
Maezer |
Can a monk use his flurry of blows attack while wielding a temple sword two-handed gaining 1.5 his strength bonus to damage?
If so does he eliminate the penalty to his attacks that assume he is duel wielding during the flurry?
No. Flurry of blows explicitly states that you get 1x strength modifier when using flurry of blows even when wielding a weapon in both hands.

Kilbourne |

A monk applies his full Strength bonus to his damage rolls for all successful attacks made with flurry of blows, whether the attacks are made with an off-hand or with a weapon wielded in both hands.
Only 1x modifier on Str for damage, not matter what.
Also, you need to use a monk weapon to employ Flurry of Blows.
When doing so he may make one additional attack using any combination of unarmed strikes or attacks with a special monk weapon (kama, nunchaku, quarterstaff, sai, shuriken, and siangham) as if using the Two-Weapon Fighting feat (even if the monk does not meet the prerequisites for the feat).

Nightfiend |

Nightfiend wrote:No. Flurry of blows explicitly states that you get 1x strength modifier when using flurry of blows even when wielding a weapon in both hands.Can a monk use his flurry of blows attack while wielding a temple sword two-handed gaining 1.5 his strength bonus to damage?
If so does he eliminate the penalty to his attacks that assume he is duel wielding during the flurry?
I took a look at flurry again and it states you apply your full strength bonus to the damage but, i didn't see where it states that the damage is 1x or 1.5x. It just states full strength damage.

Nightfiend |

Full strength damage is x1. Also, due to the wording, whether the attacks are made with an off-hand or a weapon wielded in both hands, I am assuming it is excluding the application of the normal 1.5x additive for normal two-handed fighting.
Do you understand what I mean?
So in effect a monk would be reducing the amount of strength damage he could deal by using the temple sword two-handed rather then using two weapons. He would intern also be reducing the base weapon damage because he would be loosing his off hand attack. Does that sound correct?

Kilbourne |

Kilbourne wrote:So in effect a monk would be reducing the amount of strength damage he could deal by using the temple sword two-handed rather then using two weapons. He would intern also be reducing the base weapon damage because he would be loosing his off hand attack. Does that sound correct?Full strength damage is x1. Also, due to the wording, whether the attacks are made with an off-hand or a weapon wielded in both hands, I am assuming it is excluding the application of the normal 1.5x additive for normal two-handed fighting.
Do you understand what I mean?
Yes, the monk will, unless you MacGyver the feat system around, get more damage using the Flurry of Blows with a monk weapon.
EDIT: DO NOT LISTEN TO ME, LISTEN TO ABRAHAM SPALDING

Abraham spalding |

Kilbourne wrote:So in effect a monk would be reducing the amount of strength damage he could deal by using the temple sword two-handed rather then using two weapons. He would intern also be reducing the base weapon damage because he would be loosing his off hand attack. Does that sound correct?Full strength damage is x1. Also, due to the wording, whether the attacks are made with an off-hand or a weapon wielded in both hands, I am assuming it is excluding the application of the normal 1.5x additive for normal two-handed fighting.
Do you understand what I mean?
Um... in a word no.
He would get all the attacks from the flurry with the one weapon.
Basically put a monk that is flurrying gets to two weapon fight with one weapon without the strength penalty for the off hand weapon, and without the price for the off hand weapon so long as he uses a "monk" weapon.

BigNorseWolf |

No, you cannot be captain kirk and do the two-fisted slams.
I think the only two handed monk weapon is the quarterstaff, which (if you don't value your sanity at all) you can try to use as a two handed weapon, flurry, and two weapon fight. You might not HIT anything, but more attack dice than most fireballs do for damage is always fun.

Quandary |

Basically any monk weapon can be wielded two-handed.
The special wording in Flurry means even off-hand weapons use 1x STR bonus.
As for using a Temple Sword while Flurrying, I would expect the sword to only deliver the main-hand attacks (or off-hand - it doesn`t matter which, see above) and the other `hand`´s attack be delivered `however` via UAS (kick, headbash, etc).
Quarterstaves themselves obviously can have main and off-hand attacks, but I don`t see anything in the Flurry wording such that a `single` (non-Double) weapon wielded two handed itself makes more attacks (i.e. both main and off-hands), just that it can be used `as part of` a Flurry.
I.e. besides the Monk`s better damage mod on off-hand attacks (but worse on 2-Handed main-hand attacks), not much different than a Fighter 2WFìng with a Temple Sword (2-Handed) and UAS or Armor Spikes (as off-hand). + that Monks can Sunder in place in place of (via?) any Flurry UAS attack.

Abraham spalding |

Um... people you don't need a second weapon to do all your flurry of blows with -- all you need is one monk weapon. You can't two weapon fight and flurry of blows because flurry of blows works just like two weapon fighting (with a BAB boost). You never get extra damage from strength while using a flurry of blows (by extra damage I mean 1.5 strength damage for using a weapon two handed) regardless of how many two handed monk weapons there are or are not.

Skull |

Um... people you don't need a second weapon to do all your flurry of blows with -- all you need is one monk weapon. You can't two weapon fight and flurry of blows because flurry of blows works just like two weapon fighting (with a BAB boost). You never get extra damage from strength while using a flurry of blows (by extra damage I mean 1.5 strength damage for using a weapon two handed) regardless of how many two handed monk weapons there are or are not.
100%
Also remember that monks don't need weapons. That is what I love about monks!

![]() |

PFSRD wrote:A monk applies his full Strength bonus to his damage rolls for all successful attacks made with flurry of blows, whether the attacks are made with an off-hand or with a weapon wielded in both hands.Only 1x modifier on Str for damage, not matter what.
Also, you need to use a monk weapon to employ Flurry of Blows.
PFSRD wrote:When doing so he may make one additional attack using any combination of unarmed strikes or attacks with a special monk weapon (kama, nunchaku, quarterstaff, sai, shuriken, and siangham) as if using the Two-Weapon Fighting feat (even if the monk does not meet the prerequisites for the feat).
The temple sword is a monk weapon.
"Monk: A monk weapon can be used by a monk to perform a flurry of blows."

Pirate |

Yar!
A Temple Sword IS a monk weapon.
You can also make all of your flurry attacks with only one weapon, or any combination of weapons you are wielding, including unarmed attacks (but not natural attacks), so long as they are all monk weapons.
A Monk using Flurry of Blows uses his full strength modifier on ALL Flurry of blows attacks, regardless of it being a light weapon, one-handed weapon, or two-handed weapon, and regardless of it being wielded in his/her main hand of off-hand, or in both hands.
It has been stated many times that specific trumps general, and this is one of those cases of specific (flurry of blows) trumping general (strength modifier on damage for attacks by weapon size and how it’s wielded)
Power Attack is based off of your Base Attack Bonus and on how your wielding the weapon. It has nothing to do with how much strength mod you add (with the sole exception being to it’s application to Natural Attacks). Therefore, as per Power Attack, when wielding a one handed weapon with two hands (ie: Temple Sword) or a two-handed weapon (ie: Quarterstaff), you subtract (v) from your attack roll and add (v x 3) to your damage roll (where v is equal to 1 plus 1 for every 4 points of BAB you possess). This is a function of BAB and how the weapon is being wielded, not strength.
For the purpose of these attacks, the monk's base attack bonus is equal to his monk level.
Thus, I believe that when wielding a temple sword with two hands and using flurry of blows with said temple sword being wielded with both hands, you gain your normal strength modifier to damage all successful attacks. If you use Power Attack as well as attacking with a temple sword wielded with two hands during a Flurry of Blows, you subtract an amount from your attack rolls based on your modified BAB (modified from using Flurry of Blows), and add that number x3 to the damage of all successful attacks, as per the feat.
If the monk makes all of his Flurry of Blows attacks with only one weapon (only using unarmed strikes, only using a temple sword wielded in both hands, only using a temple sword wielded in one hand, using nothing but shurikens, holding a weapon in each hand but deciding to only kick his opponent, whatever) you STILL take the penalty to attack rolls as stated in the Flurry of Blows ability. You are still gaining additional attacks (using a higher than normal BAB), AS IF you were Two-Weapon-Fighting. You are not actually Two-Weapon-Fighting, you are using the Flurry of Blows ability. Flurry of Blows borrows the mechanics of Two-Weapon-Fighting to determine how many additional attacks the monk can make and at what penalty he makes them at while using the Flurry of Blows ability, but that is it. Regardless of how you Flurry of Blows, you are still using the Flurry of Blows ability, taking all the bonus’ and penalties that come with it.
~P
(partially ninja-ed, but it’s worth repeating… and yes, it took that long to write this in order to properly link everything plus I took a food break in the middle)

![]() |

Yar!
A Temple Sword IS a monk weapon.
You can also make all of your flurry attacks with only one weapon, or any combination of weapons you are wielding, including unarmed attacks (but not natural attacks), so long as they are all monk weapons.
** spoiler omitted **
A Monk using Flurry of Blows uses his full strength modifier on ALL Flurry of blows attacks, regardless of it being a light weapon, one-handed weapon, or two-handed weapon, and regardless of it being wielded in his/her main hand of off-hand, or in both hands.
It has been stated many times that specific trumps general, and this is one of those cases of specific...
Pirate is 100% correct on this one.

james maissen |
And, though this is arguable, he would get the higher damage from Power Attack if he has it in two hands.
Only if by 'arguable' you mean knee-jerk unsettling to people and leading to argument. Or even 'caught flat-footed' perhaps as people assume differently.
Meanwhile it is not debatable. Power attack is not tied to your strength modifier to damage.
-James

Grick |

Only if by 'arguable' you mean knee-jerk unsettling to people and leading to argument. Or even 'caught flat-footed' perhaps as people assume differently.
Lets hash out the argument again.
- The extra attacks from Flurry of Blows are made as if (Greater/Improved) Two-Weapon Fighting.
- The extra attacks from (G/I)Two-Weapon Fighting are off-hand attacks.
- Thus: Extra attacks during Flurry are off-hand attacks.
Power Attack says "This bonus to damage is increased by half (+50%) if you are making an attack with a two-handed weapon" and "This bonus to damage is halved (–50%) if you are making an attack with an off-hand weapon"
So, for the extra attacks granted by Flurry (the ones made as if TWF):
Is the attack made with a two-handed weapon? Yep, 50% bonus power attack damage.
Is the attack made with an off-hand weapon? Yep, -50% bonus power attack damage.
This means for half of your flurry attacks, you get full power attack. The other half (The extra attacks, made as if TWF) have both a 50% bonus for using a two-handed weapon, and a 50% penalty for attacks made with an off-hand. This results in a 25% penalty. Ridiculous.
Perhaps 'knee-jerking' PA to it's normal bonuses for flurry, regardless of the type of weapon used, isn't completely crazy. Perhaps it's even intended, given the lack of off-hand/main-hand penalties and strength bonuses in Flurry.

james maissen |
james maissen wrote:Only if by 'arguable' you mean knee-jerk unsettling to people and leading to argument. Or even 'caught flat-footed' perhaps as people assume differently.Lets hash out the argument again.
Sure let's:
Is power attack tied to the STR bonus to damage or to how the weapon is being used?
This bonus to damage is increased by half (+50%) if you are making an attack with a two-handed weapon, a one handed weapon using two hands, or a primary natural weapon that adds 1-1/2 times your Strength modifier on damage rolls. This bonus to damage is halved (–50%) if you are making an attack with an off-hand weapon or secondary natural weapon.
Which means that power attack is NOT tied to the strength mod to damage.
So as you say, for your primary attacks the power attack bonus is 3:1 and not 2:1 or 1:1. We can agree.
As to the other you are assuming that multipliers are not additive, which they are in D&D. Thus being both a two-handed weapon and being used as an 'off-hand' attack it would get 2:1 power attack.
It's not that hard,
James

Omelite |

james maissen wrote:Only if by 'arguable' you mean knee-jerk unsettling to people and leading to argument. Or even 'caught flat-footed' perhaps as people assume differently.Lets hash out the argument again.
- The extra attacks from Flurry of Blows are made as if (Greater/Improved) Two-Weapon Fighting.
- The extra attacks from (G/I)Two-Weapon Fighting are off-hand attacks.
- Thus: Extra attacks during Flurry are off-hand attacks.
The fact that you use the same BAB progression as TWF does not mean that you are TWF. Offhand has a definition in the game that is not tied to the particular BAB progression you're attacking at.
Meanwhile, with a Temple Sword in two hands, you ARE attacking with a weapon in two hands and you are NOT attacking with an offhand, so power attack is at a +3/-1 ratio.

Omelite |

As to the other you are assuming that multipliers are not additive, which they are in D&D. Thus being both a two-handed weapon and being used as an 'off-hand' attack it would get 2:1 power attack.
It's not that hard,
James
A temple sword wielded in two hands is not an offhand weapon under any game definition of the term.
Also, that's not any kind of addition I've ever seen. There's no way I see that a +3 damage/-1 attack and +1 damage/-1 attack would add to +2 damage/-1 attack. That's averaging, not addition. If they were additive, and the weapon was in fact an offhand weapon, then with 20 BAB you'd get +24 damage/-12 attack, not +12 damage/-6 attack.

AvalonXQ |

A temple sword wielded in two hands is not an offhand weapon under any game definition of the term.
Sure it is. It's an offhand weapon any time you're using it as part of a TWF routine for offhand attacks.
For example, as a fighter, I could wield a sword in two hands, unarmed strike for my primary attacks, and use the sword for my offhand attacks. The rules allow for this.
Also, that's not any kind of addition I've ever seen.
The calculation, based on the language of the Power Attack feat, is +50% to the bonus from two-handed and -50% to the bonus from offhand. The result, which lines up with the other multiplier rules in this system, is the normal Power Attack bonus of +2/-1.

Grick |

As to the other you are assuming that multipliers are not additive, which they are in D&D.
Whoops, missed that one.
Thus being both a two-handed weapon and being used as an 'off-hand' attack it would get 2:1 power attack.
It's not that hard,
Tell that to the monk who is using flurry, and trying keep track of which of his attacks are off-hand for purposes of power attack (but not attack rolls or strength bonuses).

Ryan Michaluk |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
Googled this, thought I'd add my 2 cents.
The text on Flurry of Blows reads:
"When doing so he may make one additional attack using any combination of unarmed strikes or attacks with a special monk weapon as if using the Two-Weapon Fighting feat."
You are doing it "as if" using two-weapon fighting. You are not actually using two-weapon fighting. There are no "off-hand" attacks. You can make the full flurry with only a single weapon should you so choose, whether that weapon is a one-handed weapon, a two-handed weapon, one side of a double weapon, etc. It sounds like most people are in agreement on this.
To make off hand attacks AT ALL one must declare that he's using two-weapon fighting before attacking. And you can't use two-weapon fighting and flurry of blows at the same time since they are mutually exclusive full-attack actions.
Keep in mind that even if you have a weapon in each hand you can attack with both of them without two-weapon fighting. In the FAQ there's an example of a 6th level fight (6/1 BAB) with a longsword and a mace. As a regular full attack he can longsword/longsword, longsword/mace, mace/longsword, or mace/mace, all at +6/+1. You only incur the two-weapon fighting penalties if you gain the extra attack (or rather, intend to gain it by declaring you are two-weapon fighting at the beginning of the action). The fact that you are using a weapon in each hand doesn't actually matter.
Where I differ with people is in the 1x Str or 1.5x Str discussion. The text states that
"A monk applies his full Strength bonus to his damage rolls for all successful attacks made with flurry of blows, whether the attacks are made with an off-hand or with a weapon wielded in both hands."
Note that it doesn't say "full Strength MODIFIER", it says "full Strength bonus to damage". Well the "strength bonus to damage" is 1.5x Str mod when wielding a weapon with 2 hands and it's 0.5x Str mod for off-hand attacks, although I think we're in agreement that this part is irrelevant because you can't actually make off-hand attacks as part of a flurry. You definitely can make attacks with a two-handed weapon though, so the first part matters.
I do believe the intention was for ALL attacks during a flurry to get the same x1 Str mod to damage, but it's not completely clear that this is the case from the wording. For balance purposes though I enforce this in my own games. Flurry is already powerful enough without adding extra damage.
Edit: Two 2 main questions here (1.5x or 1x and 3x or 2x power attack) shoudl be in the FAQ. If you're reading this and you agree go up to the original post and hit the FAQ button.

Ryan Michaluk |
Can you point me to this? I found a blog post titled "Monkeying around" (posted on 12/4/12) which states:
"Flurry of Blows: We have decided to reverse a previous ruling (that came from this very blog) that stated you needed to use two weapons when using flurry of blows (or a combination of weapon attacks and unarmed strikes). You can now make all of your attacks with just one weapon, or substitute any number of these attacks with an unarmed strike. Of course, if you have a pair of weapons and want to keep using both of them, that still works as well."
This, of course, doesn't answer the Str bonus question at all. The other two topics in the blog post were about the Ki Pool and AofMF, so I'm not missing anything there.
Similarly, the FAQ only addresses whether one can make a FofB with a single weapon. It says nothing about the damage modifier, which is the remaining, open, relevant question of this thread. The other question, about off hand attacks, doesn't require a FAQ at all, just a careful reading of the original rules.