DevotedKnight
|
DevotedKnight wrote:Can a wizard cast a cantrip at 0-level. This is important to determined to cost of an magic item.Um... wouldn't that effectively make it free?
That's why cantrips are treated as 1/2 level for computing costs when constructing, so there is actually a cost.
A 0-level spell is treated as 1/2 a 1st level spell, If I cast a 0-level spell at 0-level, I’m assuming that the caster level would be 1/2 a 1st level. But the lowest level you can cast a spell at is 1st level. This is determined by looking at wand creation. A 0-level wand is casts at 1st level, and then any item creation must be cast at 1st level.
Thank You for helping
| Cheapy |
DevotedKnight wrote:Can a wizard cast a cantrip at 0-level. This is important to determined to cost of an magic item.Only if he wants 0 effect. 0 level casting power is another way of saying 'not casting'.
Fighters cast all spells in the universe at 0 level casting power, for example.
Not true! Their caster level for Stab goes up. It's a fighter cantrip.
| Tacticslion |
Pathfinder RAW, there is no "0-level". Ergo, the answer is "no".
Pathfinder Homebrew, there is as much "0-level" as you'd like, and probably the best way to simulate it is to make it cost 1/2 of a 1st level caster, limit it to 0-level spells, and grant it only half the effect. So if something yielded 1d3 damage (like an acid splash) at first level, casting it at 0-level would instead yield only 1 damage (half of three, rounded down, as Pathfinder does, is one). Further, since you are a zero-level caster, it would use up your cantrip spell-slot for the day.
IF you're asking if a higher level could cast at a lower level, then, yes, of course, but I'd rule it that once you achieve a certain threshold (probably even first level), it would no longer be possible: kind of like how kids can often squirm and twist their way into ridiculous forms, while adults would have some serious problems trying to do so.