Weapon enhancement vs. DR


Rules Questions

Sczarni

I just want to clarify this before making a false ruling at my game!

On page 562 under weapon enhancement bonus equivalent are some numbers that bypas DR.

Do these number includes "addons" or we are talking only about the "+" value?

For exemple adamantine can be bypassed by a +4 or better. Does it means that only a +4 of something or better will work or a +2 flaming burst (+4 equivalent) would work?

Thanx in advance!

Dark Archive

No, just straight enhancement bonuses.


Only enhancement bonuses. Note that the spells Magic Weapon (and Greater) don't count for those purposes.


Would Bane:Construct add in? I feel like I have seen Bane: Construct used as an object breaker. Does +2 Bane: Construct function as a +4 for overcoming DR/Adamantine - say you wanted a sundering weapon.


Unless it says the bonus pluses don't count for that, then it counts.

But items don't have DR, they have hardness. Hardness isn't reduced by higher enhancement bonuses I don't think. So a +4 non-adamantine weapon still can't cut through objects as if it were adamantine.


Cheapy wrote:

Unless it says the bonus pluses don't count for that, then it counts.

But items don't have DR, they have hardness. Hardness isn't reduced by higher enhancement bonuses I don't think. So a +4 non-adamantine weapon still can't cut through objects as if it were adamantine.

You are right. Crossing properties.

Agree that the Bane: Construct would do extra damage when used to sunder?


The Bald Man wrote:
Agree that the Bane: Construct would do extra damage when used to sunder?

If the construct is an item held or worn by your opponent, and you Sunder that item, the bane damage would apply. You would still have to overcome hardness like normal.


Bane: Construct will not work for sundering. You can only sunder items (And a few creatures that specifically say you can sunder them). Constructs are creatures, not items. Items are objects, not constructs or creatures.

(Though there may be a rare few items that do count as constructs, or constructs that can be sundered, but I don't know of any.)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Weapon enhancement vs. DR All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.