Touch Attacks and AoOs


Rules Questions


Assuming that a character has a touch spell/attack - Chill Touch, Elemental Touch, etc - ready, could they use it for an AoO?


If you can figure out a way to cast it as an immediate action, then yes!
Otherwise, even as a swift action you have to wait until your turn to set up the charge.

Edit: Oh derp didn't quite read that properly (That's what you get for reading forums this early in the morning). Yes you are considered armed when you have a touch attack spell charged and ready to use. Thank you Starglim.

Grand Lodge

If they have cast the spell and held the charge, yes. They are explicitly (p. 182) considered armed for both avoiding and threatening AoO.

If they only have the spell memorised/known, no.


Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber

What about the various 'Touch' supernatural abilities from the Oracle Mysteries? As a standard action you can do melee touch attack such and such times per day for such and such damage?


Atavist wrote:
What about the various 'Touch' supernatural abilities from the Oracle Mysteries? As a standard action you can do melee touch attack such and such times per day for such and such damage?

SU abilities don't provoke AoO's unless stated otherwise.

PFRPG pg 186 wrote:


Supernatural Abilities (Su): Using a supernatural ability is usually a standard action (unless defined otherwise by the ability’s description). Its use cannot be disrupted, does not require concentration, and does not
provoke attacks of opportunity.


Atavist wrote:
What about the various 'Touch' supernatural abilities from the Oracle Mysteries? As a standard action you can do melee touch attack such and such times per day for such and such damage?

No, I don't believe you can use those for making AoOs.


What bother me it is that i thought action which was only standard one couldn't be done in AoO.
I believed attack like grapple couldn't.

And an attack like chill touch is only a standard action, and cannot be insert in a full attack action.
Has i made a mistake?


Defraeter wrote:

And an attack like chill touch is only a standard action, and cannot be insert in a full attack action.

Has i made a mistake?

Casting the spell is a standard action (which at the time of casting allows you to make an attack as a free action) so the initial casting cannot be made as an AoO. However, if you don't make the attack/miss it and someone provokes an AoO while you are holding the charge you can make the AoO with the charge at that time.


Skylancer4 wrote:
Defraeter wrote:

And an attack like chill touch is only a standard action, and cannot be insert in a full attack action.

Has i made a mistake?
Casting the spell is a standard action (which at the time of casting allows you to make an attack as a free action) so the initial casting cannot be made as an AoO. However, if you don't make the attack/miss it and someone provokes an AoO while you are holding the charge you can make the AoO with the charge at that time.

hum...I think you've forgotten something...

I found the thread i was looking for: Here
J. Jacobs himself ^^ say that if the spell doesn't actually say the spell functions like a weapon, it doesn't really follow the rules for weapons.

So No iterative attacks as a result, since it only grants the one attack per round as a touch attack (i;e one attack action = a standard action).

A melee touch attack from a spell is a standard action, and cannot make AoO, unless the spell functions like a weapon.

An "armed spell" doesn't mean it is like a weapon...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Touch Attacks and AoOs All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions