Problem with "Mending"


Combat & Magic


I like the direction taken to handle damage to objects, with the "broken" condition, etc.

But if the "Mending" spell is an orison or a cantrip, it can be cast at will. So why say that it repairs 1d4 points of damage? Given a couple of rounds, a cleric or wizard could repair any damaged item with this spell.

Is this by design? Or am I missing something?

Maybe it should say: "this spell can only be used once on an object until it has been fully repaired" or something to that effect


On the bright side, if Mending is usable at will, then Pathfinder archers can got back to carrying just one quiver of arrows (because the broken ones can be Mended after the fight).

I'd rather arrow be treated as objects (even with just 1 hp), but this is something at least. Hauling around 4+ quivers, or an extradimensional space, has just never been appealing for me.

Dark Archive

Nice thought on mending arrows! That is a good idea. The wording for ammunition will eventually need to be changed in Pathfinder, as currently, if I recall correctly, ammunition that hits is "destroyed".

Dark Archive

Bocklin wrote:

I like the direction taken to handle damage to objects, with the "broken" condition, etc.

But if the "Mending" spell is an orison or a cantrip, it can be cast at will. So why say that it repairs 1d4 points of damage? Given a couple of rounds, a cleric or wizard could repair any damaged item with this spell.

Is this by design? Or am I missing something?

Maybe it should say: "this spell can only be used once on an object until it has been fully repaired" or something to that effect

Read Make Whole - which is required if an item has reached 0hp.


I've always ruled that Mending was the Cure Minor of the Repair Light/Medium/Serious/Critical damage line of spells. It heals one point of damage per casting.


Demon9ne wrote:
Bocklin wrote:

I like the direction taken to handle damage to objects, with the "broken" condition, etc.

But if the "Mending" spell is an orison or a cantrip, it can be cast at will. So why say that it repairs 1d4 points of damage? Given a couple of rounds, a cleric or wizard could repair any damaged item with this spell.

Is this by design? Or am I missing something?

Maybe it should say: "this spell can only be used once on an object until it has been fully repaired" or something to that effect

Read Make Whole - which is required if an item has reached 0hp.

Right, but he's talking about if an item is damaged but not yet at 0 hp.

Dark Archive

Oh. 1/Item/Day in Mending's text might be a solution. I dunno.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Roleplaying Game / Alpha Playtest Feedback / Alpha Release 1 / Combat & Magic / Problem with "Mending" All Messageboards
Recent threads in Combat & Magic