Seltyiel

shadowkras's page

Organized Play Member. 1,061 posts. No reviews. No lists. 1 wishlist. 1 Organized Play character.




This answer on stackexchange seems to be claiming that you may prepare spells, using the extra preparation sessions during the day, to prepare spells on slots that were unusable due to the Recent Casting Limit, which says:

Quote:


If a wizard has cast spells recently, the drain on his resources reduces his capacity to prepare new spells. When he prepares spells for the coming day, all the spells he has cast within the last 8 hours count against his daily limit.

As with arcane spells, at the time of preparation any spells cast within the previous 8 hours count against the number of spells that can be prepared.

In other words, in rest for 4 hours, then you cast a spell at T, rest again until T+4 (so 8 hours have passed), but since you are still under the recent casting limit, one of your spells cannot be prepared. Then you rest again until T+8, sit down for 15 minutes and prepare a spell on that slot.

Is this correct? Is there any official source to back this up?


The 1e spell Emergency Force Sphere is the cause of a FAQ entry about "centered on you" and large creatures, that say:

Quote:

Big creatures and centered effects: If a Large or larger creature has up an effect “centered on you,” does that mean that sometimes the emanation doesn’t even affect the creature’s entire space, let alone anything else?

No, when such a creature uses an emanation or burst with the text “centered on you,” treat the creature’s entire space as the spell’s point of origin, and measure the spell’s area or effect from the edges of the creature’s space. For instance, an antimagic field cast by a great wyrm red dragon would extend 10 feet beyond her 30x30 foot space, for a total of a 50 foot diameter.

And later, a response from Mark Seifter about it (here), saying:

Quote:


5 ft emanations for Medium creatures are absolutely supposed to apply to only those other 3 squares, for certain (I can assure you because I know what the discussion entailed, so I know it was a wording snafu, just like the spurious "Answer:"). Spells like emergency force sphere are already strong enough.

This causes issues when the spell actually protects not only the caster (as suggested by the effect text), but also 3 additional squares and whoever is inside that area. It doesn't protect the caster against the attacks of tiny or smaller creatures, nor from the harm of anything else that shares that same area with him.

The lack of a proper definition of how a "centered on you" effect works (do we pick one of our grid intersections? or do we consider the entire square as the center?) causes those exceptions to rise up, which will pile exception upon exception later on.

But that's fine, old edition problems should be fixed in the new edition, right? Well, when discussing that problem in another site, I curiously went to check how that changed in second edition and looked up "centered on", and to my surprise, the wording is even vaguer (and inconstant) than on the first edition.

We have:

Quote:


Smoke Bomb (p.48)
You choose which corner of target’s space (or the space in which the bomb lands) the cloud is centered on.

Impossible Volley (p.95)
all enemies within a 10-foot-radius burst; this burst must be centered at or beyond your weapon’s volley range.

Angelic Halo (p.204)
The effect of the spell increases to that of a circle of protection against evil, centered on you for 1 minute.

Circle of Protection (p.210)
Area 10-foot-aura centered on the touched creature

Dread Aura (p.219)
Area 30-foot-radius aura centered on you

Globe of Invulnerability (p.227)
Area 10-foot burst centered on one corner of your space

Glyph of Warding (p.227)
If the spell has an area, that area is centered on the creature that set off the glyph.

Moonlight Glow (p.240)
60-foot burst centered on you

Prismatic Sphere (p.247)
shaped in a 10-foot burst centered on a corner within your space.

Protective Ward (p.248)
10-foot-radius burst centered on you

Sanctified Ground (p.253)
30-foot burst centered on you

Weakening Ground (p. 271)
30-foot burst centered on you

Control Weather (p.277)
2-mile-radius circle centered on you

Smokestick (p.369)
in a 5-foot-radius burst centered on one corner of your space

Dust of Appearance (p.388)
all creatures in a 10-foot burst centered on the corner of any space within 5 feet of you.

Skyhammer (p.407)
centered on the sky hammer

I highlighted Glove of Invulnerability because this seems to be the first time we have been clarified and told to pick a corner, which is pretty good. But the spell suffers from the same problem fixed on the FAQ, meaning we will need another FAQ about this for 2e.

And we also have effects that are centered on the target of an attack (like the Skyhammer), but are grid intersections picked for those effects? I believe this should be clarified.

I mean, I know Im focusing too much on the 1st edition, but I see nothing that actually prevents those discussions on this problem from rising up again for 2nd edition. So, if possible could we see a proper definition of what "centered on" means (when not talking about a grid intersection, of course) and avoid another legacy issue?


Hey, my Order #4557741 is missing, I never received the package.

Pathfinder Adventure Path #124: City in the Deep (Ruins of Azlant 4 of 6)


The rules for Spells in Naval Combat mention that several spells dont move with the ship unless they are anchored to the ship.

Quote:


Forcecage, Resilient Sphere, Wall of Force: The effects of these spells move with a ship if they are anchored to it. Otherwise, they do not move with a ship, and a ship running into them makes a ramming maneuver.

Prismatic Sphere, Prismatic Spray, Prismatic Wall: These spells do not start fires on a ship unless the ship passes through the spell effect and rolls a natural 1 on its saving throw against fire damage. A prismatic sphere or prismatic wall moves with a ship if it is anchored to the ship. Otherwise, it does not move with a ship.

Wind Wall: The effects of this spell move with a ship if it is anchored to the ship.

How do you anchor a spell to the ship? Where are the rules explaining how that works? How would Wind Wall become anchored? How would an instantaneous Prismatic Spray affect a passing ship?


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

I was checking the mounted combat, ride and handle animal rules again, and I found no clear answer to this. Apparently, you cannot move your mount unless you spend a move action (free for whoever it is free) telling your mount to move wherever you want them to move.

However, there are no tricks that say "move into that direction" or "move towards that rock". We have the attack ("go to that guy and attack him"), come ("come to me, its safe") and heel ("follow me closely, its safe").

The seek trick is the closest, which tells the animal to move into an area and look for "anything that is obviously alive or animate.". But this doesn't sound right. An "area" is something different from a "direction".

The riding general purpose only teaches come, heel and stay:

Quote:
Riding (DC 15) An animal trained to bear a rider knows the tricks come, heel, and stay. Training an animal for riding takes three weeks.

And the combat general purpose simply adds attack options.

But how would you tell your animal (companion or not) to go to a specific place you are pointing them to? How would you tell your mount that they have to move, what direction to move, and how far they should move? Sounds like you would have to push your animal (DC 25) with a full-round action (move for those who make it a move), which doesn't sound right.

Going into the Ride skill, the only option we have is to guide with knees, so you can have your hands free. Or spur the creature, but that simply increases their speed.

You also have the option to make your mount "attack" if they are combat trained, but this is overlapping the attack trick from the handle animal skill. But unlike handle animal, using ride to make your mount attack is always a free action.

If I want to make my mount move into a target so I can attack him, I also have to tell my mount to "attack" using the trick with the same name, which could be impossible for my mount if the target is more than one move action away from her. Otherwise, both will attack, which isn't what we normally see on mounted combat on any media (of course, its a game, but still). I simply want for my mount to take me to my target.

How do you move your mount to the direction you want?

The mounted combat rules or the FAQ clarifying it also did not help much in my quest for knowledge.

Quote:


Your mount acts on your initiative count as you direct it. You move at its speed, but the mount uses its action to move.

Cool, but how do I tell the mount to move and the direction and distance I want them to go? How do I make them stop before my target so I can attack him instead of tramping over him or avoiding him instinctively to avoid collision? Or even prevent a sudden stop that could throw the rider into the ground by accident.

Quote:
Combat while Mounted: With a DC 5 Ride check, you can guide your mount with your knees so as to use both hands to attack or defend yourself. This is a free action.

Well, I do not want to guide with my knees, I want to guide with one of my hands, so I can attack with the other. Also, does this "guiding" works as a handle animal check to make the mount move? Does it make the mount spend a move action so they can move?

Quote:
If your mount charges (...)

This is even cooler. But I don't want my mount to charge, I want for my mount to move, not attack someone. Afaik, you cannot charge and forfeit your attack, and I am unsure how I would tell my mount (tricks) to do that anyway if it was possible.

Quote:
Likewise, you can take move actions normally.

This not really helpful if I am making handle animal checks every round. Sometimes possibly even more than one check.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

On classes that have abilities to pick from a list, like rage powers, rogue talents, arcanas, and so on, there are archetypes that modify said list saying that it complements the archetype. But many times, that ability is not being "complemented" at all, as the class already had access to those options.

This happens on several archetypes. For example, the magus's bladebound archetype (from ultimate magic) says the following:

Quote:


Magus Arcana: The following magus arcana complement
the bladebound magus archetype: arcane accuracy, broad
study, dispelling strike, and ref lection.

But all the listed arcanas are already available to the magus (from the same book). In fact, they are all options from the base class, when arcanas are introduced to us.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I have two questions about the Hybridization Funnel

1) Does it count as one or two attacks?

2) How does it interact with abilities like a Far Strike Monk's Ki Missile.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Yes, i know they do not qualify for Improved Familiar because alchemists lack a caster level.

But could you take a Tumor Familiar that has a Familiar Archetype?

I searched for several pages and found no official answer on this.


If a synthetist is fused with his eidolon (and thus cannot be targeted by spells) and a fireball is cast around him, who takes damage?


From the effect of a supernatural ability duplicating the effect of a spell of the transmutation subschool polymorph, the druid gains the natural attacks of the assumed form and proficiency sufficient to use those attacks. The druid uses his own base attack bonus but his modified ability scores to determine attack bonus and final damage with these natural attacks.

However, more than once iv seen people mentioning both the Natural Attacks table from the Universal Monster rules, and mentioning the damage dice from the bestiary entry of certain creatures.

Example: The Behemoth Hippopotamus has a 4d8 bite (according to the table, 2d6), even though he has no special abilities to increase his bite damage. Which makes a Hippo's bite stronger than that of a Tyrannosaur (4d6), even being one size cathegory smaller.

So which one is official for druids? The general (universal monster rules) or the specific (individual creature statblock)?


Quote:
Retry: (...) When using detect magic or identify to learn the properties of magic items, you can only attempt to ascertain the properties of an individual item once per day. Additional attempts reveal the same results.

Does this mean that other abilities (that work as detect magic) that are neither detect magic or identify can be used more than once per day?

Such as: Arcane Sight, Detect Charm, Technomancy, Greater Detect Magic, or Analyze Aura.

Spoiler:

Arcane Sight: Similar to of detect magic.

Detect Charm: as detect magic.

Technomancy: This spell functions as detect magic.

Greater Detect Magic: This spell functions as detect magic.

Analyze Aura: as detect magic to determine a magic aura’s power.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

The gun scavenger is a gunslinger archetype with high-risk-high-reward mechanics that increase misfire chances in exchange of great benefits:

Go By Feel (Ex):

A gun scavenger’s intuitive and unique style leaves her firearms prone to misfire, whether as a result of using too much powder, using imperfectly milled parts, or any number of other minor inconsistencies. When using a firearm, a gun scavenger cannot reduce that firearm’s misfire chance to 0; it can always misfire on a natural 1.

A gun scavenger gains the following deeds at the listed level:

Change Out (Ex):
Change Out (Ex) At 1st level, as a full-round action, a gun scavenger can remove the broken condition from a single firearm she is currently wielding, as long as that condition was gained by a firearm misfire. When she does, she can replace the broken part with a specialized, short-lived component that does one of the following: gives the firearm the scatter weapon quality; increases the damage dealt by the pistol-whip deed by one die size; or increases the firearm’s range increment by 10 feet. A firearm with such a modification increases its misfire chance cumulatively by 1 each time it is fired until it misfires. When it does misfire, the effects of the temporary component are lost. A gun scavenger must have at least 1 grit point to perform this deed. Alternatively, if the gun scavenger spends 1 grit point to perform a change out, she can either perform the change out as a standard action instead of a full-round action, or perform the change out on a firearm that isn’t broken.

Now, for the Pistol of Infinite Sky, it says:

Pistol of Infinite Sky:

An infinity symbol is engraved on both sides of this +5 pistol’s mother of pearl grip, and the barrel is adorned with gold depicting the moon, planets, and stars against a night sky of the pistol’s cold black steel. This pistol never needs to be reloaded. After one shot is fired, a bullet and powder magically appear in the chamber. This ammunition never suffers a misfire.

Then what happens if a gun scavenger rolls a natural 1 when using a Pistol of the Infinite Sky or tries to modify it with Change Out ?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Instant Enemy is an enchantment that targets one creature and has the following effect:

Quote:
With this spell you designate the target as your favored enemy for the remainder of its duration. Select one of your favored enemy types. For the duration of the spell, you treat the target as if it were that type of favored enemy for all purposes.

In a Paizo forums discussion on this very subject, we have the following quote from Owen Stephens:

Quote:

This is not an official response, BUT.

RAW says the target is treated as "that type of favored enemy," not that type of CREATURE. So if an effect or ability triggers off a favored enemy, then yes it applies. But animal growth requires a creature to be a type of creature (animal), it does not care if the target is a specific kind of favored enemy. That's parsing, but I am am very comfortable with it even as a RAW solution.

What exactly does the spell mean when it says 'all purposes'?

So, do we have any official answer on how this spell should work?


I know the ACG had a few editing problems, but there is one rule about archetype that seems to be missing from books that came after it.

The Advanced Class Guide added the following paragraph on the archetype rules:

Quote:
If an archetype replaces a class feature that has a series of improvements, but it does not list one individual improvement, that class feature replaces the entire class feature and all of its improvements. For example, if a class feature says that it replaces trap sense without mentioning a specific bonus, it replaces all of trap sense.

However, this rule cannot be found on the rules for archetypes on the PRD (only on the ACG page about archetypes), nor it was reprinted on the Occult Adventures or Ultimate Intrigue.

So, what happened to this rule? Is it valid for archetypes that came before ACG? What about archetypes that came after ACG? Why it isnt on the PRD?


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

The vestigial arms granted by the alchemist discovery are a copy of the alchemist's arms or they are completely different?

Im not asking about extra attacks, but if a race with natural claws, like a tengu or a succubus alchemist 2, take the discovery, will they have 3 claws now? Or the new vestigial arm is always "human-like"?


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

I digged the boards and went as far as the rules for "recovery rolls" that didnt make through the playtest, but couldn't find an answer for this.

Effects that call for a saving throw at the end of your turn will explicitly say so, such as Glitterdust, Mental Block or Coward's Lament. Those that are at the start of your turn will also say so, such as Greater Command, Web Cloud or Death Knell Aura.
Or will simply say exactly when those creatures get to make a save, such as Entangle saying they must save at the end of the caster's turn.

Other spells, like Hold Person, have a specific mechanic in place (for Hold Person, a full-round action) so the creature can make this save to end the effect.

But for Turn Undead against intelligent undead, it simply says "each round". So is this saving throw made a the start of their turn, or at the end of their turn. Or the target chooses when to make this save?

Turn Undead:

Calling upon higher powers, you cause undead to flee from the might of your unleashed divine energy.

Prerequisites: Channel positive energy class feature.

Benefit: You can, as a standard action, use one of your uses of channel positive energy to cause all undead within 30 feet of you to flee, as if panicked. Undead receive a Will save to negate the effect. The DC for this Will save is equal to 10 + 1/2 your cleric level + your Charisma modifier. Undead that fail their save flee for 1 minute. Intelligent undead receive a new saving throw each round to end the effect. If you use channel energy in this way, it has no other effect (it does not heal or harm nearby creatures).

By the definition of a "Round", that means 6 seconds of real time.

Round:
Round

Combat is measured in rounds. During an individual round, all creatures have a chance to take a turn to act, in order of initiative. A round represents 6 seconds in the game world.

So if we rule that it's at the start of a creature's turn, then it may be anywhere between 0 and 5,99~ seconds, depending on their initiative order.
If we rule it's at the end of a creature's turn, then it could be a little closer to 6 seconds.

If we rule that it's at the end of the round, after 6 seconds have past, then the ability's text should say "after each round".


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Quoting the FAQ on the magus and spellstrike:

Quote:

Other than deploying the spell with a melee weapon attack instead of a melee touch attack, the magus spellstrike ability doesn’t change the normal rules for using touch spells in combat (Core Rulebook 185).

On a related topic, the magus touching his held weapon doesn’t count as “touching anything or anyone” when determining if he discharges the spell. A magus could even use the spellstrike ability, miss with his melee attack to deliver the spell, be disarmed by an opponent (or drop the weapon voluntarily, for whatever reason), and still be holding the charge in his hand, just like a normal spellcaster. Furthermore, the weaponless magus could pick up a weapon (even that same weapon) with that hand without automatically discharging the spell, and then attempt to use the weapon to deliver the spell. However, if the magus touches anything other than a weapon with that hand (such as retrieving a potion), that discharges the spell as normal.

He does say that touching will discharge the spell, and that his weapon doesnt count as touching anything or anyone.

If the magus decides to NOT use spellstrike when casting a touch spell, could he hold the charge and still make weapon attacks against enemies without discharing it?


I would like to have Order 4140205 canceled, i thought it was the physical copy and only realized it wasnt after i got the e-mail with no shipping cost. Sorry

Att.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

The bestiary 2 added two options for Summon Monster spell.

Entropic Simple Template
Resolute Simple Template

Quote:
Entropic Creature (CR +0 or +1) Creatures with the entropic template live in planes where chaos is paramount. They can be summoned using spells such as summon monster and planar ally. An entropic creature’s CR increases by +1 only if the base creature has 5 or more HD. An entropic creature’s quick and rebuild rules are the same.

But what happens when a Chaotic Good caster summons a creature? Does it get the Celestial and Entropic templates? Or Only one of them?

The footnote on the SRD says "or", but that text is not written on any book or errata i could find, and is not valid from a raw perspective.

And i couldn't find anywhere in the books where it says something like "a chaotic caster can apply the entropic template to the creature". Saying that you must have the correct aligment for chaotic and lawful templates.


Promted by this topic on stackexchange.

Are skills considered "abilities"?

Quote:
Skills represent some of the most basic and yet most fundamental abilities your character possesses. As your character advances in level, he can gain new skills and improve his existing skills dramatically.
Quote:
Psychic Inception: The hypnotic stare and its penalty can affect creatures that are mindless or immune to mind-affecting effects (such as an undead or vermin). The mesmerist can also partially affect such a creature with his mind-affecting spells and abilities if it's under the effect of his hypnotic stare; it gains a +2 bonus on its saving throw (if any), and if affected, it still has a 50% chance each round of ignoring the effect. Ignoring the effect doesn't end the effect, but does allow the creature to act normally for that round.


Dolar is 3.50 in my country with no expectative of going back down, subscription cost is skyrocketing for me, sorry.


Hello, i received today my June's orders, but no signal of Order 3531155 (April's). Do you guys have any way to track that package so i know it's not lost in some warehouse around here?


Long story short:
A player wants to tie up a hexing doll on his net and throw it at his enemies so they get the -4 will penalty from the doll.

So i ask, what is pathfinder's definition of carrying something? Is it something on their possession, or simply anything that is dragged along with their movement? Such as arrows fired at them, things glued on them, or a net that was thrown at them, etc.


It was a short subscription, and as much as i love the maps, i wish to cancel my Pathfinder Maps Subscription.
On the last package, the map came labeled as "games" and that caused the entire package to be taxed for about USD 42 in my country (brazil), so i had to ask for a review on the tax (which will take about 3 months to get done *sigh*).
As i dont want every package to get delayed for so long, i prefer to buy the maps from amazon.

Thanks.


Hello,
I got the package #3 of my Order 3403233, and i believe the wrong book was sent to me:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/prqagh6e1dim3lw/wrong_bestiary.jpg

You can see in the image from package #3 bellow that my order contained an Advanced Bestiary (from Green Ronin), but the package came with a Bestiary 1 book.

Also, i havent recieved package #1 yet, but on package #2 says it should have two books (demons revisited and bestiary 3), but it came only with the bestiary 3 (the book is fine, no complaints). I wonder if the demons revisited was shipped instead on package #1 or it will be missing.

Packages #1 and 2

Package #3 (misplaced bestiary)

Att,


Hello. There was a "Into the Darklands" (PZO09204) in my order, but istead i got the "Guide to Darkmoon Vale". Everything else was fine, i got both packages, thanks.

Att,


Hello, i just made this order, and i would like to request that it is split into two package if possible, with the price of each product on the cover of each package separatedly, with the content written on bigger font than standard (preferably, a big "BOOK" text written on it with a marker).

If possible.
Thanks :)

Att,


I got an e-mail on 17/11 (10 days ago) about my transaction being declined (insufficient funds on credit card), which i fixed promptly and clicked to "Try Payment Method Again", but even since i had no news about that order.


Hello, im from Brazil and it's the third time im being taxed on orders from paizo, which have zero taxes as they are mostly books. But due to the lack of info on the cover of the packages or any info at all about the contents of the package, they are taxing it as games or toys, and i have to pay almost twice the original cost.

This time, and it's the third time, was on Order 3322046. I sent an e-mail in the past to customer service about this issue, because im being forced to pay an extra 30-40 USD on orders, which i shouldnt have.
The first two times i paid the taxes so i could get my hands on my packages, but this time im not going to waste any more money on this.

The issue is that they are looking at the package, try to figure out what are the contents, and simply put a tax on it. I know it's not paizo's fault, but the description of the package could help on this issue.
All i can do is ask for a review of the tax, which takes about 3 months to get solved, and when it does, i have to pay again to cover process costs.

If this keep happening, i will probably have to cancel my subscription.

Att,


Hello,
I would like to know if, by any chance, the package #2 of order 3064293 was returned to Paizo.
I got the first package (with 2 items), but not the other one. Im missing more than half's the order products.

For the record, its a package with a bunch of maps.

Att,

EDIT
To save some time, its not possible to check my local carrier without a tracking number.


I was checking the rules for recharging a staff, and it mentions that you need a prepared slot or daily spell slot to cast and recharge a staff, but could a spell-like ability be used to recharge a staff?

Quote:
Recharging Staves: Staves hold a maximum of 10 charges. Each spell cast from a staff consumes one or more charges. When a staff runs out of charges, it cannot be used until it is recharged. Each morning, when a spellcaster prepares spells or regains spell slots, he can also imbue one staff with a portion of his power so long as one or more of the spells cast by the staff is on his spell list and he is capable of casting at least one of the spells. Imbuing a staff with this power restores one charge to the staff, but the caster must forgo one prepared spell or spell slot of a level equal to the highest-level spell cast by the staff. For example, a 9th-level wizard with a staff of fire could imbue the staff with one charge per day by using up one of his 4th-level spells. A staff cannot gain more than one charge per day and a caster cannot imbue more than one staff per day.

I was reading this thread, and they kept using summoner's summon monster (a spell-like ability) as example to recharge staves.


Dragon Ferocity:

Prerequisites: Str 15, Improved Unarmed Strike, Dragon Style, Stunning Fist, Acrobatics 5 ranks.

Benefit: While using Dragon Style, you gain a bonus on unarmed strike damage rolls equal to half your Strength bonus. When you score a critical hit or a successful Stunning Fist attempt against an opponent while using this style, that opponent is also shaken for a number of rounds equal to 1d4 + your Strength bonus.

Special: Taking this feat allows you to qualify for the Elemental Fist feat even if you do not meet that feat’s prerequisites. If you do not meet that feat’s prerequisites, you must choose one of the damage types that feat offers, and you can use only that damage type with your Elemental Fist attacks until you meet the feat’s normal prerequisites. A monk with this feat can use Elemental Fist as if he were a monk of the four winds.

A) Does that mean the monk recieves Elemental Fist as if he were a monk of the four winds by buying Dragon Ferocity.
B) Or it means that he will obtain the benefits whenever he buys Elemental Fist and it will treat him as if he were a monk of four winds?

B sounds valid because style feats can be bought by non-monk. But the text makes me believe its A, they get two feats if they are monks.

Which one is correct? Or neither is?


When a monster has multiple spell-like abilities that have the same daily limit, do they all have a separate limit or they share the same limit?
Example: If a monster has 1/day Invisibility, Protection from Evil, Flaming Hands. Each SLA can be used once per day, or they pick one of them to cast and its done?


I just recently started my AP subscription, and i have to praise paizo for the quality of the adventures, they are really well done and we can tell there was a good amount of work put into the stories.

But i do have to complain about the binding used on it, i recieved my Mummy Mask #1 last week, and started reading it.

This was 3 days ago, when i noticed the first few pages were a little "off" as if they were about to unglue":

Picture 1

And this was today, i was on page 32, when the first few pages came off while i was checking the first map again:

Picture 2


How would you guys rule the pricing for a wondrous item that allows cure light wounds 5 times a day?

Few sessions ago, the bard in my group asked me to let him craft an oil that can be applied on wounds that heals as cure light wounds (1d8+1) 5 times a day, with the restriction that he needs the Heal skill to apply it and that it cant be used in combat (the oil takes time to take effect).

I checked the table and following the examples (latern of revelation and cape of mountebank), if the effect is continuous it is 2000 po base price, but if it has a command word anyone can use it as long as they know that word, which goes to 1800 po.

What i dont get is why the use activated and continuous effect are the same price. Or it doesnt matter at all?

Anyway, i based the final price on 2000 po, with a reduction of 30% due to all the restrictions. And allowed him to craft it for 700 po.
Note that a skill restriction is only 10%, while a class or alignment restriction is 30%, and you cant apply both. I ruled it as 30% for being both a skill (RaW) and only outside combat (house) because otherwise he would just make it "bard-only" restriction, and since he is the one carrying it around and applying it, it didnt really matter.

Back to the initial question, how would you guys rule the creation of an item like that?