.


There's a fiend that has it as a SLA, isn't there?

Sczarni

Definition of outsider: "Unlike most living creatures, an outsider does not have a dual nature—its soul and body form one unit. When an
outsider is slain, no soul is set loose. Spells that restore
souls to their bodies, such as raise dead, reincarnate, and
resurrection, don’t work on an outsider. It takes a different
magical effect, such as limited wish, wish, miracle, or true
resurrection to restore it to life."

so I'd have to say no...Majic jar would work, but it would put the entire elemental into the jar (and then it would break free). Or something even more fun like you capture your own soul and the elemental in the jar... if the two can't be seperated (no dual nature, an outsider is a soul)... 5th lvl spell =/= wish


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Thanks for proving that the RAW's list of spells that work differently with outsiders is a definitive one, maouse.


maouse wrote:

Definition of outsider: "Unlike most living creatures, an outsider does not have a dual nature—its soul and body form one unit. When an

outsider is slain, no soul is set loose. Spells that restore
souls to their bodies, such as raise dead, reincarnate, and
resurrection, don’t work on an outsider. It takes a different
magical effect, such as limited wish, wish, miracle, or true
resurrection to restore it to life."

so I'd have to say no...Majic jar would work, but it would put the entire elemental into the jar (and then it would break free). Or something even more fun like you capture your own soul and the elemental in the jar... if the two can't be separated (no dual nature, an outsider is a soul)... 5th lvl spell =/= wish

This is what I basically ended up going with, mainly because the amount of ridiculous the other scenario ended up with.

11th level Wizard Magic Jarred a Greater Water elemental...which has a grand total of +4 will save in other words it was no contest.

My basic ruling is if its an outsider it can't be the target of a magic jar spell unless it cast the spell itself or in some other way shows the Dual nature of a separate soul and body.


James Jacobs opinion on the subject

Found the whole soul/body thing for outsiders a little confusing, and came across this nugget on a quick google.


Sekret_One wrote:

James Jacobs opinion on the subject

Found the whole soul/body thing for outsiders a little confusing, and came across this nugget on a quick google.

So the answer is yes. You can magic jar just about anything.

Dark Archive

I know I'm necroing this thread, but don't devils and demons who use possession NOT leave an unconscious body laying about?


maouse33 wrote:
I know I'm necroing this thread, but don't devils and demons who use possession NOT leave an unconscious body laying about?

That's why paizo came out with the spell Possession and they strongly encourage DMs replace magic jar with possession in cases where the wording of magic jar doesn't really make sense for the ability (such as when devils and demons possess other creatures)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magic Jar vs. an Outsider All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.