A couple wand questions


Rules Questions


if a rogue uses a wand of produce flame does he need one standard action to trigger the wand and another to make the touch attack? How about a ranged touch attack?

if a ranger buys a wand of resist energy, does he need to declare what type of energy at the time of purchase? For example does he buy a wand of resist fire, or does he get to declare which type of energy when he uses it.


John Willy wrote:

if a rogue uses a wand of produce flame does he need one standard action to trigger the wand and another to make the touch attack? How about a ranged touch attack?

if a ranger buys a wand of resist energy, does he need to declare what type of energy at the time of purchase? For example does he buy a wand of resist fire, or does he get to declare which type of energy when he uses it.

"Ranged Touch attacks are made as part of the spell and do not require a seperate action." pg186 PFRPG. under Ranged Touch Spells in Combat.


+1

For the ranger, he is actually finishing the spell and choices like that are made when the spell is finished, so he can chose what type of energy resistance it provides each time he activates it.


tanx for the clarifcation guyz


Pathfinder Adventure Subscriber

Actually you have a choice.

You may fling it on activation or you may keep it in hand as a melee weapon. The spell lasts 1 minute a level so each round you get a new flame to fling or use as a melee weapon.

Scarab Sages

It's been debated whether or not produce flame actually lets you do the ranged touch as part of the casting. The spell differs from other 'ranged touch attack spells' in that it says you use the spell to summon the flame into your hand, which you can *then* use as a ranged touch attack or melee touch attack weapon. It's not necessarily part of the casting.

Grand Lodge

*casts raise thread {School conjuration (healing); Level commoner 1; Casting Time 1 minute; Components S, DF (computer); Range touch; Target dead thread touched; Duration instantaneous; Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance yes; (harmless)}*

Karui Kage wrote:
It's been debated whether or not produce flame actually lets you do the ranged touch as part of the casting. The spell differs from other 'ranged touch attack spells' in that it says you use the spell to summon the flame into your hand, which you can *then* use as a ranged touch attack or melee touch attack weapon. It's not necessarily part of the casting.

The question I have is whether or not wands of touch spells (such as a wand of cure light wounds) require melee touch attacks. The PCRB basically describes wands as point and shoot the only place it mentions them. Ranged touch attack. Targeted spells (in wand form) that require a melee touch attack as described in the spell list no longer require physical contact?


Digitalsabre wrote:

*casts raise thread {School conjuration (healing); Level commoner 1; Casting Time 1 minute; Components S, DF (computer); Range touch; Target dead thread touched; Duration instantaneous; Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance yes; (harmless)}*

Karui Kage wrote:
It's been debated whether or not produce flame actually lets you do the ranged touch as part of the casting. The spell differs from other 'ranged touch attack spells' in that it says you use the spell to summon the flame into your hand, which you can *then* use as a ranged touch attack or melee touch attack weapon. It's not necessarily part of the casting.
The question I have is whether or not wands of touch spells (such as a wand of cure light wounds) require melee touch attacks. The PCRB basically describes wands as point and shoot the only place it mentions them. Ranged touch attack. Targeted spells (in wand form) that require a melee touch attack as described in the spell list no longer require physical contact?

*casts thread resurrection*

This just came up with my group, was this ever answered? how do touch range spells work with a wand? Does this enable ranged cure light wounds for example? The Raw says:

Activation: Wands use the spell trigger activation method, so casting a spell from a wand is usually a standard action that doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity. (If the spell being cast has a longer casting time than 1 action, however, it takes that long to cast the spell from a wand.) To activate a wand, a character must hold it in hand (or whatever passes for a hand, for nonhumanoid creatures) and point it in the general direction of the target or area. A wand may be used while grappling or while swallowed whole.


Yes, touch spells in wands still require touch attacks. Nowhere does the wand say that it changes the range of any spell. Instead of mumbling a prayer and then reaching out to touch a target as a cleric might do, the rogue mumbles a command word and then touches the target. Maybe he even pokes the target with the wand in a magical form of acupuncture;)

Dark Archive

Lathiira wrote:
Yes, touch spells in wands still require touch attacks. Nowhere does the wand say that it changes the range of any spell. Instead of mumbling a prayer and then reaching out to touch a target as a cleric might do, the rogue mumbles a command word and then touches the target. Maybe he even pokes the target with the wand in a magical form of acupuncture;)

+1


Lathiira wrote:
Yes, touch spells in wands still require touch attacks. Nowhere does the wand say that it changes the range of any spell. Instead of mumbling a prayer and then reaching out to touch a target as a cleric might do, the rogue mumbles a command word and then touches the target. Maybe he even pokes the target with the wand in a magical form of acupuncture;)

+1

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / A couple wand questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions