You do realize


Round 3: Revised Magus Discussion


That wands and staves are spell trigger items that do not provoke an AoO to use. Just thought I'd point this out to the playtesters.


Jup, you can cast a touch spell from wand or staff and deliver the attack with your weapon.


Banpai wrote:
Jup, you can cast a touch spell from wand or staff and deliver the attack with your weapon.

Actually no spell trigger items (which wands and staves are) cause AoOs when used. Go look under activation for these items in he core rules. This is very nice for a cleric that may need to cast from a wand while in combat.

The Exchange

Yup - so you should be able to spell-trigger a staff, and attack (with a -2 penalty) at the same time, using Spell Combat and the Wand Wielder Arcana, and not worry about AoO from the spell.


Except, of course, if the wand's spell is a ranged attack, in which case the baddies can divide you into 4 wand wielders, no questions asked.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Ultimate Magic Playtest / Round 3: Revised Magus Discussion / You do realize All Messageboards
Recent threads in Round 3: Revised Magus Discussion