Can destruct / luck cleric use a Wand of True Strike?


Rules Questions


8 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Staff response: no reply required.

So, True Strike is on their domain list, but not their class list. For 3.5 this was easy, as spell trigger was ok for "anyone with a spell on his or her spell list". PF changed this. Rules under spell trigger now say:

Spell Trigger: Spell trigger activation is similar to spell completion, but it's even simpler. No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know, and a single word that must be spoken. Spell trigger items can be used by anyone whose class can cast the corresponding spell. This is the case even for a character who can't actually cast spells, such as a 3rd-level paladin.

This issue is relevant for other classes as well, of course.


Yes, they can.

Unlike scrolls, wands and staves are not Divine or Arcane. If you can memorize the spell, then you can use the wand.

Grand Lodge

p.41 wrote:
If a domain spell is not on the cleric spell list, a cleric can prepare it only in her domain spell slot.

I agree that the Domains class ability doesn't add the spell to the cleric's class spell list, so I would have to say, no, the cleric can't use a wand of true strike (unless every cleric can because it's a spell that a cleric can cast).


Starglim wrote:
p.41 wrote:
If a domain spell is not on the cleric spell list, a cleric can prepare it only in her domain spell slot.
I agree that the Domains class ability doesn't add the spell to the cleric's class spell list, so I would have to say, no, the cleric can't use a wand of true strike (unless every cleric can because it's a spell that a cleric can cast).

The cleric as still prepare it, thus it is on their spell list.

By your interpretation, a cleric can craft a wand or scroll of true strike, but they cannot use it.


Charender wrote:

The cleric as still prepare it, thus it is on their spell list.

By your interpretation, a cleric can craft a wand or scroll of true strike, but they cannot use it.

You are not guaranteed to be able to use everything you can craft. Otherwise, my sorc could wear a Druid Vestment and Horseshoes of Speed.

Grand Lodge

Charender wrote:
Starglim wrote:
p.41 wrote:
If a domain spell is not on the cleric spell list, a cleric can prepare it only in her domain spell slot.
I agree that the Domains class ability doesn't add the spell to the cleric's class spell list, so I would have to say, no, the cleric can't use a wand of true strike (unless every cleric can because it's a spell that a cleric can cast).

The cleric as still prepare it, thus it is on their spell list.

By your interpretation, a cleric can craft a wand or scroll of true strike, but they cannot use it.

That seems to be the case by RAW.

The spell trigger rule (and also spell completion) doesn't refer to Cleric X's spell list. It only allows spells that the cleric class can cast.

It might be better to say that each cleric (and each inquisitor, sorcerer, oracle and witch, plus some druids) is of a slightly different class that has a different spell list for purposes of spell trigger items. I'm not at all sure that fits the design intent, though, since the cleric otherwise isn't allowed any extra uses of his domain spells in a day.


waytoomuchcoffee wrote:
Charender wrote:

The cleric as still prepare it, thus it is on their spell list.

By your interpretation, a cleric can craft a wand or scroll of true strike, but they cannot use it.

You are not guaranteed to be able to use everything you can craft. Otherwise, my sorc could wear a Druid Vestment and Horseshoes of Speed.

Oh, how I wish I had time to illustrate that scene right now.


A luck cleric can make a divine scroll of True strike. Would this scroll then be unusable by any class without the use of UMD?

Edit: Dang! The Inquisitor can cast true strike. Well Mage's Disjunction, then. I'm sure there are others.


Starglim wrote:


The spell trigger rule (and also spell completion) doesn't refer to Cleric X's spell list. It only allows spells that the cleric class can cast.

Whoa whoa whoa- by that logic a sorcerer could basically use any arcane wand because it'll be in his list (even if he doesn't know the spell).

Really seems like logically it should be what that particular user can cast, not what the generic one could potentially.


Sekret_One wrote:
Starglim wrote:


The spell trigger rule (and also spell completion) doesn't refer to Cleric X's spell list. It only allows spells that the cleric class can cast.

Whoa whoa whoa- by that logic a sorcerer could basically use any arcane wand because it'll be in his list (even if he doesn't know the spell).

Really seems like logically it should be what that particular user can cast, not what the generic one could potentially.

A Sorcerer can use basically any arcane wand. That's kind of the point. A Wizard doesn't have to have the spell in his book to use a scroll or wand either.


But you DO have to know the spell to CREATE the wand...

Actually, I'm wondering, can you USE a scroll of a spell to craft a wand of it? With Pathfinder's crafting rules, not having the spell would just levy a +5 craft DC, wouldn't it?

I guess the idea being that a Caster must be knowledgeable enough with the fundaments of Magic to be able to, for lack of a better turn, GUESS how to craft a wand for a spell that they don't personally know.

EDIT: Sorry, ignore this... I just re-read the creation rules, and Spell Trigger and Spell Completion items require that you know the spell - they are not considered a pre-requisite that can be ignored with a DC bump.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

waytoomuchcoffee wrote:
So, True Strike is on their domain list, but not their class list.

All Clerics with Luck domain can cast True Strike, so this cleric's "class" can cast True Strike. So RAW you can use the Wand.

If you disagree, then you need to "Ask your DM" since the text isn't anywhere near clear enough for either side of this RAW Debate to claim victory.


I too think that luck domain clerics can use a wand of true strike.

Sekret_One wrote:
Starglim wrote:


The spell trigger rule (and also spell completion) doesn't refer to Cleric X's spell list. It only allows spells that the cleric class can cast.

Whoa whoa whoa- by that logic a sorcerer could basically use any arcane wand because it'll be in his list (even if he doesn't know the spell).

Really seems like logically it should be what that particular user can cast, not what the generic one could potentially.

The sorcerer can use any arcane wand.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

leo1925 wrote:
The sorcerer can use any arcane wand.

Rules quote?

As a Sorcerer should be able to use any Arcane wand containing a spell on the Sorcerer's spell list.


James Risner wrote:
leo1925 wrote:
The sorcerer can use any arcane wand.

Rules quote?

As a Sorcerer should be able to use any Arcane wand containing a spell on the Sorcerer's spell list.

Which arcane spell isn't in the sorceror's spell list?

Edit: yes there are few bard spells and a few summoner spells that there aren't in the sorceror's spell list.
Anyway you are correct any sorceror can use any wand of a spell that is on his spell list.


James Risner wrote:
leo1925 wrote:
The sorcerer can use any arcane wand.

Rules quote?

As a Sorcerer should be able to use any Arcane wand containing a spell on the Sorcerer's spell list.

PRD wrote:
Spell Trigger: Spell trigger activation is similar to spell completion, but it's even simpler. No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know, and a single word that must be spoken. Spell trigger items can be used by anyone whose class can cast the corresponding spell. This is the case even for a character who can't actually cast spells, such as a 3rd-level paladin. The user must still determine what spell is stored in the item before she can activate it. Activating a spell trigger item is a standard action and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

Wands are spell trigger items.

EDIT: bolding mine.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can destruct / luck cleric use a Wand of True Strike? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions