Potions


Rules Questions


So is there much of a limit on what you can turn into a potion other then it has to be a spell less then lvl 3 and it targets creatures or self?


Quote:


A potion is a magic liquid that produces its effect when imbibed.
Potions vary incredibly in appearance. Magic oils are similar
to potions, except that oils are applied externally rather than
imbibed. A potion or oil can be used only once. It can duplicate
the effect of a spell of up to 3rd level that has a casting time of
less than 1 minute and targets one or more creatures.

These seem to be the only restrictions, but there's some cloudiness to the issue as it later says...

Quote:


Potions are like spells cast upon the imbiber. The character
taking the potion doesn’t get to make any decisions about the
effect—the caster who brewed the potion has already done
so. The drinker of a potion is both the effective target and
the caster of the effect (though the potion indicates the caster
level, the drinker still controls the effect).

There's an obvious contradiction here about the drinker controlling the effect. But it's also not 100% clear whether or not you can make a potion of detect invisibility from this text.

So, my ruling on this is that since it says it is "like" spells cast upon the imbiber (a mage casts self-only spells on himself, after all), that there is a range of freedom to be enjoyed by this feat that isn't there with many magic spells.


Perhaps it means that while the brewer defined the effect (caster level, and any other decisions made about the spell, eg; Cold or Hot fire shield) the drinker is counted as the "controller" of the spell effect while it is active.

I'm not sure what this would affect in gameplay though, as you cannot choose to end a potion effect on yourself.


This is what I found in the Glossary on page 551:

"The imbiber of the potion is both the caster and the target.
Spells with a range of personal cannot be made into potions."

Just my 2 cp.


silverhair2008 wrote:

This is what I found in the Glossary on page 551:

"The imbiber of the potion is both the caster and the target.
Spells with a range of personal cannot be made into potions."

Just my 2 cp.

I knew that was somewhere, but I guess I glossed over it.


Takamonk wrote:
silverhair2008 wrote:

This is what I found in the Glossary on page 551:

"The imbiber of the potion is both the caster and the target.
Spells with a range of personal cannot be made into potions."

Just my 2 cp.

I knew that was somewhere, but I guess I glossed over it.

Same here....sad it isnt in the main book part and only in the glossary though....

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Potions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions