Claws and weapon drop.


Rules Questions

151 to 200 of 212 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>

blackbloodtroll wrote:
There is no "extra" attack, a 1st level changeling with the adopted/tusked trait can attack with x2 boot blades, two claws, and a bite, all within the rules. That's five attacks, at first level, with no cheesing it in.

Right, that's fine, but now you can't move worth a lick because your blade boots are extended.


Stynkk wrote:
blackbloodtroll wrote:
There is no "extra" attack, a 1st level changeling with the adopted/tusked trait can attack with x2 boot blades, two claws, and a bite, all within the rules. That's five attacks, at first level, with no cheesing it in.
Right, that's fine, but now you can't move worth a lick because your blade boots are extended.

which is still less hindering than dropping your weapons.

At this rate I'm waiting on foot claws to show back up.


blackbloodtroll wrote:

I see if you try take it to the next level, and hand swap a weapon, instead of drop it, you can get high up there and ridiculous. The weapon drop I have advocated did not have this in mind. Seriously, this was not an overpowering "cheese" idea, and I am a bit hurt with constant flame throwing. There is no "extra" attack, a 1st level changeling with the adopted/tusked trait can attack with x2 boot blades, two claws, and a bite, all within the rules. That's five attacks, at first level, with no cheesing it in. There is no rule breaking. I am not saying I can wield a 10ft pole in my arse, just drop some weapons.

I say I found a 5 dollar bill, you keep telling me not to lie about winning the lottery.

Sean's point wasn't that you can't find ways to get extra attacks. His point is that you shouldn't search for loopholes or ambiguous wording to gain extra attacks with the same limb and/or weapon.

It is perfectly fine to have a bite attack along with your sword attack. Unless you wield the sword in your teeth anyway. If you want to swing your sword with your right hand, then you need to follow the rules as intended and written and not get an additional attack with that limb unless your Base Attack allows for it (or other feat/ability).

Sean also didn't say it was overpowering. He said it was cheesy. It is a bit cheesy. It does give you a bit more power. It may not be overpowered, at least in the example you gave.

Grand Lodge

4 people marked this as a favorite.

I suppose I can see that. The "you're a doody head" response really does nothing. I guess I expected more than that from a developer. I am not mad, but rather, a bit sad, and disappointed.


I would actually look at this situation from a different angle. The big limiter here (IMO) is the types of actions being used.

Getting more than one attack in a round requires a full-attack action requiring a full round action.
Dropping a weapon requires a free action.

So the question here is can you take a free action while performing a full round action or must you complete your full round action before being able to get your free(s)/swift action(s)?

so in regard to actions is it

swift + free(s) + full round
swift + full round + free(s)
full round + free(s) + swift
full round + swift + free(s)
free(s) + full round + swift
free(s) + swift + full round

To me I would not allow someone to take a separate action while they are performing another.


gourry187 wrote:

I would actually look at this situation from a different angle. The big limiter here (IMO) is the types of actions being used.

Getting more than one attack in a round requires a full-attack action requiring a full round action.
Dropping a weapon requires a free action.

So the question here is can you take a free action while performing a full round action or must you complete your full round action before being able to get your free(s)/swift action(s)?

so in regard to actions is it

swift + free(s) + full round
swift + full round + free(s)
full round + free(s) + swift
full round + swift + free(s)
free(s) + full round + swift
free(s) + swift + full round

To me I would not allow someone to take a separate action while they are performing another.

prd wrote:
Free Action: Free actions consume a very small amount of time and effort. You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally. However, there are reasonable limits on what you can really do for free, as decided by the GM.

You could of spent the time to actually look it up


Ravingdork wrote:
Sean K Reynolds wrote:

When someone says "can I get an extra attack if I attack with a weapon, drop the weapon, and then use that hand to make a claw attack or unarmed strike in the same round?," it's cheese, whether I'm looking at it from a high horse or not. It's either cheese because you're trying to get an extra attack in the round, or it's cheese because you're using a doubtful interpretation of a corner case in the rules to allow you to do something you wouldn't normally be able to do.

Can a level 1 character make two attacks per round with the sword in his right hand? No. Then why do you think you should that character should be able to make a sword attack, then drop the sword, then use that empty hand to make a claw attack or unarmed strike?

Can a level 1 character make two attacks per round using his right hand to make an unarmed strike? No. Then why do you think you should that character should be able to make a sword attack, then drop the sword, then use that empty hand to make an unarmed strike? In other words, why does dropping a weapon as a free action entitle the character to an extra attack with that very same limb?

It's the exact same "the rules may allow it, even though it really makes no sense" sort of exploiting that leads to the commoner railgun strategy.

It's cheese.

A 1st-level tengu using any weapon can have two attacks. A 2nd-level barbarian with the right rage powers can do so as well.

Actually a 1st-level anybody can with the right trait (though Adopted may not be available restricting that to Half-Orcs)

On the subject of limbs, has anybody here seen a creature with both a Gore and a Bite in it's Full Attack Routine? I seem to remember a few but they may have been 3.5 creatures.

Actually... here's one. the Catoblepas

Paizo Employee Senior Software Developer

I removed a couple posts. You are typing words on the internet about how best to play a game. Even if you're trying to be funny, wishes of bodily harm and calling specific people idiots because they disagree with you are way out of line.

Grand Lodge

Gary Teter wrote:
I removed a couple posts. You are typing words on the internet about how best to play a game. Even if you're trying to be funny, wishes of bodily harm and calling specific people idiots because they disagree with you are way out of line.

I thank you very much. This is a place for civil discussion.

Grand Lodge

the Catoblepas
There you go, a fine example. Note: it has no "special ability" allowing it to attack this way either. It just does.

Contributor

Ravingdork wrote:
A 1st-level tengu using any weapon can have two attacks. A 2nd-level barbarian with the right rage powers can do so as well. A 1st-level abyssal sorcerer can strike out with armor spikes or his blade boot as well as two claws.

For someone who nitpicks rules so much, you're having a problem reading what I typed.

Me: Can a level 1 character make two attacks per round with the sword in his right hand?

I'm not arguing that it's impossible to get multiple attacks per round at 1st level. I'm saying that you wouldn't let a 1st-level character attack with the sword in his right hand, and then make a second attack with that same sword in that same right hand. Yet, because of this free action drop loophole, the OP is suggesting that a character should be able to attack with the sword in his right hand, then drop that sword, then make another attack with that same right hand, whether a claw, unarmed strike, spiked gauntlet, whatever.

TLDR: If you can't right-hand-sword/right-hand-sword-again, and you can't right-hand-claw/right-hand-claw-again, the free-action-drop-so-my-hand-is-now-free loophole shouldn't allow you to right-hand-sword/right-hand-claw. And trying to interpret the wording of the rules to allow right-hand-sword/right-hand-claw is cheese.

Contributor

1 person marked this as a favorite.
blackbloodtroll wrote:

the Catoblepas

There you go, a fine example. Note: it has no "special ability" allowing it to attack this way either. It just does.

And there are many, many things that monsters can do that characters can't do. Monsters are not characters.


Sean K Reynolds wrote:
blackbloodtroll wrote:

the Catoblepas

There you go, a fine example. Note: it has no "special ability" allowing it to attack this way either. It just does.

And there are many, many things that monsters can do that characters can't do. Monsters are not characters.

And this one gores with antlers, bites with a mouth...two separate parts of the body making the attack.


gourry187 wrote:

So the question here is can you take a free action while performing a full round action or must you complete your full round action before being able to get your free(s)/swift action(s)?

To me I would not allow someone to take a separate action while they are performing another.

Before you make that blanket statement, I want to point out that nocking an arrow counts as a free action. I'd bet that all DMs here allow archers to nock more than one arrow during an full-round attack :)

Grand Lodge

Sean K Reynolds wrote:
blackbloodtroll wrote:

the Catoblepas

There you go, a fine example. Note: it has no "special ability" allowing it to attack this way either. It just does.

And there are many, many things that monsters can do that characters can't do. Monsters are not characters.

Okay, I get it. Take a look at what I thought I was able to do, and tell me it's overpowered, or gamebreaking, or whatever, but tell me how.

Contributor

I never said it was overpowered or gamebreaking. I said it was cheesy.

Grand Lodge

Well, it was not meant that way.

Grand Lodge

Could you attack with claws while wearing a cestus, but not using it?

Contributor

blackbloodtroll wrote:
Could you attack with claws while wearing a cestus, but not using it?

Considering that it "covers the wielder from mid-finger to mid-forearm" and "your fingers are mostly exposed," it looks to me like your claws (assuming they grow out of the ends of your fingers, rather than something weird like palm-claws or wrist-claws) should be available when wearing a cestus, so you could either claw with your claws or punch with the cestus.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Sean K Reynolds wrote:
blackbloodtroll wrote:
Could you attack with claws while wearing a cestus, but not using it?
Considering that it "covers the wielder from mid-finger to mid-forearm" and "your fingers are mostly exposed," it looks to me like your claws (assuming they grow out of the ends of your fingers, rather than something weird like palm-claws or wrist-claws) should be available when wearing a cestus, so you could either claw with your claws or punch with the cestus.

Now I want a splat book with PALM CLAAAWWWWSSS!!!

Grand Lodge

I think a new direction is in order, for the original concept. I like you when you are not so grumpy Sean. Not all of us are bad guys. Thank you for your response.


You might want to ask your DM before dropping the concept entirely. He might think it's cool enough to allow, even if it's not correct by the rules.

For what it's worth, I would probably allow the concept of a character who attacks once with his weapons, and then drops the weapons and only attack with claws for the rest of the encounter.

But, I would be worried about what the resident power-gamer in the group might cook up for the next campaign, armed with that information.


Sniggevert wrote:
Sean K Reynolds wrote:
blackbloodtroll wrote:

the Catoblepas

There you go, a fine example. Note: it has no "special ability" allowing it to attack this way either. It just does.

And there are many, many things that monsters can do that characters can't do. Monsters are not characters.

And this one gores with antlers, bites with a mouth...two separate parts of the body making the attack.

It's all the same head my friend.

RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Question for Sean, following up on a couple of posts above:

If a character has a bite attack and a gore attack (half orc trait or animal fury rage power, coupled with lesser fiend totem rage power), can he attack with both in the same round? Do horns and teeth count as seperate 'limbs' for the purposes of natural weapons?

The catoblepas suggests they can both be used, but as mentioned it might be an exception.


Something you said a page or so back bothers me:

blackbloodtroll said wrote:

It really is not extra attacks. I will explain. I have BAB of +6, I am wearing armor spikes, I have two claws. Attack goes like this:

Armor spikes, armor spikes, claw, claw.
I can do this again next turn too.
Now, with let's say, longsword, and dagger:
Longsword, dagger, (drop both), claw, claw.
Same amount of attacks, but now I have to pick up two weapons to repeat.
Why would this be wrong?

Reading this as a DM, as if one of my players proposed it, I would feel like they're trying to pull the wool over my eyes. My interpretation would lead me to the conclusion that you don't plan on picking up the weapons post-first round; and would in fact be planning on doing AS, AS, Claw, Claw for the rest of the encounter.

d20srd said wrote:
You can have spikes added to your armor, which allow you to deal extra piercing damage (see Table: Weapons) on a successful grapple attack. The spikes count as a martial weapon. If you are not proficient with them, you take a -4 penalty on grapple checks when you try to use them. You can also make a regular melee attack (or off-hand attack) with the spikes, and they count as a light weapon in this case. (You can’t also make an attack with armor spikes if you have already made an attack with another off-hand weapon, and vice versa.)

It would seem to me that you cannot use 2 armor spike attacks, as the first attack would be considered off hand if you used your claws at all, whether or not you used the claws first.

d20pfsrd said wrote:
Armor spikes deal extra piercing damage (see “spiked armor” on Table: Weapons) on a successful grapple attack. The spikes count as a martial weapon. If you are not proficient with them, you take a –4 penalty on grapple checks when you try to use them. You can also make a regular melee attack (or off-hand attack) with the spikes, and they count as a light weapon in this case. (You can't also make an attack with armor spikes if you have already made an attack with another off-hand weapon, and vice versa.) An enhancement bonus to a suit of armor does not improve the spikes' effectiveness, but the spikes can be made into magic weapons in their own right.

Second source seems to agree. So, this is not cheese, nor munchkin-ing. It is simply wrong, and impossible to accomplish what you say you want to do in the current mechanics. Again, as a DM, if one of my players proposed this, I would see through the thinly crafted veil of Role-playing, for the free extra attack optimization it really is, and show them gently that armor spikes don't work that way. Especially if one looks at how armor spikes are attached to armor.

Grand Lodge

You can attack with armor spikes in same way as would with a dagger, as sole weapon, or a primary weapon. Off hand only comes into play with two-weapon fighting, which is not being discussed, or referenced here.


blackbloodtroll wrote:
You can attack with armor spikes in same way as would with a dagger, as sole weapon, or a primary weapon. Off hand only comes into play with two-weapon fighting, which is not being discussed, or referenced here.

This is semantics, you're attempting to use the wording in the Bestiary entry to qualify that the 2 claws do not count as or suffer the penalty of TWF; so you can justify using 2 attacks with Armor Spikes, which would, by the way, take the TWF penalty, making the 2nd Armor Spike attack impossible. Beyond that, Armor Spikes are one weapon. So you cannot attack twice unless you have a +X/+X attack bonus. If you were to do that, every attack would suffer a -5, and your natural attacks would be considered secondary weapons, as you are now attacking with a manufactured weapon. You're running in circles.

Grand Lodge

If you are going to quote my post, read all of it. The example had a +6 BAB, that's two attacks.


kyrt-ryder wrote:
It's all the same head my friend.

Gore + Bite is an allowable combo by the rules, there are more than a few creatures with this combo. It seems to be the only exception to the one attack per limb.


blackbloodtroll wrote:
If you are going to quote my post, read all of it. The example had a +6 BAB, that's two attacks.

You're right, so a full attack action, (not counting weapons, which is something that should be figured out by your DM, as it is silly realistically, but *very* remotely possible mechanically) would grant you two armor attacks, at a +1/-4 (-5 for both assuming you do not have TWF) and a claw attack. Using both natural weapons would come at a +1 +1, -4 for an Armor Spike attack.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

youpeople wrote:
You're right, so a full attack action, (not counting weapons, which is something that should be figured out by your DM, as it is silly realistically, but *very* remotely possible mechanically) would grant you two armor attacks, at a +1/-4 (-5 for both assuming you do not have TWF) and a claw attack.

Forgive me, I'm late to the discussion, but where are you getting the -5? At first I assumed it had to do with adding the claw attack, but the "assuming you do not have TWF" bit (referring to the feat, or the mechanic?) made me unsure.

Dark Archive

Stynkk wrote:
kyrt-ryder wrote:
It's all the same head my friend.
Gore + Bite is an allowable combo by the rules, there are more than a few creatures with this combo. It seems to be the only exception to the one attack per limb.

Or the head is not considered a limb.


Andrew R wrote:
Hell wraith you could have cranked that far higher

The bestiary is correct. A dev stated it.

As for the damage I know I could have done better, but the point was to show the damage difference that martial weapons bring so I just made the an eidolon without giving the summoner any feats that would have improved the eidolon.

I figured doing that much better without trying, and with my first eidolon my point should get across.


Ravingdork wrote:


Several posters have already shown that this is no more cheesy or game-breaking than attacking with spiked gauntlets/armor spikes/blade boots and natural attacks (though I still wouldn't allow it as it is clearly not RAI or RAW).

I see people have been skipping my post. Ignoring them does not make them invalid.

Maybe I accidentally cast invisibility on them again.


Icyshadow wrote:
+1 to Ravingdork. Someone had to say that, and in retrospect I wonder why I didn't do it.

You and RD wearing the same blinders?

edit:fixed mistake


Jiggy wrote:
youpeople wrote:
You're right, so a full attack action, (not counting weapons, which is something that should be figured out by your DM, as it is silly realistically, but *very* remotely possible mechanically) would grant you two armor attacks, at a +1/-4 (-5 for both assuming you do not have TWF) and a claw attack.
Forgive me, I'm late to the discussion, but where are you getting the -5? At first I assumed it had to do with adding the claw attack, but the "assuming you do not have TWF" bit (referring to the feat, or the mechanic?) made me unsure.

My apologies, I misread my TWF feat scores, it is not a -5. Should be a -4/-8 since Armor Spikes are considered light. Again, assuming he has not taken TWF.


youpeople wrote:
blackbloodtroll wrote:
If you are going to quote my post, read all of it. The example had a +6 BAB, that's two attacks.
You're right, so a full attack action, (not counting weapons, which is something that should be figured out by your DM, as it is silly realistically, but *very* remotely possible mechanically) would grant you two armor attacks, at a +1/-4 (-5 for both assuming you do not have TWF) and a claw attack. Using both natural weapons would come at a +1 +1, -4 for an Armor Spike attack.

His original example was correct for a +6 BAB character with armor spikes and 2 claw attacks. His attacks would be:

+6/+1 armor spikes, +1 claw, +1 claw.

You're attacking the wrong example, as that one is perfectly legal by RAW. It's the other example, the one with longsword, drop longsword, then use claws, that is wrong by RAW.

Edit: He's not using TWF at all in either example. TWF-penalties don't come into play.


blackbloodtroll wrote:

I see if you try take it to the next level, and hand swap a weapon, instead of drop it, you can get high up there and ridiculous. The weapon drop I have advocated did not have this in mind. Seriously, this was not an overpowering "cheese" idea, and I am a bit hurt with constant flame throwing. There is no "extra" attack, a 1st level changeling with the adopted/tusked trait can attack with x2 boot blades, two claws, and a bite, all within the rules. That's five attacks, at first level, with no cheesing it in. There is no rule breaking. I am not saying I can wield a 10ft pole in my arse, just drop some weapons.

I say I found a 5 dollar bill, you keep telling me not to lie about winning the lottery.

Your interpretation of the rule-->a limb can be used as a natural attack and to weild a weapon in the same round, is what allowed the weapon swapping. It certainly does not deny it. SKR's and my interpretation shuts that nonsense down.

I will bold it this time-->Do you not understand that just because one person won't take advantage of a situation that it does not mean other people won't, and the rules are there to prevent that.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

youpeople wrote:
Jiggy wrote:
youpeople wrote:
You're right, so a full attack action, (not counting weapons, which is something that should be figured out by your DM, as it is silly realistically, but *very* remotely possible mechanically) would grant you two armor attacks, at a +1/-4 (-5 for both assuming you do not have TWF) and a claw attack.
Forgive me, I'm late to the discussion, but where are you getting the -5? At first I assumed it had to do with adding the claw attack, but the "assuming you do not have TWF" bit (referring to the feat, or the mechanic?) made me unsure.
My apologies, I misread my TWF feat scores, it is not a -5. Should be a -4/-8 since Armor Spikes are considered light. Again, assuming he has not taken TWF.

Okay, so adding natural attacks puts you into TWF territory then? I haven't had occasion to really read up on natural attacks, but I was under the impression they had their own rules/penalties. How sure are you on this? Or are you getting him into TWF some other way?

EDIT: Okay, looked up natural attacks in the Universal Monster Rules. I have no idea why you're applying TWF to this. There's nothing in there about modifying your weapon attacks when you also use natural attacks; just that you can't use a limb for both and that all natural attacks become "secondary".


youpeople wrote:


a full attack action... would grant you two armor attacks, at a +1/-4 (-5 for both assuming you do not have TWF) and a claw attack. Using both natural weapons would come at a +1 +1, -4 for an Armor Spike attack.

What do you mean, youpeople?

1. There are no TWF penalties. At all. He's not using TWF, it's irrelevant.
2. The armor spikes don't use an arm, so they don't prevent attacking with his second claw.

He would get armor spike at +6 (full-BAB normal attack), a second armor spike at +1 (second iterative attack at BAB-5), and two claws, both of which are at +1 (because they become secondary natural attacks, BAB-5 and half strength).

If, instead of armor spikes, he used a sword, he could get sword +6, sword +1, and one claw at +1 (& half str).

At no point does two-weapon fighting apply here.

RPG Superstar 2008 Top 32

Gary Teter wrote:
I removed a couple posts. You are typing words on the internet about how best to play a game. Even if you're trying to be funny, wishes of bodily harm and calling specific people idiots because they disagree with you are way out of line.

I removed a few more.


Jiggy wrote:
Okay, so adding natural attacks puts you into TWF territory then?

There's a very good chance he's referring to the incorrect fragment in the CRB which states your iterative attacks take TWF penalties when mixed with natural attacks.

It's been cited in this thread at least 3 times, and was a significant (if mistaken) part of the OP's argument for drop-claws.

To sum up:

The CRB erroneously states that you take TWF penalties when mixing iterative attacks (attacks via high BAB) with natural weapons. This is clarified in posts by James (cited earlier, and available at d20pfsrd.com) as a mistake, referring ONLY to the parts about TWF penalties.

This error does NOT apply to the rest of the paragraph, section, chapter, or book. The CRB rules about making an attack with a natural weapon and manufactured weapon on the same limb still apply.


Grick wrote:
youpeople wrote:


a full attack action... would grant you two armor attacks, at a +1/-4 (-5 for both assuming you do not have TWF) and a claw attack. Using both natural weapons would come at a +1 +1, -4 for an Armor Spike attack.

What do you mean, youpeople?

1. There are no TWF penalties. At all. He's not using TWF, it's irrelevant.
2. The armor spikes don't use an arm, so they don't prevent attacking with his second claw.

He would get armor spike at +6 (full-BAB normal attack, a second armor spike at +1 (second iterative attack at BAB-5), and two claws, both of which are at +1 (because they become secondary natural attacks, BAB-5 and half strength).

If, instead of armor spikes, he used a sword, he could get sword +6, sword +1, and one claw at +1 (& half str).

At no point does two-weapon fighting apply here.

You are correct, and I bow to your knowledge here.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Grick wrote:
Jiggy wrote:
Okay, so adding natural attacks puts you into TWF territory then?
There's a very good chance he's referring to the incorrect fragment in the CRB which states your iterative attacks take TWF penalties when mixed with natural attacks.

I saw no such reference in the UMR in the PRD. Where was it? Has it since been removed?


Jiggy wrote:
I saw no such reference in the UMR in the PRD. Where was it? Has it since been removed?

Yes, the line was removed in one of the CRB-erratas; I don't remember which one.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Are wrote:
Jiggy wrote:
I saw no such reference in the UMR in the PRD. Where was it? Has it since been removed?

Yes, the line was removed in one of the CRB-erratas; I don't remember which one.

Okay. So having now read the natural attack rules a couple of times (and already being familiar with weapon attacks), am I correct in understanding the question to be simply whether or not you can "re-use" an arm by using a weapon attack and then dropping the weapon to use a claw, producing the same final result as if you'd used a weapon that didn't use an arm? Based on the below rule?

PRD wrote:
Creatures with natural attacks and attacks made with weapons can use both as part of a full attack action (although often a creature must forgo one natural attack for each weapon clutched in that limb, be it a claw, tentacle, or slam).

So I'm guessing the contention is centered around either the word "often", or the fact that by the time the creature would use a claw attack, that limb is no longer "clutching" a weapon?

Is that where it stands?


Jiggy wrote:
I saw no such reference in the UMR in the PRD. Where was it? Has it since been removed?

The Universal Monster Rules are from the Bestiary. They are updated and correct. There is still incorrect text in the Core Rulebook, which is in conflict with the Bestiary.

What I'm talking about is here:

CRB - Combat chapter - Natural Attacks - Third paragraph, fourth through sixth sentences: "In addition, all of your attacks made with melee weapons and unarmed strikes are made as if you were two-weapon fighting. Your natural attacks are treated as light, off-hand weapons for determining the penalty to your other attacks. Feats such as Two-Weapon Fighting and Multiattack can reduce these penalties."

Why it's gone:

Check out This post by PathfinderEspañol and the reply from James Jacobs. Those lines were bolded in PFE's post, and are what James is talking about when he says "the bolded part of the post above is wrong."


Jiggy wrote:
Is that where it stands?

Yes. Well, except SKR has already said the proposed action doesn't work :)

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Grick wrote:
Jiggy wrote:
I saw no such reference in the UMR in the PRD. Where was it? Has it since been removed?

The Universal Monster Rules are from the Bestiary. They are updated and correct. There is still incorrect text in the Core Rulebook, which is in conflict with the Bestiary.

What I'm talking about is here:

CRB - Combat chapter - Natural Attacks - Third paragraph, fourth through sixth sentences: "In addition, all of your attacks made with melee weapons and unarmed strikes are made as if you were two-weapon fighting. Your natural attacks are treated as light, off-hand weapons for determining the penalty to your other attacks. Feats such as Two-Weapon Fighting and Multiattack can reduce these penalties."

Why it's gone:

Check out This post by PathfinderEspañol and the reply from James Jacobs. Those lines were bolded in PFE's post, and are what James is talking about when he says "the bolded part of the post above is wrong."

Hm... So that means that this...

Quote:
...so long as a different limb is used for each attack. For example, you cannot make a claw attack and also use that hand to make attacks with a longsword.

...is still in. Which means Drop-Claw doesn't work.

EDIT: And apparently SKR agrees. So, case closed, right?

Grand Lodge

Are wrote:
Jiggy wrote:
Is that where it stands?

Yes. Well, except SKR has already said the proposed action doesn't work :)

He said it shouldn't work, as he called it a loophole that he thought was "cheesy".

151 to 200 of 212 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Claws and weapon drop. All Messageboards