Exemplar Horn of Plenty Question


Rules Discussion


Hi all

I'm double checking rules because the description for the transcendance ability for the Exemplar Horn of Plenty is confusing me, and my local GM slightly. If I used "feed the masses", would it be a single action, or a pair of actions? Both myself and the GM agree it's a max of two, and we would both like to figure out whether we're reading it wrong.

Single Action - Feed the Masses

Quote:
The horn of plenty allows you to transfer the effects of potions and elixirs to your allies. You Interact to draw a consumable from the horn and then Interact to drink it. Rather than nourishing yourself, the item’s effects are transferred to a willing ally within 60 feet, as if they had consumed it themself. If the consumable restores Hit Points, you can choose to divide the amount it restores between you and the ally freely (after rolling dice to determine the amount).

from AoN


2 people marked this as a favorite.
eachtoxicwolf wrote:

Hi all

I'm double checking rules because the description for the transcendance ability for the Exemplar Horn of Plenty is confusing me, and my local GM slightly. If I used "feed the masses", would it be a single action, or a pair of actions? Both myself and the GM agree it's a max of two, and we would both like to figure out whether we're reading it wrong.

Single Action - Feed the Masses

Quote:
The horn of plenty allows you to transfer the effects of potions and elixirs to your allies. You Interact to draw a consumable from the horn and then Interact to drink it. Rather than nourishing yourself, the item’s effects are transferred to a willing ally within 60 feet, as if they had consumed it themself. If the consumable restores Hit Points, you can choose to divide the amount it restores between you and the ally freely (after rolling dice to determine the amount).
from AoN

It has the 1 action symbol, so it's one action: it DOES have 2 subordinate actions, but that doesn't impact how many actions it takes to use.

Subordinate Actions

"The action that allows you to use a subordinate action doesn’t require you to spend more actions or reactions to do so; that cost is already factored in."


Its one action. The part you copy and pasted even say "Single Action - Feed the Masses" The ability tells you how many actions it takes.


Many thanks. We're mostly double checking because it used "interact" twice in the description. I'm still happy with the way I used it - ranged healing to help a party member which saved an action.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Exemplar Horn of Plenty Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.