Fortitude Immunity and Undead Creatures


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Undead are Immune to any effect that requires a fort save unless the effect would apply to objects as well.

My question is does this mean that undead always succeed at a fortitude save or are they not subject to the effects all together. Essentially how does Fortitude Partial spells effect undead? Example's: Ray of Enfeeblement, Sirocco and Enemy Hammer.


Flashohol wrote:

Undead are Immune to any effect that requires a fort save unless the effect would apply to objects as well.

My question is does this mean that undead always succeed at a fortitude save or are they not subject to the effects all together. Essentially how does Fortitude Partial spells effect undead? Example's: Ray of Enfeeblement, Sirocco and Enemy Hammer.

Ditto for Ghostbane dirge.


well I would say read the spells and ask yourself the question,

does this spell apply to objects?

ray of enfeeblement- nope.

sirocco- unsure but I am leaning toward no because even fireball has a line of text that states("Unattended objects also take this damage. ")

can't find energy hammer. wait its called enemy hammer.

Well that is a weird one. You can only target creatures, so from a raw aspect it should be immune but that is dumb. I would say it works and they have to make fort saves to prevent being swung at somebody.

ghostbane dirge is a will save right. not sure how that relates to the original question.


Flashohol wrote:

Undead are Immune to any effect that requires a fort save unless the effect would apply to objects as well.

My question is does this mean that undead always succeed at a fortitude save or are they not subject to the effects all together. Essentially how does Fortitude Partial spells effect undead? Example's: Ray of Enfeeblement, Sirocco and Enemy Hammer.

Immunity means immune. Not "Fortitude partial". It means completely unaffected. If you want the undead to have to make Fort saves, break out disintegrate or polymorph any object. For the rest, they won't even notice.


thepuregamer wrote:


ghostbane dirge is a will save right. not sure how that relates to the original question.

in the book I own it is printed as a fort save negates which makes some sense apart from undead being immune


meowstef wrote:


in the book I own it is printed as a fort save negates which makes some sense apart from undead being immune

In the first APG errata, Ghostbane Dirge was changed from a fort save to a will save.

You can download a free copy of the errata in your My Downloads section.


Hmm...one interesting case is Flesh to Stone. It's a Fort save that only targets creatures, but works on any with flesh. Obviously it wouldn't work on a skeleton, but I see no reason that it couldn't work on a zombie or vampire, other than their immunity to Fort.

Similarly, I don't know why you couldn't use the spell to change, say, leather to stone. Stone to Flesh can turn any random stone into flesh...

Contributor

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Flesh to stone says "Target one creature," thus it does not work on objects, and because it has a Fort save it means undead are immune (they are immune to all Fort-save effects that do not affect objects).


yeti1069 wrote:

Similarly, I don't know why you couldn't use the spell to change, say, leather to stone. Stone to Flesh can turn any random stone into flesh...

I'd imagine it would eat up a ton of valuable printing space and money to list off every spell that every single undead creature was immune to or not immune to, plus it would change with every new publication.. The way it is works well, and you can easily put on your GM hat and say "that makes sense, I'll let it work"

Dark Archive

My only question from this post is why Enemy Hammer is a fort save? O.o


My point was more that perhaps Flesh to Stone should be able to affect fleshy objects as well as targeted creatures. I mean, do you count a corpse as a creature or an object? When does the transition occur, if at all?


yeti1069 wrote:

My point was more that perhaps Flesh to Stone should be able to affect fleshy objects as well as targeted creatures. I mean, do you count a corpse as a creature or an object? When does the transition occur, if at all?

A corpse is an object. A creature has to have a charisma score.


wraithstrike wrote:
yeti1069 wrote:

My point was more that perhaps Flesh to Stone should be able to affect fleshy objects as well as targeted creatures. I mean, do you count a corpse as a creature or an object? When does the transition occur, if at all?

A corpse is an object. A creature has to have a charisma score.

Right. Would you not allow someone to turn a corpse to stone?


yeti1069 wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:
yeti1069 wrote:

My point was more that perhaps Flesh to Stone should be able to affect fleshy objects as well as targeted creatures. I mean, do you count a corpse as a creature or an object? When does the transition occur, if at all?

A corpse is an object. A creature has to have a charisma score.
Right. Would you not allow someone to turn a corpse to stone?

Nope. The name of the spell is not as important as the intent of the spell. The intent was for it to affect living creatures. Now with polymorph any other I would, but of course that would not be a permanent affect due to the way the spell works.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Fortitude Immunity and Undead Creatures All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.