Thief

bearcatbd's page

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber. Venture-Agent, Ohio—Cincinnati 62 posts. 3 reviews. 1 list. No wishlists. 14 Organized Play characters. 1 alias.




Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Came up in my game yesterday. Monster has player (A) grabbed and his ally, player (B), successfully Shoves the creature 5 feet (Telekinetic Maneuver in this case). Does that automatically end his grab on player A because he was shoved? We ruled it would but I can’t find a rule reference.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

In the errata the Attack tag was removed from Spiritual Weapon. The spell description states you make a Strike with it and it contributes to multi-attack penalty. I assume we are still rolling a Spell Attack both when you first fire off the spell and when sustained. How does this spell NOT have the attack tag? Mistake or am I missing something here?


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

On CRB pg 159 lists special unarmed attacks for Monk. Some, like Falling Stone, do not include the Agile trait. My assumption was that all unarmed attacks are agile (per weapon table pg 280). This seems like they are in conflict with one another.

So if a Monk is in Mountain Stance are his/her attacks truly NOT agile even though they are listed as Unarmed?


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Is there a check required for the familiar to learn the spell it consumes in 1 hr? The way it reads it seems like no check required.

“Your familiar can learn new spells independently of your patron. It can learn any spell on your tradition’s spell list by physically consuming a scroll of that spell in a process that takes 1 hour. You can use the Learn a Spell exploration activity to prepare a special written version of a spell, which your familiar can consume as if it were a scroll. You and your familiar can use the Learn a Spell activity to teach your familiar a spell from another witch’s familiar. Both familiars must be present for the entirety of the activity, the spell must be on your spellcasting tradition’s spell list, and you must pay the usual cost for that activity, typically in the form of an offering to the other familiar’s patron. You can’t prepare spells from another witch’s familiar."


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Does the shield hardness block from multiple sources on the same attack? In other words, attack does 10 physical + 8 fire. Does a harness of 5 reduce each? One or the other? Or just combine the damage and subtract 5 off the 18 total?


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

If there are two concealment conditions at play does the attacker have to make two flat checks? For instance, attacker is under the influence of Shroud of Night and all creatures are concealed to it. The player it is attacking has Blur or Mistform.

Two checks or just one? I'm guessing there is a rule somewhere about what happens when the same effect is in play more than once but it's not jumping out at me.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

All the Witch’s Hex spells can be sustained. I have a few questions....

If the target succeeds at the saving throw and is unaffected, such as Evil Eye, can you still sustain the spell (like Flaming Sphere)? Or is the spell just lost on a success? Wording is “Regardless of the outcome, the target is then temporarily immune for 1 minute.” If you can still sustain it, I assume that target is immune and you have to shift to another target in that case.

With Clinging Ice Hex it states “Once this spell ends, the target becomes temporarily immune for 1 minute.” So does that mean you can target the same creature next round and they have to re-roll the save each time then?


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Question came up in an encounter...my familiar delivered a touch spell (via Spell Delivery Master Ability) in the round. Another player then moves in to attack on the opposite side of the monster. Does the familiar allow for flanking in this case?


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Is this feat intended to let the Witch craft a batch (6) of a potion or oil as part of her/his daily preparations similar to Alchemist? It doesn't seem written that way though. The way it's written is like you can craft some alchemy without taking the craft alchemy feat? If so, this seems like a pretty lame feat. Reason I ask is because the subsequent feats that list Cauldron as a Prerequisite use the 'during your daily preparations' language.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

I have players hitting level 9 who are half-elf and there is no ancestry feat beyond 5th in the CRB. Seems odd since there are for half-orc. Has anyone heard if more ancestry feats specific to half-elf coming in the APG coming out soon?


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Had it come up in a scenario I was GM'ing where a fighter wanted to use his +3 Bulwark reflex save bonus against a Bloodseeker Swarm's Swarming Bites attack. I allowed it but wondering what other's think?

The rule uses a fireball example. I see this as a more 'instantaneous' event as opposed to constantly standing in the midst of a swarm where several creatures could find ways into your armor. Otherwise I lean towards allowing the rule I suppose.

*** Venture-Agent, Ohio—Cincinnati

Can society characters enlist in other Golarion organizations? If so, is that a downtime process?

For instance, I have a rogue that would fit well with Firebrands AND there are some feats available only to Firebrands of certain rank. Is that something a player declares during downtime similar to crafting check? Or are those sort of options just not available to society characters?

Thanks in advance!


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

I'm sure this has already been asked somewhere but I can't seem to find it. Anyway, if I start the Sorcerer dedication at higher level, say 6th level Rogue, and then take the Basic Sorcerer Spellcasting feat at 8th level. Am I getting all the spell slots for my current character's level or is it from the time I started becoming a Sorcerer?

I assume you get all the slots immediately (i.e. 8th level Rogue who has only been a Sorcerer for two levels would still have 2 cantrips, 1-1st lvl, 1-2nd lvl, & 1-3rd lvl spell slots.

As opposed to having 2 cantrips and only 1-1st lvl slot because he only started progressing at lvl 6 instead of 4th.

I believe according to the RAW it's the first scenario but intuitively it seems like he would need to invest time developing his sorcerer skills/slots and progress like a 1st lvl Sorcerer normally would have from the time he started becoming a sorcerer.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

In the description for Khopesh weapon it says "The tip of a khopesh is usually hooked so that it can be used to disarm an opponent’s shield or weapon." However, it does not have the 'disarm' trait listed, just 'trip'? Assuming it was omitted by mistake?


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Looking for some help on PF2 rule for harvesting poison(s) from dead monsters. In PF1 there where DC rules for trying to harvest from, say a spider's poison sacs, but not clear to me if there is anything in 2E for this. I realize there is Craft Poison but it seems to me that one should have a chance at extracting a poison that is already in usable form. Thoughts on this?


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

I am not quite understanding the process for adjusting encounters as written in the Rulebook. My group has a party size of 3 (lvl 2 characters) and set to face off against 2 wights (lvl 3 creatures) in the encounter. XP award says 120 which would indicate the adventure wants this as a Severe threat level. Book says I should adjust down 30 XP budget for the encounter with 3 in the party. Can someone tell me how I decide what creatures/how to adjust the enounter?

I thought substituting 2 Skeletal Champions might be a way to go but I’d like to understand the mechanics better. Thank you.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Recently played a scenario with Rogue. The situation was that our party entered the clearing area with creatures we spotted and were not yet in encounter mode. We rolled high enough knowledge check (nature I believe) to know they were dangerous and then decided we would attack them. GM called for initiative. Since I am Rogue I told GM I was rolling Stealth for initiative (i.e. Surprise Attack). However, GM ruled that because I wasn’t actively trying to sneak that I couldn’t and had to use Perception. So I did and game went on. But as I read the rule it isn’t a feature related to sneaking necessarily and, in fact, could role deception as well. Seems that the Rogue gets this just because they tend to react faster than other foes not because they’re trying to sneak (rule below). Which is correct?

Surprise Attack
You spring into combat faster than foes can react. On the first round of combat, if you roll Deception or Stealth for initiative, creatures that haven’t acted are flat-footed to you.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Recently played a scenario with Rogue. The situation was that our party entered the clearing area with creatures we spotted and were not yet in encounter mode. We rolled high enough knowledge check (nature I believe) to know they were dangerous and then decided we would attack them. GM called for initiative. Since I am Rogue I told GM I was rolling Stealth for initiative (i.e. Surprise Attack). However, GM ruled that because I wasn’t actively trying to sneak that I couldn’t and had to use Perception. So I did and game went on. But as I read the rule it isn’t a feature related to sneaking necessarily and, in fact, could role deception as well. Seems that the Rogue gets this just because they tend to react faster than other foes not because they’re trying to sneak (rule below). Which is correct?

Surprise Attack
You spring into combat faster than foes can react. On the first round of combat, if you roll Deception or Stealth for initiative, creatures that haven’t acted are flat-footed to you.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

So one of my players created a 1st lvl Sorceress with Aberrant bloodline. According to the rulebook, she gets the Improved Grapple bonus feat. Yet the description for that feet requires Dex 13, she has 11 though. Does she still get to have the feat because it is a Bloodline ability?