Wands are they arcane and / or divine


Magic Items

Liberty's Edge

My dm says that in order for a cleric or bard to use cure light wounds they must be created by a divine spell caster for cleric and arcane for bard to use. I don't the listing for this rule in either pathfinder beta or 3.5. I was wondering what is the official ruling for pathfinder beta.


Suzaku wrote:
My dm says that in order for a cleric or bard to use cure light wounds they must be created by a divine spell caster for cleric and arcane for bard to use. I don't the listing for this rule in either pathfinder beta or 3.5. I was wondering what is the official ruling for pathfinder beta.

It doesn't matter. The one using it must have the spell on his class thats all.

SRD wrote:


Spell Trigger: Spell trigger activation is similar to spell completion, but it's even simpler. No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know, and a single word that must be spoken. Anyone with a spell on his or her spell list knows how to use a spell trigger item that stores that spell. (This is the case even for a character who can't actually cast spells, such as a 3rd-level paladin.)

Besides, there is no field for arcane or divine source in the item description nor a rule how you identify if an item was created by divine or arcane magic.

Edit: Do'h! I can't find the 'Using Items' part in the Beta ot the Web enhancement?! There is some other text but as far as I can see it is missing the 'Anyone with a spell on his or her spell list knows how to use a spell trigger item that stores that spell' part.


The paragraph your referencing is in the DMG and is probably in SRD but I havent found it to be replicated in the beta yet. However I did find this in the beta under use magic device on page 75:

Use a Wand: Normally, to use a wand, you must have the
wand’s spell on your class spell list. This use of the skill
allows you to use a wand as if you had a particular spell
on your class spell list. This use of the skill also applies to
other spell trigger magic items, such as staffs.

Hope this helps.

RPG Superstar 2008 Top 32

Under 3.0 and 3.5, being divine or arcane only mattered for scrolls. If your DM says otherwise, it is a house rule.

However, most people ignored that rule as well: I challenge you to find a single published adventure which mentioned if a scroll was arcane or divine, even for spells like alarm, cause fear, or comprehend languages for which there is no good baseline assumption.

In PFRPG, a scroll is a scroll, and a wand is a wand.

Paizo Employee Director of Brand Strategy

Ross Byers wrote:

Under 3.0 and 3.5, being divine or arcane only mattered for scrolls. If your DM says otherwise, it is a house rule.

However, most people ignored that rule as well: I challenge you to find a single published adventure which mentioned if a scroll was arcane or divine, even for spells like alarm, cause fear, or comprehend languages for which there is no good baseline assumption.

In PFRPG, a scroll is a scroll, and a wand is a wand.

I'm the GM on this one, and appreciate the feedback. I was getting the scroll rules confused with the wand rules. I agree that most designers didn't define if something were divine or arcane, but I always liked the restriction for scrolls nonetheless. That said, we'll proceed with this using the Beta rules, so it's a moot point from here on in.


Personally I'd go with arcane and divine variants. Arcane healing is a rather rare ability. I'd also imagine that the magical mechanics behind an arcane cure lt and a divine cure lt would be quite different, one being channeling a deity's power and the other however it is that bards can heal and wizards can't figure out.


Ross Byers wrote:

Under 3.0 and 3.5, being divine or arcane only mattered for scrolls. If your DM says otherwise, it is a house rule.

However, most people ignored that rule as well: I challenge you to find a single published adventure which mentioned if a scroll was arcane or divine, even for spells like alarm, cause fear, or comprehend languages for which there is no good baseline assumption.

In PFRPG, a scroll is a scroll, and a wand is a wand.

Damn! My group and I have been doing this wrong the whole time. We have always played if the spell was on your spell list then you could use the wand, if it wasn't than you had to roll a UMD check. So does this mean that even if you have the spell on your spell list you still have to roll a UMD?


eirip wrote:
Ross Byers wrote:

Under 3.0 and 3.5, being divine or arcane only mattered for scrolls. If your DM says otherwise, it is a house rule.

However, most people ignored that rule as well: I challenge you to find a single published adventure which mentioned if a scroll was arcane or divine, even for spells like alarm, cause fear, or comprehend languages for which there is no good baseline assumption.

In PFRPG, a scroll is a scroll, and a wand is a wand.

Damn! My group and I have been doing this wrong the whole time. We have always played if the spell was on your spell list then you could use the wand, if it wasn't than you had to roll a UMD check. So does this mean that even if you have the spell on your spell list you still have to roll a UMD?

You were doing it right. Thats what we are saying. If its on your spell list you may use that wand. Arcane or Divine doesnt matter for wands if its on your spell list. This is found in the DMG under the spell trigger paragraph describing magic item use(dont know if Im allowed to put actual page number and quotes from the DMG)and will hopefully find its way to the PF publication to clear things up.

edit: I understand that because its in the DMG doesnt mean that its in pathfinder however the UMD section of the beta supports this rule in PF. The page number can be found on my earlier post


same_random_hero wrote:
eirip wrote:
Ross Byers wrote:

Under 3.0 and 3.5, being divine or arcane only mattered for scrolls. If your DM says otherwise, it is a house rule.

However, most people ignored that rule as well: I challenge you to find a single published adventure which mentioned if a scroll was arcane or divine, even for spells like alarm, cause fear, or comprehend languages for which there is no good baseline assumption.

In PFRPG, a scroll is a scroll, and a wand is a wand.

Damn! My group and I have been doing this wrong the whole time. We have always played if the spell was on your spell list then you could use the wand, if it wasn't than you had to roll a UMD check. So does this mean that even if you have the spell on your spell list you still have to roll a UMD?

You were doing it right. Thats what we are saying. If its on your spell list you may use that wand. Arcane or Divine doesnt matter for wands if its on your spell list. This is found in the DMG under the spell trigger paragraph describing magic item use(dont know if Im allowed to put actual page number and quotes from the DMG)and will hopefully find its way to the PF publication to clear things up.

edit: I understand that because its in the DMG doesnt mean that its in pathfinder however the UMD section of the beta supports this rule in PF. The page number can be found on my earlier post

OH yeah! I totally read that post wrong. That is what happens before I read forums before I've had my pot of coffee.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Roleplaying Game / Design Forums / Magic Items / Wands are they arcane and / or divine All Messageboards
Recent threads in Magic Items