Monster Attacks - how many?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Looking at the Troll specifically: Melee bite +8 (1d8+5), 2 claws +8 (1d6+5)

I assume that the bite and claws are for a Full Attack, otherwise choose one of them, bite or claws.
Is that right?

And, when it says '2 claws' does this mean two attack rolls, one for each claw? So a full attack has three rolls?


OberonViking wrote:

Looking at the Troll specifically: Melee bite +8 (1d8+5), 2 claws +8 (1d6+5)

I assume that the bite and claws are for a Full Attack, otherwise choose one of them, bite or claws.
Is that right?

And, when it says '2 claws' does this mean two attack rolls, one for each claw? So a full attack has three rolls?

I would think that both claws wouldn't be an option as a standard attack action. Also, a full attack would in fact require three attack rolls, but other than that you got it.


pipedreamsam wrote:
other than that you got it.

Thank you.

And all three attacks (with Full Attack) can be against different opponents, right?


As long as they are all within the monster's reach (in this case a troll so 10ft) yes.


OberonViking wrote:

Looking at the Troll specifically: Melee bite +8 (1d8+5), 2 claws +8 (1d6+5)

I assume that the bite and claws are for a Full Attack, otherwise choose one of them, bite or claws.
Is that right?

In a single attack, can I choose 1 claw or if the troll attacks, it's necessary with his bite ?

The claws are secondary attack ?


Angelus_eva wrote:

n a single attack, can I choose 1 claw or if the troll attacks, it's necessary with his bite ?

The claws are secondary attack ?

Choose whatever you desire, it needn't be the bite.

Hmm... by looking at the attack pattern (if it is correct)... all three troll attacks seem to be primary.


Table: Natural Attacks by Size also tells you which types of attacks are primary/secondary by default. Remember, if the creature is also attacking with manufactured weapons, all natural attacks become secondary (and can't use a natural attack whose limb is used to wield the weapon).

Primary: Bite, Claw, Gore, Slam, Sting, Talons
Secondary: Hoof, Tentacle, Wing, Pincers, Tail Slap, Other

The Troll can choose which one to attack with, though bite is generally better (bigger damage dice).


Thank you for your quick (and complete) answer !

The Exchange

Don't forget Rend if both of the claws strike! Trolls are Vicious!!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Monster Attacks - how many? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions