
![]() |
6 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Staff response: no reply required. |
There is some significant confusion in our group about the disguise skill and it's associated bonuses from magic. In the skill itself it states that these items/spells give a +10 bonus. It specifically references Alter Self in this entry.
Under the Polymorph school entry it states that these spells give a +20 bonus to disguise. The confusion comes from the fact that Alter Self is a Polymorph spell. This has led to the discussion of whether there is a error in the book, and what the real bonus should be.
Has there been clairification by anyone with authority on this subject? I was unable to find any, but my search-fu is not that strong.

Dorje Sylas |

That's not really the problem, the bonus is stated in disguise vs sub-school description.
PRD Polymorph section
While these spells make you appear to be the creature, granting you a +20 bonus on Disguise skill checks, they do not grant you all of the abilities and powers of the creature.
PRD Disguise
Magic that alters your form, such as alter self, disguise self, polymorph, or shapechange, grants you a +10 bonus on Disguise checks (see the individual spell descriptions).
The thing is these spells no longer give an individual difference and most reference Polymorph sub-school. +10 was in the 3.5 SRD for the kill, so the question is the +20 an error or the +10?

Ravingdork |

Transmutations and polymorph effects actually change one's form, which is why it warrants a +20 bonus. Illusions are somewhat less convincing for a variety of reasons, and only grant a +10 bonus.
At least, that's they way I understood it.

![]() |
Transmutations and polymorph effects actually change one's form, which is why it warrants a +20 bonus. Illusions are somewhat less convincing for a variety of reasons, and only grant a +10 bonus.
At least, that's they way I understood it.
I would tend to agree, however when both types of spells are referenced in a entry I tend to seek clairification from the developers. If you all could flag this to the FAQ so we can get an official clairification that would be apperciated.