| Midnight_Angel |
Good morning, everyone!
I am a tad confused about the creation rules for magicel items...
"Note that all items have prerequisites in their descriptions. These prerequisites must be met for the item to be created. Most of the time, they take the form of spells that must be known by the item's creator (although access through another magic item or spellcaster is allowed). The DC to create a magic item increases by +5 for each prerequisite the caster does not meet. The only exception to this is the requisite item creation feat, which is mandatory. In addition, you cannot create spell-trigger and spell-completion magic items without meeting their spell prerequisites."
I must admit I find that wording confusing.
Let's assume I want to craft, say, a Headband of Charisma+2...
According to the rules, I need "Requirements: Craft Wondrous Item, eagle's splendor"
Further, the item is statted as "Aura moderate transmutation; CL 8th".
I understand I need the CWI feat... but that's about it.
What is the CL for, other than setting the DC for the spellcraft check (in this case 13, as in CL+5... which appears a tad low, not that I'm complaining...)? Do I need to be CL 8 or better? If not, will I simply incur the +5 DC for not meeting a prerequisite, or will I be unable to create the thingy?
If I don't know the spell 'eagle's splendor', it seems that I can access it by other means (e.g. asking the group cleric to assist me)... does this cause the +5DC... or can I just craft away, with zero access to said spell, by merely taking the +5DC penalty?
Further, the rules state that the crafting roll is to be done by the spellcaster... am I correct in the assumption that what is referred to is the creator, i.e. the one who actually posesses the CWI feat?
Next question: If i am accessing the spell in question by means of a scroll, do I need the ability to actually use said scroll (vie Use Magical Device, if all else fails)... or can a wizard just merrily craft an item requiring a divine spell by simply having access to a scroll of the required type?
| Phasics |
CL is just for the DC
unless you see a caster level requirement in the requirements section
for example need a certain CL per +1 enchantment bonus on magic armor and weapons.
and no a scroll does not qualify you for requirments it MUST be on your spell list otherwise its a +5 DC for every missing requriment.
| Jeff1964 |
Item Creation Feat is the mandatory (and non-bypassable) requirement. If you can cast the spell (even from a scroll), that fulfills the requirement, thus no add to the DC. Note that you would need a scroll for every day required to create the item (one day for every 1000 gp of value for the completed item), so an item that's worth 2000 gp would require two scrolls (and two UMD rolls to successfully cast the spells). It used to be that someone else could cast the spells for you, but I don't know the official Pathfinder ruling on that.
| BigNorseWolf |
Good morning, everyone!
I am a tad confused about the creation rules for magicel items...
General consensus is that the rules fubar and don't convay any one particular meaning. Those that think there is only one meaning... tend to disagree a lot with the people that think THEIR one particular meaning is right.
According to the rules, I need "Requirements: Craft Wondrous Item, eagle's splendor"
Further, the item is statted as "Aura moderate transmutation; CL 8th".I understand I need the CWI feat... but that's about it.
You absolutely need the feat to make the item. (you got that part)
Eagles splendor means you either need to cast eagles splendor, or add 5 o the creation dc.
"Aura moderate transmutation; CL 8th" has nothing to do with creation. It just tells you what the player knows when they cast detect magic on it.
What is the CL for, other than setting the DC for the spellcraft check (in this case 13, as in CL+5... which appears a tad low, not that I'm complaining...)?
It also determines how hard the item is to dispel.
Do I need to be CL 8 or better? If not, will I simply incur the +5 DC for not meeting a prerequisite
This ones in the FAQ. You don't need to be CL 8 or greater. It doesn't even add to the DC unless the CL is in the prerequisite line.
If I don't know the spell 'eagle's splendor', it seems that I can access it by other means (e.g. asking the group cleric to assist me)... does this cause the +5DC... or can I just craft away, with zero access to said spell, by merely taking the +5DC penalty?
That's the most commonly agreed on interpretation.
Further, the rules state that the crafting roll is to be done by the spellcaster... am I correct in the assumption that what is referred to is the creator, i.e. the one who actually posesses the CWI feat?
Right, as opposed to the guy helping. That way merlin can't use his +35 spellcraft roll and have his apprentice take the craft wondrous item feat.
If the item can fail, the DM should roll so the player doesn't know if its cursed.
Next question: If i am accessing the spell in question by means of a scroll, do I need the ability to actually use said scroll
Someone needs to cast the spell or use the scroll. The priest can even cast the spell for you from memory.
You can't just insert the scroll or grind it into dust to sprinkle on the item.
| Midnight_Angel |
First of all, thanks for the replies!
General consensus is that the rules fubar and don't convay any one particular meaning. Those that think there is only one meaning... tend to disagree a lot with the people that think THEIR one particular meaning is right. .
Amen to that :)
Midnight Angel wrote:If I don't know the spell 'eagle's splendor', it seems that I can access it by other means (e.g. asking the group cleric to assist me)... does this cause the +5DC... or can I just craft away, with zero access to said spell, by merely taking the +5DC penalty?That's the most commonly agreed on interpretation.
Umm... which one of the two possibilities? IMHO, I'd need to come by that spell, so just crafting with zero access to that spell is out of the question (and applying the spell from another source is reason for the +5DC)... but then again, some here seem to state that not inserting the spell at all is perfectly legit, as long as I take the +5DC...