What is DC for Twin Soul Beast Bonded witch ability?


Rules Questions


Hi,
just read the title. That's the question.
I always thought it was 10+ half witch lvl + INT.
Now certain someone is trying to sell me that it's 10+ half witch lvl + CHA.
So is it a hex and how to determine its DC?

EDIT:
Also to take over someone do I need to touch them or should I use magic jar range?


It's as magic jar, so you would use magic jar's range.

As for the DC, it is a Su ability, so it doesn't have a default way of determining DC by RAW AFAIK. The ability would have to specify. It's not called out as a hex, so it's not a hex, and hence the rule that hexes use Int isn't relevant.

So...GM call?

FYI this ability is just really badly written. You are going to get so much table variation on how it works, so talk with your GM before taking the archetype.


I see. So is there no way to find out DC per RAW? What a shame.
Snowblind, thanks.

Maybe someone else knows more...


Bump...
If there is no save mentioned in the rules maybe it means there is no save... and witch automatically possess his/her victim.

Dataphiles

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Twin Soul wrote:

At 10th-level, if the witch or her familiar is gravely injured or about to die, the soul of the dying one immediately transfers to the other’s body. The two souls share the surviving body peaceably, can communicate freely, and both retain their ability to think and reason. The host may allow the guest soul to take over the body temporarily or reclaim it as a move action. They can persist in this state indefinitely, or the guest can return to its own body (if available) by touch, transfer into a suitable vessel (such as a clone), or take over another body as if using magic jar (with no receptacle).

This replaces the witch’s major hex at 10th-level.

The only part that requires a DC is if you're trying to take over another body. In which case you resolve the possession attempt exactly as if you were using magic jar. So use magic jars DC when attempting to possess.


@Decorpsed You mean 10+spell level+casting stat? Which in witch's case would be 10+5+INT.
And range is spell's range.
EDIT: It's logical but also kind off strange as it is supernatural ability and not spell like ability.

Dataphiles

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
TheTheos wrote:

@Decorpsed You mean 10+spell level+casting stat? Which in witch's case would be 10+5+INT.

And range is spell's range.
EDIT: It's logical but also kind off strange as it is supernatural ability and not spell like ability.

Yup. Since it gives no additional rules governing possession you would just flip over to magic jar and pretend you started there all along.

Dataphiles

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

The supernatural portion of the ability is everything else described on top of the magic jar possession. If it was a spell-like then you would just be using magic jar and none of the fun "sharing a body with your familiar stuff" would apply.

Spell-like abilities in general are just copies of actual spells that you can activate without having to use your normal casting abilities. Once you start modifying them and throwing other nifty stuff on top they generally become supernatural.

Thus it is not uncommon to see supernatural abilities to have spell-like components to them.


I see. Thanks for clarifying. :) I guess it still ignores spell resist.
And do you agree that range is not touch but that of the spell even though there is no receptacle?

Dataphiles

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Yes, the range for possession should be that of the magic jar spell. The touch range would be for returning to it's own body. Honestly not sure what the range for "transfer into a suitable vessel" is at the moment though.


I guess if you get erm a soulless body like clone or something ( I don't know). Maybe a construct would be suitable vessel. Who knows.
Just wondering if there is a way how to get soul out of body without killing it.

Dataphiles

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

It would probably vary by the type of "suitable vessel". A clone made specifically for the spirit would have an infinite range as far as i can tell. But if you treat any gem or crystal worth 100GP as a "suitable vessel", as from magic jar, then you could potentially jump into any of those that are within medium range.


I never realized gems could be used that way. Neat. Thank you :).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / What is DC for Twin Soul Beast Bonded witch ability? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions