Arcane Bond and Spellbooks


Rules Questions


First from the PRD:

"A bonded object can be used once per day to cast any one spell that the wizard has in his spellbook and is capable of casting, even if the spell is not prepared. This spell is treated like any other spell cast by the wizard, including casting time, duration, and other effects dependent on the wizard's level. This spell cannot be modified by metamagic feats or other abilities. The bonded object cannot be used to cast spells from the wizard's opposition schools (see arcane school)."

Ok, if I understand this you don't have to open the spellbook to use this.

If for some reason you left your spellbook back at your secret lair, you can still cast any spell in it once per day.

But if someone destroys your spellbook you can't use your bonded object to cast that one spell a day?

What about if someone steals your spellbook, but it still exists? Is it still "your" spellbook?

It seems reasonable that any spells you know with spell mastery could be used with the arcane bond if you had no spellbook, but the RAW seems to say no.

Have I got this right?

Liberty's Edge

To me a bonded object allows a tie back to all the spell books the wizard has ever scribed, so long as they exist, even if they've been stolen, or are located at a distance. Its not the ownership that's important, but the fact that he spent the time, effort, and gold figuring out his own way of writing the spell.

Grand Lodge

I limit Arcane Bond recall to the last set of spellbooks that the wizard used to prepare his spells for the day. And only from his own personal book.


I go with shadowcat's definition.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
PRD wrote:
..even if the spell is not prepared. This spell is treated like any other spell cast by the wizard..

If he didn't have a spellbook with the spell in it when he prepared his spells that morning, he couldn't have prepared that spell and couldn't normally cast it.

It raises too many silly loopholes, some but not all of which you've mentioned, if "his spellbook" means some book he once touched, away in an arbitrary location, safe from the risks that he has to take to get all his other spells. I suggest "his spellbook" means what it customarily means for an adventuring wizard - the book that he's carrying with him.

He doesn't normally have to get out or read his spellbook to cast a spell, nor is this required with arcane bond.

sunbeam wrote:
It seems reasonable that any spells you know with spell mastery could be used with the arcane bond if you had no spellbook, but the RAW seems to say no.

I agree on both counts.


Starglim wrote:


He doesn't normally have to get out or read his spellbook to cast a spell, nor is this required with arcane bond.

sunbeam wrote:
It seems reasonable that any spells you know with spell mastery could be used with the arcane bond if you had no spellbook, but the RAW seems to say no.
I agree on both counts.

...I'd like to think that the description under Arcane Bond actually signifies that the wizard has his Spellbook on his person; It makes logical sense to me that the Arcane Bonded item would need to draw its power from some existing copy of the spell, even though the wizard himself need not read it. However, that'd defeat the purpose of using an Arcane Bonded item in a tough bind when the wizard finds himself without his typical equipment.

My interpretation doesn't grant any insight to the Spell Mastery bit, though. As mentioned, RAW simply seems to say 'no'.


I like LazarX's one. Whatever spellbook/books you used to prepare with that day you have access for the arcane bonded spell.

So normally it'll just be the books you have on you.

But I would treat it like temporary memory in the bonded object that gets 'set' when you prepare, and lasts until a bonded spell is discharged or you prepare again, whichever happens first.

So:

1) If you have a buddy wizard and prepare a spell from his book, I'd include that spell in the freebie list (not the whole book though)

2) You could cast any spell in your book, even if the book got destroyed after you prepared or just wasn't on your person.

3) Spells you have memorized are available to be cast through the bonded object, even if not in the book.

A more literal interpretation might be that it is just what's in your book, and therefore if the book is destroyed no bonded spell- but not if it's lost or stolen. Book wouldn't have to be on your person for RAW.

Quote:


What about if someone steals your spellbook, but it still exists? Is it still "your" spellbook?

Check out the section on copying spells.

Spellbooks really cannot change ownership. Even if physically stolen, the writings are still in your hand and only you can easily use it. At best, someone can transcribe your book and destroy the original. It's not like a sword where if someone snatches it they can easily wield it. So no matter the interpretation, I don't think it matters whose hands are holding the book.


I like the way LazarX described it. In my mind, I see the wizard imbuing his bonded item with spells from his books as part of his regular preparation.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Arcane Bond and Spellbooks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.