Contract Devil

HectorVivis's page

420 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




Hello,

I'd like to confirm something here, as my mostly caster shaman wants to throw some punches into battle with his friends.

I want to use Monstrous Physique to gain a 6-armed form, like the Calikang.

I glanced at some guides and threads at first for the forms, and I noticed they all said you keep your armor while on Monstrous Physique. Pretty nice... But by habit I checked the relevant rules to avoid outdated information.

And something caught my eyes:

Polymorphy rules wrote:
When you cast a polymorph spell that changes you into a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin type, all of your gear melds into your body.[...] Other polymorph spells might be subject to this restriction as well, if they change you into a form that is unlike your original form (subject to GM discretion)

It wouldn't surprise me that going from 2 arms to 6 could be something that goes against the use of my armor, for example.

So, I'd like to confirm: Can I walk and punch as the mighty Calikang (or the even mightier gegenees) and still use my armor ?

all the polymorph rule text:
Quote:

Polymorph: A polymorph spell transforms your physical body to take on the shape of another creature. While these spells make you appear to be the creature, granting you a +10 bonus on Disguise skill checks, they do not grant you all of the abilities and powers of the creature. Each polymorph spell allows you to assume the form of a creature of a specific type, granting you a number of bonuses to your ability scores and a bonus to your natural armor. In addition, each polymorph spell can grant you a number of other benefits, including movement types, resistances, and senses. If the form you choose grants these benefits, or a greater ability of the same type, you gain the listed benefit. If the form grants a lesser ability of the same type, you gain the lesser ability instead. Your base speed changes to match that of the form you assume. If the form grants a swim or burrow speed, you maintain the ability to breathe if you are swimming or burrowing. The DC for any of these abilities equals your DC for the polymorph spell used to change you into that form.

In addition to these benefits, you gain any of the natural attacks of the base creature, including proficiency in those attacks. These attacks are based on your base attack bonus, modified by your Strength or Dexterity as appropriate, and use your Strength modifier for determining damage bonuses.

If a polymorph spell causes you to change size, apply the size modifiers appropriately, changing your armor class, attack bonus, Combat Maneuver Bonus, and Stealth skill modifiers. Your ability scores are not modified by this change unless noted by the spell.

Unless otherwise noted, polymorph spells cannot be used to change into specific individuals. Although many of the fine details can be controlled, your appearance is always that of a generic member of that creature's type. Polymorph spells cannot be used to assume the form of a creature with a template or an advanced version of a creature.

When you cast a polymorph spell that changes you into a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin type, all of your gear melds into your body. Items that provide constant bonuses and do not need to be activated continue to function while melded in this way (with the exception of armor and shield bonuses, which cease to function). Items that require activation cannot be used while you maintain that form. While in such a form, you cannot cast any spells that require material components (unless you have the Eschew Materials or Natural Spell feat), and can only cast spells with somatic or verbal components if the form you choose has the capability to make such movements or speak, such as a dragon. Other polymorph spells might be subject to this restriction as well, if they change you into a form that is unlike your original form (subject to GM discretion). If your new form does not cause your equipment to meld into your form, the equipment resizes to match your new size.

While under the effects of a polymorph spell, you lose all extraordinary and supernatural abilities that depend on your original form (such as keen senses, scent, and darkvision), as well as any natural attacks and movement types possessed by your original form. You also lose any class features that depend upon form, but those that allow you to add features (such as sorcerers that can grow claws) still function. While most of these should be obvious, the GM is the final arbiter of what abilities depend on form and are lost when a new form is assumed. Your new form might restore a number of these abilities if they are possessed by the new form.

You can only be affected by one polymorph spell at a time. If a new polymorph spell is cast on you (or you activate a polymorph effect, such as wild shape), you can decide whether or not to allow it to affect you, taking the place of the old spell. In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell.


One of my player talked to me about a way to boost his monk: Using an allying weapon to improve his unarmed strikes.

RAW, it seems to work, but I don't want to overlook something.

With quick calculation, it's pretty neat: To gain a +5 equivalent bonus on his unarmed strikes (the AoMF cap), you make 53k of benefits.
- +5 Allying weapon: 72k
- AoMF alone: 125K

Now come 3 things I'm note totally sure to understand:

1. Can you give your special abilities (virtual enchantment bonus as flaming) to someone else with Allying ?
My player think so, but I don't. I'd like to confirm this.

2. Can you still gain benefits from special abilities (flaming, etc...) from an amulet of mighty fists while receiving bonus from an allying weapon on your unarmed strikes ?
I feel it's a yes, but it feels strong.
You don't have to take a +1 on an amulet of mighty fists to take special abilities, and it can go up to +5. Potentially an interesting way to get your +10 weapon in the end. Cost even a little less than a real +10 weapon.

3. What does "at the start of her turn before using her weapon" from the allying special ability means ?
Are you forced to make an attack with your allying weapon to use this ability ? I think so, but I want to confirm.

Thank you!


I'm not sure how to put it better to make a FAQ-valid question.

What it's all about: One of my player wants to make a mythic paladin using the sacrificial shield mythic path, which gives the broken condition when the shield is damaged (I feel it's the RAI). We will say my player has a heavy steel shield (hardness 10, hp 20).
Under the "Broken Condition and Sundering" sidebar (p.149 of UCombat), it states that :

Quote:
If a weapon gains the broken condition from an effect, that weapon is considered to have taken damage equal to half its hit points +1.

So, if I'm right, if my player use sacrificial shield to block an attack that should deal 11 damages, the shield take 1 damage, gain the broken condition, and is now considered at 9HP.

The main question is related to another part of the sidebar:

Quote:

This damage is repaired either by something that addresses the effect that granted the weapon the broken condition (like quick clear in the case of firearm misfires or the Field Repair feat in the case of weapons with the fragile quality) or by the normal method for recovering item hit points (detailed in the broken condition description).

When an effect that grants the broken condition is removed, the weapon regains the hit points it lost when the broken condition was applied.
Damage done by an attack against a weapon cannot be repaired by an effect that removes the broken condition.

My player argue that he can clear the "effect" by just repairing 1 hp on the shield (the damages absorbed by the shield), and the shield will be totally fixed, while I don't think it qualify as "removing" the effect that grant the shield his broken condition.

The question is rather complex, and I don't want to be unfair. Can you help me out ?

the entire sidebar:
Quote:

There are two ways for an item to gain the broken condition.

One is for the weapon to take damage from an attack or attacks that is in excess of half the weapon’s hit points. The other is for the weapon to gain that condition from some effect. Both firearms and fragile weapons include effects that grant a weapon the broken condition (Core Rulebook 565) without the weapon explicitly taking damage.
If a weapon gains the broken condition from an effect, that weapon is considered to have taken damage equal to half its hit points +1. This damage is repaired either by something that addresses the effect that granted the weapon the broken condition (like quick clear in the case of firearm misfires or the Field Repair feat in the case of weapons with the fragile quality) or by the normal method for recovering item hit points (detailed in the broken condition description).
When an effect that grants the broken condition is removed, the weapon regains the hit points it lost when the broken condition was applied.
Damage done by an attack against a weapon cannot be repaired by an effect that removes the broken condition.


6 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

I was reading the ARG, and I stumbled upon the Damnation Stride's duration.

Damnation Stride wrote:

Damnation Stride

School: conjuration (teleportation) [fire]
Level: sorcerer/wizard 5, summoner 4, witch 5
Casting Time: 1 standard action
Target: self and creatures within a 10-foot-radius burst (see below)
Duration: 1 minutes/level
Saving Throw: Reflex half, see text; Spell Resistance: no

This spell functions like dimension door, except you leave behind a burst of fire. Choose one corner of your starting square. A 10-foot-radius burst of flame explodes from that corner the moment you leave, dealing 4d6 points of fire damage (Reflex negates).

I made some digging, to check if it was typo, but as this post suggest, it is in fact not.

The poster's suggestion is that the spell can let you use a Dimensional Door each round in compensation to the +1 spell level and the "self only" use. Still, it lacks clarity IMHO.

Furthermore, if someone manage to caught how the spell is supposed to work, I'm curious to know if that spell would work with the Dimensional Agility, and how, as the duration would be quite interesting.


I know this has come in some threads, but my GM is currently skeptical that disheartening display can let me frighten a creature I already demoralized.

Advanced Class Guide wrote:

Disheartening Display (Combat)

Your show of prowess further demoralizes others.

Prerequisites: Dazzling Display, Weapon Focus, base attack bonus +6, proficiency with chosen weapon.

Benefit: When you successfully use Dazzling Display against any shaken, frightened, or panicked opponents, their fear increases by one step. An already panicked creature demoralized by this feat cowers. Once affected by this feat, a creature cannot be affected by it again (by you or anyone else) for 24 hours.

His argument is that Paizo is usually against any form of stacking from a same source, and it would be strange they accept this one.

Moreover, he thinks the feat shouldn't bypass this line of the intimidate skill:

Prd wrote:
Using demoralize on the same creature only extends the duration; it does not create a stronger fear condition.

I think this is the point of the feat: to bypass this. He think this is to scale with some powers that don't usually scale with anything, like Horrific Visage from the Accursed sorcerer bloodline, or the Frightful Charger bloodrager bloodline power.

I have some arguments as well: Number of feats involved (minimum 3), number of actions to make that works (normally 2 full-round actions), usually high DC to beat, creature types immune, and so on, but I'd like your opinion.


A friend of mine wants to make a gnome alchemist (grenadier), but I maybe found a flaw either in his build, or in the wording of the ability.

Indeed, Alchemical weapon let you use a move action (then swift, then free action) to imfuse a weapon or a piece of ammunition with an alchemical weapon. Cool stuff.
The problem is, I suspect you need to have the alchemical weapon in hand before using the ability, because nothing is told about drawing it.

It doesn't seem unreasonable to me, considering the trade. It makes me think about how poison are hard to use in fight.

Alchemical Weapon:
At 2nd level, a grenadier can infuse a weapon or piece of ammunition with a single harmful alchemical liquid or powder, such as alchemist's fire or sneezing powder, as a move action.

This action consumes the alchemical item, but transfers its effect to the weapon in question. The alchemical item takes full effect on the next creature struck by the weapon, but does not splash, spread, affect additional targets, or benefit from any other effects that specifically affect splash weapons. Any extra damage added is not doubled on a critical hit. The alchemical treatment causes no harm to the weapon treated, and wears off 1 minute after being applied if no blow is struck. Infusing a new alchemical item also removes the effect of any alchemical liquid or powder previously applied with this ability. At 6th level, a grenadier can use her alchemical weapon ability as a swift action. At 15th level, this ability becomes a free action.

This ability replaces poison resistance.

Didn't find a clear answer to this, so I'm curious.

PS: With the Grenadier archetype attributed to hobgoblins with th new Monster codex, does that mean it's a hobgoblin-only archetype now ? I'm confused.

Edit/PS2: Was there any official answer on the int modifier applied to the imfused weapon ?


I create this thread to bring some confusions about different spirits from the medium.

Demon's Lantern wrote:
A wisp has an AC of 12, and if it takes any damage, it dies in a burst of light, dealing whoever killed it 1d6 damage for every 2 medium levels you possess (Ref lex DC 10 + 1/2 medium level + Cha modifier half )

Can it deal damages to someone that killed him with reach/ranged attacks/spells/else ?

The Twin wrote:

Dual Identity (Supreme, Su): You can split yourself into

two selves. If you have two non-neutral aspects of your alignment, each of the two selves possesses one of those two aspects (so a LG character would split into a LN and a NG self ). You decide how to divide your spirits and magic items between the two selves.

So normal gear are duplicated for each twin, am I right ?. If so, 2 things:

1. NEVER wear magical cloth with it. Or be ready to face the consequences.
2. What happens with gear dropped, thrown and stuff. I think it may be useful to add a line about duplicated stuff disappearing with your "clone".


So I really like the medium, but something is bothering me, with the fact that you lose control: I think there is a little loophole in the rules, for (bad and meanie) GM.

Relevant texts:

spirit wrote:

[...]Whenever a medium draws deeply from a spirit’s power via a trance, that spirit increases its inf luence upon him by 1 step, with no maximum.

[...]
If a spirit ever reaches 4 or more influence over the medium, the medium completely loses control to the spirit. He effectively becomes an NPC under the GM’s control until after he awakens the next day with the influence reduced, unaware of anything that happened in the intervening time.

Problem, what prevent a now-NPC medium to abuse the transe ?

Because there is no text to disallow a spirit to trance with himself, there could be abuse (But I agree that if your GM pull that trick, you should leave immediately).


Question of the day: Does Beacon of Hope works with Greater Skald's Vigor ?

Fast healing are like natural healing, if we follow the description of Fast healing from the Universal Monster Rules, so I'm a little hesitant on the subject.


Hello!

My friends want to try the Wrath of the Righteous, and I found it was the right time to play the next sheriff of the Worldwound: A holy gun. With dragon pistols and maybe a culverin.

Problem: After reading the rules, I'm just completely lost.

1. Do you target touch AC when you use a scattering shot ?
Okay, you hit everything in the cone, with a -2... But does is target touch AC ?
Because the only part about touch AC is when it's within the first range increment of a early firearm, or within the first 5 of an advanced firearm. Does the cone count as a range increment ?

rules quotations:
UCombat wrote:
Scatter Weapon Quality: A weapon with the scatter weapon quality can shoot two different types of ammunition. It can fire normal bullets that target one creature, or it can make a scattering shot, attacking all creatures within a cone. Cannons with the scatter weapon quality only fire grapeshot, unless their descriptions state otherwise. When a scatter weapon attacks all creatures within a cone, it makes a separate attack roll against each creature within the cone. Each attack roll takes a –2 penalty, and its attack damage cannot be modified by precision damage or damage-increasing feats such as Vital Strike. Effects that grant concealment, such as fog or smoke, or the blur, invisibility, or mirror image spells, do not foil a scatter attack. If any of the attack rolls threaten a critical, confirm the critical for that attack roll alone. A firearm that makes a scatter shot misfires only if all of the attack rolls made misfire. If a scatter weapon explodes on a misfire, it deals triple its damage to all creatures within the misfire radius.

2. Is there a way to improve the cone of a scatter weapon ?
To be precise, can a distance enchantment do the trick, or the limitless range path of the Champion ? If the cone is considered as a range increment, it seems it should work. If it isn't, or anything else is wrong, is there another way ?

3. What is the actual range for the dragon pistol ?
The table indicates 20ft., while the description states it's a 15ft cone or a 10ft. shot.
I suppose the description's right, but I prefer to check.

4. The last but not least: Can you make a holy smite with a scatter weapon ?
I wondered after reading a post implying it was. But after (over?)reading the description again, I feel it's not possible, because a holy smite has effect on "the target". The description of the scatter quality tells about a target only when you make a single attack.

relevant rules:
Smiting Shot wrote:
Smiting Shot (Su): A holy gun can spend 1 grit point to make a smiting shot with a firearm attack as a standard action. If the target is evil, the holy gun adds her Charisma bonus and her paladin level to the damage of the firearm attack. If the target of the smiting shot is an outsider with the evil subtype, an evil-aligned dragon, or an undead creature, the bonus to damage increases to the Charisma modifier plus 2 points of damage per level the paladin possess. Regardless of the target, smiting shot automatically bypasses any DR the creature might have. This ability replaces smite evil.

You can find the quote about scatter weapon in the spoiler above

Thank you.

Note: We only play with Core books and sometimes Campaign Settings books. So no Companion/3pp please.


Reading about the shadowdancer, a friend of mine found that he could use the rogue talent to gain a ninja trick. He is playing a drunken master, and was interested to gain a near-at will invisibility.

But we disagree on the number of rounds of invisibility he could have at each use of this trick.

Here's the vanishing trick:

PRD, ninja wrote:
Vanishing Trick (Su): As a swift action, the ninja can disappear for 1 round per level. This ability functions as invisibility. Using this ability uses up 1 ki point.
And the Rogue talent:
PRD, Shadowdancer wrote:
Rogue Talent: At 3rd level, and every three levels thereafter, a shadowdancer gains a special ability that allows her to confound her foes. This functions as the rogue talent class feature. A shadowdancer cannot select an individual talent more than once. If a shadowdancer has the advanced talents rogue class feature, she can chose from the advanced talents list instead.

3 possibility here:

- He has 1 round per character level
- He has 1 round per ninja level (and he doesn't have one, so 0)
- He has 1 round per class that took the trick (so 1 round per Shadowdancer level)

Most of the other tricks states "equal to her class level" or "by ninja level".

Is there any rule on this ?
I was pretty sure that except when it stated "character level", a level was considered a "class level".


So a friend was looking at the Bolt Ace, and asked me about the Signature Deed with the Sharp Shoot.

Here's the rule:

Sharp Shoot wrote:
Sharp Shoot (Ex): At 1st level, a bolt ace can resolve an attack against touch AC instead of normal AC when firing a crossbow at a target within its first range increment. Performing this deed costs 1 grit point. This deed replaces deadeye.
Signature Deed wrote:

Signature Deed (Grit)

You are known for performing a particular deed, and can perform it with greater ease.
Prerequisites: Grit class feature, gunslinger level 11th.

Benefit: Pick a deed that you have access to and that you must spend grit to perform. You can perform this deed for 1 fewer grit point (minimum 0). If the amount of grit needed to perform the deed is reduced to 0, you can perform this deed for the normal action cost as long as you have at least 1 grit point.

Does it mean that you can always go against touch AC with the bolt ace at level 11, because you drop the cost to 0 grit point ?

I mean, I wouldn't be surprise they meant this deed to be used only once per round, but forgot to either making it a swift action or adding a line line "once per round".
Maybe we just overlooked about something preventing us to use more than one deed per round, so I prefer to ask.


In a campaign, I, as a player, bought a scroll of Commune from a cleric.

A question appeared: Does the deity for a commune/consecrate/other spell is bound by the scribe of the scroll, or by the one who use the scroll ?

Is it the same for wands and other magic items ? I think it is, but I prefer to ask.

If you could quote and link to the relative rules, it would be very pleasant.


I've got a question about the Blade Adept, and more precisely on his exploit, the Eldritch blade. Here's the rule.

Eldritch Blade wrote:
Eldritch Blade: A blade adept with this exploit uses her caster level instead of her class level for the purpose of advancing her bonded sword's powers.

I'm a little confused on what they wanted to do here.

1. Do you use your arcanist caster level with potential increased from prestige class and feats ?
2. Do you use you highest caster level (viva SLA!) ?
3. Something else ?

The second option doesn't seem to be quite right, as you could just take 3 levels of arcanist to have your shiny intelligent blade for every level.
Still, it's unclear, and I'm not totally sure it's quite the cheese move.

Any input ?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

So I have three little questions regarding the dust knuckles.

1: Are you considered armed, as with a gauntlet, when you punch someone with the Dust Knuckles ?
I think yes, as they are under the alchemical weapons, but I'm not sure, as they doesn't have a precise category, and else. It could totally be an extension of an unarmed strike.

2: Can you use the dust knuckles again after you punch someone if you provide it with other vials ? If you can, what's the action to do so ?

3: About the poison and the vials, are you using one dose, or up to 4 doses of poisons with it (each triggering when you punch the poor bastard) ?
It says you use 4 Dust Knuckles vials, but I think it is the former, as you can use the Diamond Dust Vials only in a set, but I keep wondering.

Rules for reference:
ACG wrote:

DUST KNUCKLES

This fingerless leather glove includes four small pouches sewn along the knuckle line into which
you can insert tiny vials of brittle glass sealed with wax. You can fill the vials with ground glass or poison. When you punch someone in the face, the vials shatter, releasing their contents into the target's face and eyes.
Quote:
Diamond Dust Vials wrote:

Diamond Dust Vials (25 gp): These vials a re filled with finely ground mineral crystals. When you shatter a vial with your punch, the target you hit must succeed at a DC 20 Reflex save to shield its eyes or be temporarily blinded for 1 round.


I was looking at the ratfolk favored class option, and was wondering: Except outside those very few who wants to maximise their skill points in escape artist, isn't it absolutely useless ?

If yes, is it intended ?

Rule for reference:

PRD, ARG, Ratfolk wrote:

Favored Class Options

[...]
Rogue: Add a +1/2 bonus on Escape Artist checks.

Maybe my sleepy brain isn't working, so I'd like to hear some opinions on that.


Hello!

I need some help to find how to rule something:
I have a friend who wants to create a spirit-oriented barbarian/oracle. He wanted to know how the Spirit Shield and the Spirit totem work together.
They both give a miss chance against ranged attack, but are not concealment (some could say that the spirit totem should be a concealment miss chance, I agree, but not for the spirit shield).

So... What happen?
1/ Do you roll twice the miss chance ?
2/ Do you roll only for the highest ?
3/ Owi-Wan Kenobi ?

But let me give you the relevant rules:

Spirit Shield:
Spirit Shield
APG wrote:
Spirit Shield (Su): [...]At 13th level, this shield causes arrows, rays, and other ranged attacks requiring an attack roll against you to have a 50% miss chance.[/b][...]

Spirit Totem:
Spirit totem
UM wrote:
Spirit Totem (Su): While raging, the spirits that surround the barbarian make it difficult for her enemies to see her. The spirits grant the barbarian a 20% miss chance against ranged attacks and melee attacks made by creatures that are not adjacent to the barbarian (typically due to reach).[...]

Closest rule available:
Concealment rules on stacking
CRB wrote:
Concealment Miss Chance: Concealment gives the subject of a successful attack a 20% chance that the attacker missed because of the concealment. Make the attack normally—if the attacker hits, the defender must make a miss chance d% roll to avoid being struck. Multiple concealment conditions do not stack.


Dear ladies and gentlemen, I have a question for you.

Thank to some new threads about traps, I remembered an old question about it: Can you identify a trap ?

For magical traps, I'm sure you can but I hesitate between detect magic + spellcraft to identify an object, and Detect magic + knowledge (arcana) to "identify a spell effect that is in place". I always ruled the former, but I'm not sure anymore as I write this thread, so I would like to have your opinion.

For non-magical traps however, I'm totally lost: I'm not sure if Disable device, perception or even knowledge (Engineering) should come into play. And what would be the DC ?

RAW, it seems that the rogue is totally oblivious to what the traps he find/disable really are. He would need further cheks... But I can't find rules on it.


I have a player who is interested in taking the archimage:

Arcane Metamastery (Su) wrote:
As a swift action, you can expend one use of mythic power and pick any one metamagic feat you know that increases the slot level of the spell by 0 or 1 levels. For the next 10 rounds, you can apply this metamagic feat to any arcane spell you cast without increasing the spell slot used or casting time. You can also use this ability on an arcane spell you cast from a scroll, staff, or wand. You can't have more than one use of this ability active at a time. If you use this ability again, any previous use immediately ends (though this doesn't affect spells already cast). You can select this ability more than once. Each time you select this ability, the maximum spell slot level increase of the metamagic feat you can choose goes up by 1, to a maximum of 4.

Do you gain both effects, or just one ? I'm not a native English speaker, so I'm not sure.


Simple question:

Does the Swashbuckler apply to ALL light and one-handed piercing weapons, or just light and one-handed piercing weapons you can you with weapon finesse only ?

RAW, it seems to be the first interpretation. So what's RAW, what's RAI ?

I would like some input on that.


I saw some posts about this, but without any clear/legal answers:

Here's the rules about acrobatics.
The problem our party faced belongs here:

PRD wrote:
Finally, you can use the Acrobatics skill to make jumps or to soften a fall. The base DC to make a jump is equal to the distance to be crossed (if horizontal) or four times the height to be reached (if vertical). These DCs double if you do not have at least 10 feet of space to get a running start

So I got a couple of questions, and even more after some reading:

1. Do you need to use the "run" action ?
2. Do you need to have straight line of 10ft ?
3. If yes, does your jump need to continue this line ?
4. Does difficult terrain "block" a running start ?

Thank you for helping! :D


Here we are.

One of my player want to play a slayer catfolk, and we would know if, with a slayer's talent or the investigator's talent "rogue talent", we could take a racial rogue talent.

I think some racial talent/discov'/stuff could be taken by the "hybrid classes".

Did you take a close look at this ?
If yes, will you make all of them available, all restricted, or will you make a restricted list ?

PS: Sorry if it was already asked before.


Okay, so I'm a DM of a group including a summoner who desire to make a constrictor eidolon.
But after some hours of research for some problems, I gave up and decided to ask on the board.

1. Do the +4 from eidolon's grab stacks with the +4 from the grab ?

Spoiler:
PRD, Eidolon wrote:
Grab(Ex): An eidolon becomes adept at grappling foes, gaining the grab ability. Pick bite, claw, pincers, slam, tail slap, or tentacle attacks. Whenever the eidolon makes a successful attack of the selected type, it can attempt a free combat maneuver check. If successful, the eidolon grapples the target. This ability only works on creatures of a size one category smaller than the eidolon or smaller. Eidolons with this evolution receive a +4 bonus on CMB checks made to grapple.
PRD, Universal Monster Rules wrote:

Grab (Ex) If a creature with this special attack hits with the indicated attack (usually a claw or bite attack), it deals normal damage and attempts to start a grapple as a free action without provoking an attack of opportunity. Unless otherwise noted, grab can only be used against targets of a size equal to or smaller than the creature with this ability. If the creature can use grab on creatures of other sizes, it is noted in the creature's Special Attacks line. The creature has the option to conduct the grapple normally, or simply use the part of its body it used in the grab to hold the opponent. If it chooses to do the latter, it takes a –20 penalty on its CMB check to make and maintain the grapple, but does not gain the grappled condition itself. A successful hold does not deal any extra damage unless the creature also has the constrict special attack. If the creature does not constrict, each successful grapple check it makes during successive rounds automatically deals the damage indicated for the attack that established the hold. Otherwise, it deals constriction damage as well (the amount is given in the creature's descriptive text).

Creatures with the grab special attack receive a +4 bonus on combat maneuver checks made to start and maintain a grapple.

We don't think so, but better be sure.

2. Full attack and grab.

Spoiler:
PRD, Universal Monster Rules wrote:
Grab(Ex): [...]The creature has the option to conduct the grapple normally, or simply use the part of its body it used in the grab to hold the opponent. If it chooses to do the latter, it takes a –20 penalty on its CMB check to make and maintain the grapple, but does not gain the grappled condition itself.[...]

a) Can you full attack without using this option ?
b) If yes, can you attack other ennemies than the one grappled ?
c) If yes again, can you grab another foe ?

I'm seriously confused by this stuff.

3. Maintain a grapple"

Spoiler:
PRD, Grapple wrote:
Although both creatures have the grappled condition, you can, as the creature that initiated the grapple, release the grapple as a free action, removing the condition from both you and the target. If you do not release the grapple, you must continue to make a check each round, as a standard action, to maintain the hold. If your target does not break the grapple, you get a +5 circumstance bonus on grapple checks made against the same target in subsequent rounds. Once you are grappling an opponent, a successful check allows you to continue grappling the foe, and also allows you to perform one of the following actions (as part of the standard action spent to maintain the grapple).

+ Greater Grappler, to maintain a grapple by move action.

& Rapid Grappler, to make another grapple check as a swift action

a) Can you "maintain a grapple" in the round you initiate the grapple ?
It gives a good +5 to CMD on the next grapple check, the better way to continue grappling a foe while grab & stuff gives bonus to CMB only (If I understand it correctly).

b) What happen if you fail your first "maintain a grapple" check of the round?
They say you gain more grappling check, to a total of 3 by round.

Let's say Batman is a pro at grappling, he took Greater and Rapid Grappler. In a fight against Joker, he managed to grapple him in round 1. Joker failed to escape in his turn. Then it's round 2, and Batsy failed the first check of the 3 he got thanks to his feats. What happen ?
-> He can use another of his check to maintain the grapple
-> The Joker is considered as the grappler, then he can try to break the grapple with another of his check ?
-> Else ?

4. Natural attack and Improved Grapple
In a thread about the necessity of Improved Unarmed Strike to take Improved Grapple, someone implied James Jacob said a natural attack could be use as a prerequisite for Improved Grapple. I didn't find anything, and I think it's a no by RAW at least, but I'm curious.

5. Is there any "guide to grapple" ?
I was surprised to not find one in there for exemple.

Sidenote: Sorry if I misspelled and stuff, english is not my native language.