Witch's Hex?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I can't find anything to suggest that the Witch's Hex ability has a limited number of uses per day. Is that right?


Mercurial wrote:
I can't find anything to suggest that the Witch's Hex ability has a limited number of uses per day. Is that right?

Correct. Many of them can't be used on the same creature more than once per day, though.


Grick wrote:
Mercurial wrote:
I can't find anything to suggest that the Witch's Hex ability has a limited number of uses per day. Is that right?

Correct. Many of them can't be used on the same creature more than once per day, though.

Nice. Thanks again.


Depends on the hex. It should be in the description of the hex.

Scarab Sages

And to answer the follow on question before it is asked; when a hex has a "can't be used again on that target within 24 hours" restriction it only applies to that particular witch using that hex, not to other witches using the same named hex.

FAQ

Dark Archive

Sapphire Onion wrote:

And to answer the follow on question before it is asked; when a hex has a "can't be used again on that target within 24 hours" restriction it only applies to that particular witch using that hex, not to other witches using the same named hex.

FAQ

I had a group that had 2 witches in it. It was amazing the amount of healing and buffing they did for the party! Everyone had a lot of fun.


Dawn Reed-Burton wrote:
Sapphire Onion wrote:

And to answer the follow on question before it is asked; when a hex has a "can't be used again on that target within 24 hours" restriction it only applies to that particular witch using that hex, not to other witches using the same named hex.

FAQ

I had a group that had 2 witches in it. It was amazing the amount of healing and buffing they did for the party! Everyone had a lot of fun.

I have to ask, were you able to use the coven hex effectively? So far I have only seen one person use that hex, and they did it through leadership. Having actual players form a coven is something I want to try next time I am a witch.


Good day, I have a question about Witch Hexes. Since it wasn't clear in the manual, I looked it up on Reddit. There, they comment that Hexes, not being spells but rather supernatural abilities of the Witch, do not require verbalization, gestures, or anything at all. That's not the point; the point that intrigues me is, according to what I've read, that the creature makes its Will saving throw to resist the hex. If it fails, it suffers the effect. If it succeeds, it suffers nothing. In both cases, there is no obvious magical manifestation, so the creature probably won't know it has been targeted by a special ability, unless a character with great knowledge of magic or witchcraft recognizes it. Is this correct? I looked it up elsewhere, and more or less they say the same. Let me know. Thanks.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

"Succeeding on a Saving Throw: A creature that successfully saves against a spell that has no obvious physical effects feels a hostile force or a tingle, but cannot deduce the exact nature of the attack." CRB pg. 216

It says spell but that part of the rules applies to all effects.

Spymaster's Handbook contains optional rules on using knowledge to identify class features, look here under "Recall Intrigues".


PF1 Common Terms you can scroll down to Supernatural Abilities. Which directs you to the ability (in Witch class).

Witch says "Unless otherwise noted, using a hex is a standard action that does not provoke an attack of opportunity. The save to resist a hex is equal to 10 + 1/2 the witch's level + the witch's Intelligence modifier."
Each hex has a description. see Witch Hexes.
With hexes having saves, most targets will know something is up on a successful save.
A touch attack is an attack so observers know. Evil Eye(Su) is pretty circumspect but looking at someone for a standard action is likely noticeable. You might want to tell the target of Fortune(Su) hex.

the "tingle" part is Magic Rules Succeeding on a Saving Throw. Scroll down to Special Abilities then Supernatural Abilities.

Conceal Spell feat covers casting spells and spell-like abilities(SLAs).

and finally Spellcasting Manifestations derived from Spellcraft CRB FAQ which implies it is universal for Game Balance (this prevents spellcasters that use spell-like abilities, psychic magic, and the like from running completely amok against non-spellcasters in a non-combat situation). How far "and the like" goes is going to be up to your GM and group.

Liberty's Edge

Note that the Cackle hex requires the Witch to cackle.

FAQ wrote:

Witch, Cackle Hex: Does my character literally have to cackle madly when I use this hex, or is that just flavor text?

Your character actually has to cackle—probably in a strong voice, akin to the volume and clarity necessary for verbal spell components.

Edit 7/19/13:
If the witch is in a silence effect, she can't use the cackle hex.
If the target is in a silence effect, it is unaffected by the cackle.
This may require some clarifying text in the next printing of the Advanced Player's Guide.
posted June 2013 | back to top

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Witch's Hex? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions