Where is that rule about DR?


Rules Questions


I seem to remember of a rule that if you have a DR of the same type as your target you ignore the DR.
Does that rule exists? If yes where is it in the core book? i can't find it.


Check the universal monster rules in the bestiary.


leo1925 wrote:

I seem to remember of a rule that if you have a DR of the same type as your target you ignore the DR.

Does that rule exists? If yes where is it in the core book? i can't find it.

I don't believe the rule is anywhere in the core rulebook, but you can find it under the Universal Monster rules in the Bestiary (see page 299 for damage Reduction).

From the prd:

prd wrote:
Some monsters are vulnerable to magic weapons. Any weapon with at least a +1 magical enhancement bonus on attack and damage rolls overcomes the damage reduction of these monsters. Such creatures' natural weapons (but not their attacks with weapons) are treated as magic weapons for the purpose of overcoming damage reduction.


Thank you.


leo1925 wrote:

I seem to remember of a rule that if you have a DR of the same type as your target you ignore the DR.

Does that rule exists? If yes where is it in the core book? i can't find it.

I think that was a D&D rule, but certain monster can pass certain types of DR. You would have to read the specific monster entry. This mostly applies to outsiders.


"Some monsters are vulnerable to magic weapons. Any weapon with at least a +1 magical enhancement bonus on attack and damage rolls overcomes the damage reduction of these monsters. Such creatures’ natural weapons (but not their attacks with weapons) are treated as magic weapons for the purpose of overcoming damage reduction." This is on the website quoted, but not on the PRD under Damage Reduction in the Glossary. It is in the PRD under Universal Monster Rules as well.

So for Natural Weapons of creatures with DR n/Magic those Natural Weapons count as Magical.
For those creatures with an Alignment Subtype their manufactured weapons and natural weapons count as aligned.


Ah ok, i think i got it now.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Where is that rule about DR? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.