Dog

Yure's page

Organized Play Member. 303 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character. 1 alias.



Liberty's Edge

Is there no plans to have the Vanguard in 2e?

What about the Mechanic? No technomancer? How did the Witchwarper even sneak into the core?

Liberty's Edge

Did sunder get an errata or FAQ fix? Is it in the works for still being considered or no?

Liberty's Edge

I was really digging the idea of a blind Vlaka pilot that uses aircraft screens to get over the 60ft limitation when it came to space combat. However as I kept looking for ways to make this work, I realized that blind meant he could not even look at a screen in front of him. So then I thought of just making him deaf. Which I thought I could make work, but the more I started looking into this I realized. How do Vlakas communicate if deaf?

They could know 10 languages, but one, I'd be curious to know how they speak it if they have not heard it. Two, when communicating with the group how does that work?

Is it possible to add able to read lips into the Vlaka's race description. If not it seems to me my character is going to be stuck with a datapad in his hands or going to have to find a telepathic communicator.

Those of you who have played Vlakas, how do you overcome these challenges?

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Is there any rules in regards to multiple PCs attempting to assist another in attempting a grapple check?

Liberty's Edge

Could you move through a square as part of a move action to move to another points, and pick up an item as you pass that square as another move action (just in between your move action)? Kind of like Spring Attack...

Liberty's Edge

Imprinting Hand (Su) (Mythic Adventures pg. 22): By touching a foe, you can gain knowledge about it, including its weaknesses. To use this ability, you must first successfully hit a foe with an unarmed strike, natural weapon, or melee touch attack to make contact, then use this ability is a free action. As long as the target remains within 1 mile of you, you always know the direction and approximate distance to it. If the foe has any weaknesses or vulnerabilities (including a mythic flaw), you immediately know this information. You can maintain this connection with only one creature at a time; if you use this ability on another creature, your connection with the previous creature is lost.

How exactly does it work or what limits are there to this ability?

The way I read it, it seems that by touching the creature I get to know everything about it?

Is this correct or am I missing something?

Liberty's Edge

Once a creature is killed and not undead, do they become items?

Looking for the purpose of Shrink Item.

But also curious for future options.

What Rules or FAQs support your position?

Liberty's Edge

Is there a range on feint?

Liberty's Edge

What is the range of regular vision?

If one has a 20ft light source in a darkness area, what is the range of dim lighting after it?

Is it double the range so 40ft of dim lighting? Or just an extra 20ft?

Lastly which page or section can I find this?

Liberty's Edge

Quote:

Double Tap (Combat)

Source Character Operations Manual pg. 114
You can make rapid small arm attacks to increase the effectiveness of your attacks.

Prerequisites: Weapon Focus (small arms), proficiency with small arms.

Benefit: As a standard action, you can take a single attack action to make a double-tap attack with a small arm. This attack gains a +1 bonus to the attack roll, and your bonus to damage from Weapon Specialization is equal to your character level (rather than half your character level). The small arm used cannot have the blast, explode, flexible line, line, unwieldy, or wide line weapon special properties, or any other property that allows it to attack multiple targets or an area in a single attack. This attack cannot benefit from the boost, guided, or variant boost weapon special properties, or any other ability or effect that is a move action and alters the effect of your attack or damage. This expends ammunition equal to two attack rolls, and if you cannot expend that ammunition, you cannot use this ability.

Why is there even a pre-requisite on this?

Liberty's Edge

Quote:

Versatile Specialization (Combat)

Source Starfinder Core Rulebook pg. 163
You know how to get full value out of weapon types your class doesn’t normally use.

Prerequisites: Weapon Specialization, character level 3rd.

Benefit: You gain specialization (see page 243) in all weapons with which you are proficient that can be selected with Weapon Specialization.

Quote:

Weapon Specialization (Combat)

Source Starfinder Core Rulebook pg. 163
You know how to get the full damage out of a weapon type your class doesn’t normally use.

Prerequisites: Character level 3rd, proficiency with selected weapon type.

Benefit: Choose one weapon type (small arms, longarms, heavy weapons, etc.). You gain specialization in that weapon type, which means you add your character level to damage with the selected weapon type, or half your character level for small arms or operative melee weapons. You can never have specialization in grenades.

Why would anyone or any of the classes ever choose Weapon Specialization over Versatile?

Liberty's Edge

Was looking for the answer to this and found someone asked it on reddit. Wanted to get a community's or developer's take on this with a possible FAQ.

So I stole the question word for word.

"The wording of Clever Feint

Clever Faint (Ex) [Sense-Dependent]

As a standard action, you can fake out an enemy within 60 feet, making that enemy open to your attacks. Attempt a Bluff check with the same DC as a check to feint against that enemy (though this isn’t a standard check to feint, so Improved Feint and Greater Feint don’t apply). Even if you fail, that enemy is flat-footed against your attacks (see page 276) until the end of your next turn. If you succeed, the enemy is also flat-footed against your allies’ attacks until the end of your next turn. You can’t use clever feint against a creature that lacks an Intelligence score

The wording of Flatfooted

Flat-Footed: You take a –2 penalty to AC, and you cannot take reactions or make attacks of opportunity.

Note the bolded portions above. What does Flatfooted "against my attacks" mean? Do they have the actual condition or not? Can they make AoOs against me? Can they take a reaction as long as it's triggered by someone other than the Feinter or his allies? Do we just get the advantage of -2 AC and none of the other benefits of Flatfooted?"

Liberty's Edge

Quote:

Spell Specialization

Select one spell. You cast that spell with greater than normal power.

Prerequisites: Int 13, Spell Focus.

Benefit: Select one spell of a school for which you have taken the Spell Focus feat. Treat your caster level as being two higher for all level-variable effects of the spell.

Every time you gain an even level in the spellcasting class you chose your spell from, you can choose a new spell to replace the spell selected with this feat, and that spell becomes your specialized spell.

Special: You can gain this feat multiple times. Its effects do not stack. Each time you take the feat, it applies to a different spell.

From reading a few suggestions on the internet it seems this also increases the Caster Level by two and therefore also increasing the DC of the spell? Is this correct?

The way I read this is that for spells that have level-variable effect (like damage per level, range per level, etc) it increases your level and therefore increasing the potential damage or range upto the max cap out?

The understanding of one is quite useful as it would increase DC vs spell and damage and range, etc. but on the other one it's kind of meh...

Liberty's Edge

Quote:

Challenge (Ex): Once per day, a cavalier can challenge a foe to combat. As a swift action, the cavalier chooses one target within sight to challenge. The cavalier’s melee attacks deal extra damage whenever the attacks are made against the target of his challenge. This extra damage is equal to the cavalier’s level. The cavalier can use this ability once per day at 1st level, plus one additional time per day for every three levels beyond 1st, to a maximum of seven times per day at 19th level.

Challenging a foe requires much of the cavalier’s concentration. The cavalier takes a –2 penalty to his Armor Class, except against attacks made by the target of his challenge.

The challenge remains in effect until the target is dead or unconscious or until the combat ends. Each cavalier’s challenge also includes another effect which is listed in the section describing the cavalier’s order.

What happens when the target of a challenge teleports away? Also what happens if the challenger has ability to tell direction and distance the target went to?

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

The situation has come up again from this long thread.
https://paizo.com/threads/rzs2n253?Weapons-in-both-hands-and-iterative-atta cks

The FAQ only partially answered the question in regards to two weapon fighting penalties, but not on whether off hands get damage penalties during iterative attacks. Could this be addressed or is it meant that no penalty (including strength penalty) is incurred when using iterative attacks using weapons in both hands?

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Quote:

Natural Attacks: Attacks made with natural weapons, such as claws and bites, are melee attacks that can be made against any creature within your reach (usually 5 feet). These attacks are made using your full attack bonus and deal an amount of damage that depends on their type (plus your Strength modifier, as normal). You do not receive additional natural attacks for a high base attack bonus. Instead, you receive additional attack rolls for multiple limb and body parts capable of making the attack (as noted by the race or ability that grants the attacks). If you possess only one natural attack (such as a bite—two claw attacks do not qualify), you add 1–1/2 times your Strength bonus on damage rolls made with that attack.

Some natural attacks are denoted as secondary natural attacks, such as tails and wings. Attacks with secondary natural attacks are made using your base attack bonus minus 5. These attacks deal an amount of damage depending on their type, but you only add half your Strength modifier on damage rolls.

You can make attacks with natural weapons in combination with attacks made with a melee weapon and unarmed strikes, so long as a different limb is used for each attack. For example, you cannot make a claw attack and also use that hand to make attacks with a longsword. When you make additional attacks in this way, all of your natural attacks are treated as secondary natural attacks, using your base attack bonus minus 5 and adding only 1/2 of your Strength modifier on damage rolls. Feats such as Two-Weapon Fighting and Multiattack can reduce these penalties.

-If using two-weapon fighting with a Bite natural attack: Am I correct that the attack bonus for a person with two-weapon fighting(feat) would be BAB-3 (instead of BAB -5)?

-Does Double Slice also affect the damage to this Natural Attack to instead deal full damage as opposed to half?

Liberty's Edge

Looking for some build concept advice for a high dexterity race going samurai brawling blademaster.

Particularly interested in something with Starknife if possible while also keeping Brawling Blademaster's two weapon fighting.

Liberty's Edge

How does the Brawling Blademaster's Empty Hand interact with Two-Weapon defense?

Would I be allowed to take Two-Weapon Defense with it?

Does Empty Hand giving monk level in regards to damage mean that the Brawling blademaster's attack now do full strength damage as well?

Does Empty Hand give the unarmed attack the manufactured property monks get for their unarmed attacks and for improvements?

If so does that mean two-week defense is possible?

Liberty's Edge

Currently the culture skill states

Source Starfinder Core Rulebook pg. 139 wrote:

Culture (Int; Trained Only)

You are a student of the vast number of known cultures in the galaxy, and you have a deep and rich understanding of the undercurrents of cultures and language in general. Each time you take a rank in Culture, you learn to speak and read a new language. See page 41 for a list of common languages.

Source Starfinder Core Rulebook pg. 65 wrote:

Skilled Linguist (Ex; Culture)

You can speak and read a number of bonus languages equal to your ranks in Culture. Additionally, when you attempt a Culture check to decipher writing, you can forgo your expertise die to attempt the check as a full action (rather than the normal 1 minute) per approximately 250 words of writing or fewer.

Is one of these a typo?

Or is it supposed to be double your ranks in Culture?

Or is it the total point of ranks in the Culture skill? (How would this work with temporary bonuses to Culture?)

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

How were these not the first products available? Man talk about take my money! I already own the two goblin plushes, and would like to add the space goblin and a skittermander to the mix.

Liberty's Edge

How would you build an envoy bounty hunter?

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

What exactly does this entail? A con artist can basically touch upon many different subjects. Think of Leonardo DiCaprio in Catch Me if You Can movie.

Does that mean you can make many different types of checks. I would like some of these profession to have descriptions with them. How about profession bounty hunter. I mean how is that one useful where the theme is more in tune with actually getting information?

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Need a semi quick deliberation. Basically Wall of Fire specific ally calls out creatures not objects. Not to mention the magical nature of the fire which the caster can select a side in which the fire burns and which one doesn't.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

"Righteous Awe (Su): Whenever you make an unarmed touch attack against an evil creature, it must succeed at a Will save (DC 10 + 1/2 your inquisitor level + your Wisdom modifier) or become shaken for 1d4 rounds. If the creature touched is an evil outsider, it becomes frightened instead of shaken. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier."

Is this its own attack or would an inquisitor have to make a separate type of touch attack with some other spell or ability in order to activate this?

Liberty's Edge

Greetings Pathfinder,

I have an interesting situation and a few questions created from it.

If a pulled chariot rams into a wall of force how much damage does the vehicle take?

Is the 1d8 damage stated for large vehicles per speed? Or is it just a flat 1d8.

Second question is about the pulling horses

Do they get an attempt to move out of the way since the wall is invisible?

Liberty's Edge

I could have sworn I had seen somewhere where it had beer and alcohol as craft alchemy but now I can't find it.

What is worse is I can't find anything on what it is. Anyone know anything about it?

Liberty's Edge

Hi all! First off I want to state that I'm not a staff or affiliated with RPG Crossing in any official status.

Two of this violates any rules of Paizo's advertising guidelines please excuse the transgressions. From what I had read I don't think this in violation of anything but as with all legal documents... You never know.

Now that that is out of the way I just wanted to take a minute to introduce some of you to

https://www.rpgcrossing.com/cmps_index.php

It is a free play by post site, that houses many players of all types and genres. As of late we have been lacking some pathfinder games, and my intent is to get some GMs and players to head on.over that way to help increase the pathfinder population.

Also it is an excellent site if you are wanting to learn or try play by post as a player and as a GM. As a GM you will get much advice from many other GMs on the challenges that can be seen of play by post.

I've even had the pleasure of playing a pathfinder society game on their, though to be honest we are lacking on official games. Still you'll spot them every so often.

Come on by!

Liberty's Edge

Alright so if I have a sage sorceror and I want to take eldritch heritage line because of wanting more bloodline powers. Does Int now fill the pre-requisite Cha level for the eldritch heritage line?

Liberty's Edge

"ABUNDANT AMMUNITION
School conjuration (summoning); Level bard 1, cleric 1, ranger 1, sorcerer/wizard 1
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M/DF (a single piece of ammunition)
Target one container touched
Duration 1 minute/level
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance no
When cast on a container such as a quiver or a pouch that contains nonmagical ammunition or shuriken, (including masterwork ammunition or shuriken, but not special materials, alchemical attributes, or nonmagical treatments on the ammunition), at the start of each round this spell replaces any ammunition taken from the container the round before. The ammunition taken from the container the round before vanishes. If, after casting this spell, you cast a spell that enhances projectiles, such as align weapon or greater magic weapon, on the same container, all projectiles this spell conjures are affected by that spell."

Question being is does this work with, whistling arrow, blunt arrows, and Smoke Arrows.

Particularly smoke arrows. I mean I don't know how it makes the smoke so it might be alchemically, but it might just be a green shaft burning? Or perhaps it's some powder that disperses on contact?

Any FAQs on this?

Liberty's Edge

What becomes my AC if I have a Haramaki with +5 enhancement and I cast mage armor?

Does it become 9?

Liberty's Edge

Does anyone know what is considered a high quality item for the purpose of fabricate spell? Is creating a masterwork weapon considered high quality?

Liberty's Edge

Can there be a different thread group for unchained questions? The questions I've been seeing have been confusing with the core stuff.

Liberty's Edge

I was under the understanding that during spring attack you could only move up to a single move speed,

Quote:

As a full-round action, you can move up to your speed and make a single melee attack without provoking any attacks of opportunity from the target of your attack. You can move both before and after the attack, but you must move at least 10 feet before the attack and the total distance that you move cannot be greater than your speed. You cannot use this ability to attack a foe that is adjacent to you at the start of your turn.

Normal: You cannot move before and after an attack.

but then I was reading through the FAQ about spring attack and got confused about the distance of the movement...

Quote:

Spring Attack: Can I use Spring Attack to make an attack from an ally's square?

Let's use a diagram of a 5-foot-wide hallway to help visualize this question. Periods are open squares. A is the acting character. Numbers are allies of A. X is the monster.

. . . . . A 1 2 3 X

Using the diagram as a model, the question is, "Can I use Spring Attack to move from A to 3, make an attack on the monster from 3's square, then move back to A and end my turn?"

The answer is "yes." The key to understanding this is the general rule, "you cannot end your movement in an occupied square." Spring Attack is a full-round action; it is not a move action, then an attack, and then another move action, it's one continuous movement with an attack happening in the middle. Thus, with Spring Attack you're not ending your movement until you end your movement for the turn.

To look at it another way, if the character just wanted to move from A to 3 and back to A, that would be a legal move because he's not ending his movement in 3, he's ending his movement back in A. With Spring Attack, the character still isn't ending his movement in 3; the feat gives him the ability to perform an attack as part of the continuous movement from A to 3 to A (regardless of whether that attack happens when he's in an occupied square).

(Even with speed 15, a character moving 15 feet from A to 3 and then 15 feet from 3 to A isn't ending his movement in 3... using a move action to move 15 feet and a standard action to move 15 feet doesn't mean he's actually pausing halfway through his movement to change actions.)

The bolded part specifically seems to suggest that during the spring attack you can move the total of two-move actions during the spring attack. Am I understanding this correct or is my previous understanding the correct one?

Liberty's Edge

I need ideas and suggestions for a familiar for a rogue that plans on having one.

So far I was thinking of small air elemental with the improved familiar feat for the ability to get flanking with it.

Any other suggestions?

Liberty's Edge

So I was GM a module where the Gargoyle swoops in and picks up his ally to take her to safety. However then one of the PCs tries to hold on.

The module didn't explain how the gargoyle carries the ally so I just assumed like a grapple check.

But then the other player grappled the person the gargoyle's ally. Eventually I calculated the weight and the gargoyle was able to swoop both of them up...

But at the end I wasn't sure if this was the correct way to handle this. What are the rules for this? What do y'all think?

Liberty's Edge

Hi! I am currently playing an oracle with the dark tapestry mystery.My question comes about some of the revelations available to the class. I searched for it but all three threads I saw about it died off with no answer. One was requested as a FAQ, but no answer was ever given. Or it was said that it did not need an answer. However I still don't know the answer to the question.

Quote:
Brain Drain (Su): You can take a standard action to violently probe the mind of a single intelligent enemy within 100 feet. The target receives a Will save to negate the effect and immediately knows the source of this harmful mental prying. Those who fail this save are wracked with pain, taking 1d4 points of damage for every oracle level you possess. After successfully attacking with this ability, you may use a full-round action to sort through the jumble of stolen thoughts and memories to make a single Knowledge check using the victim's skill bonus. The randomly stolen thoughts remain in your mind for a number of rounds equal to your Charisma modifier. Treat the knowledge gained as if you had used detect thoughts. This is a mind-affecting effect. You can use this ability once per day at 1st level, plus one additional time per day at 5th level and for every five levels beyond 5th.

How is the Will Save Level determined? Is this 10 + Caster Level + CHA.

Or, 10 + Highest Spell Level + CHA?

Quote:

1st Round: Presence or absence of thoughts (from conscious creatures with Intelligence scores of 1 or higher).

2nd Round: Number of thinking minds and the Intelligence score of each. If the highest Intelligence is 26 or higher (and at least 10 points higher than your own Intelligence score), you are stunned for 1 round and the spell ends. This spell does not let you determine the location of the thinking minds if you can't see the creatures whose thoughts you are detecting.

3rd Round: Surface thoughts of any mind in the area. A target's Will save prevents you from reading its thoughts, and you must cast detect thoughts again to have another chance. Creatures of animal intelligence (Int 1 or 2) have simple, instinctual thoughts.

Is this assumed to be as a 3rd round read? It also says you can do a knowledge check. So if I were to "probe" to see if the target has seen another creature pass through the area recently... would you know the answer?

Any help I could get with this would be helpful. Thanks. Also I apologize if it has been answered before. I looked into the FAQ but it was not there... unless I missed it.

Liberty's Edge

So someone brought to my attention that maintaining a grapple is a standard action and at the least it becomes a move action with greater grapple. I was initially intending on making a beast totem feral gnasher for multiple natural attacks, since improved lockjaw would have freed his claws, but now it seems very pointless. At first I was trying to stay from a heavy grapple build, but it seems I might have to lean that way. Does anyone have any suggestions or ideas?

Liberty's Edge

When I try to go to the PRD portion of the website non of the material that is usually on the left side appears. This probably has something to do with my settings (Just reloaded windows) but if anybody knows how to solve this, that would be great! :-)

Liberty's Edge

If say I had a level 2 Barbarian / 5 Oracle / 4 Rage Prophet;

Would I be able to use the Extra Rage Power Feat and get a 6th level Barbarian Rage Power?

I am trying to find out if anything in the Rage Prophet class allows this to happen. The reason for this is the following paragraph in which I am not sure applies.

Quote:
Savage Seer: A rage prophet's class level stacks with barbarian levels for determining the effect of rage powers, and with oracle levels for determining the effect of oracle revelations and his oracle's curse. This does not grant additional abilities.

Let me know what you guys think. Thanks!

Liberty's Edge

Quote:
Equal Opportunity (Ex): At 13th level, when a two-weapon warrior makes an attack of opportunity, [b]he may attack once with both his primary and secondary weapons[b]. The penalties for attacking with two weapons apply normally. This ability replaces weapon training 3.

My question would be in regards to Combat Reflexes as well. If a player has this combination how does that affect or doesn't affect the Equal Opportunity ability?

Is this only once per day (highly doubt it)? Once per round? Once per turn? Or is this once EVERY time he gets to make AoO?

Liberty's Edge

Does anyone know if the feats Improved Disarm and Greater Disarm still improve the Weapon Snatcher talent for rogues?

Liberty's Edge

So I was looking at the PRD in the Siege Engines portion, and I was trying to find out if any of the special ammunition could be used with the bombard. None of them specifically say the bombard, so I wasn't sure if it's useable for the cannon could it be used for the bombard?

Also where could I find which one of these weapons can be mounted onto ships?

Liberty's Edge

I am currently playing a goblin alchemist, and I have been looking at some of the discoveries and feats I may want for the future. When I ran across these specifically, I began to wonder if this would work.

------------------------------------------------------------------
Torch: 1d2+1(Fire Damage)

Burn!Burn!Burn!: You deal an extra 1d4 points of fire damage when you attack with fire from an alchemical or nonmagical source (such as with alchemical fire or torches) and gain a +4 competence bonus on Reflex saving throws made to avoid catching on fire or to put yourself out when on fire. Additional damage caused by this feat does not apply to magical attacks (such as an alchemist's bomb) or to splash damage.

Fire Brand (Su): An alchemist with this discovery can expend one daily bomb use to apply the bomb reagents to his weapon as a swift action. A weapon treated this way deals fire damage as if it had the flaming weapon special ability. At 10th level, the weapon is treated as if it had the flaming burst weapon special ability. The bomb reagents continue burning for 1 minute or until extinguished by dousing the weapon in water. An alchemist can use this ability with natural weapons, but he takes 1d6 points of fire damage per round for each natural weapon treated.
-------------------------------------------------------------------

I would like some feedback if this would be valid or not. In the Burn!Burn!Burn! feat it says it doesn't work with magical attacks (as in alchemist bombs), but that feat would be going of off the Fire Brand discovery, it would be going off the +1 Torch Fire Damage.

Opinions? Rulings?