Archibald Chaucer
|
Tell me where I've done something wrong.
I have a sorcerer who bought a compact spellbook. I then play games with wizard, magus, and arcanist players. During the scenario, I ask them to copy their spells into my spellbook. I pay the cost of materials.
I then buy a Ring of Spell Knowledge. I teach the ring shield from my spellbook with spellcraft checks.
| Azothath |
Ring of Spell Knowledge 1 [ring] 1500gp for spontaneous spellcasters. Through study, the wearer can gain the knowledge of a single spell in addition to those allotted by her class and level. ... the wearer must still encounter a written, active, or cast version of the spell and succeed at a DC 20 Spellcraft check to teach the spell to the ring. Thereafter, the arcane spellcaster may cast the spell as though she knew the spell and it appeared on her class’ spell list.
Arcane spells that do not appear on the wearer’s class list are treated as one level higher for all purposes (storage and casting).
based on RAW the spells in a spellbook will suffice with the above spellcraft check.
The process should go 1) The decipher check for another's spell is a Spellcraft check (DC 15{or 20} + spell’s level). 2) Then it is a Spellcraft DC 20 to teach it to the ring. The time between the two sequential checks isn't mandated in RAW but for Game Balance purposes your GM is likely to require it on the same day (same day preperation).
To decipher an arcane magical writing (such as a single spell in another’s spellbook or on a scroll), a character must make a Spellcraft check (DC 20 + the spell’s level). If the skill check fails, the character cannot attempt to read that particular spell again until the next day. A read magic spell automatically deciphers magical writing without a skill check. If the person who created the magical writing is on hand to help the reader, success is also automatic.
so the DC to decipher could be a bit higher as I seem to be getting different DCs from different parts of RAW...
the Who can copy from Whom List is in Ultimate Magic (basically Alchemists are a dead end).
===end===
Normally spells are copied from an NPC using the PC's time, paying 10*SplLvl^2 gp scribing cost, SplLvl pages of paper, and paying the NPC 5*SplLvl^2 gp. It'll be the same total price if the NPC copies it.
Copying is cheaper: if the the scriber already has learned and scribed the spell in a book, copying it into another book is done at half cost. So your friends could cut you a break.
| Pizza Lord |
I agree with Azothath. A spell written in a spellbook should suffice for your ring of spell knowledge (if you pass the DC 20 Spellcraft check).
On a tangent:
If you suddenly became a wizard or something, you wouldn't be able to prepare any of those spells written in your book by others until you deciphered them with Spellcraft (DC 20 + spell level) or read magic, and you would still need a Spellcraft check (DC 15 + spell level) every time you tried to prepare it. And even then, you can't do that until you choose to learn that spell and write it into your spellbook yourself. You could copy the one written in there into your own and then prepare it normally.
| Azothath |
I'm going to suggest a couple of options;
1) just borrow the party caster's book and use it.
2) volunteer to carry the party caster's backup spellbooks (their copy) 'just in case'. Then use those copies. You can always add to the groups 'library' of spells.
You'll need a handy haversack.
3) buy some spellbooks. They're not that costly and you just pay their value which is cheaper than NPC access. They swould have an array like 14@0, 12@1st, 8@2nd, 4@3rd.
| Tom Sampson |
A spell written into a spellbook would indeed constitute a written version of the spell and enable the use of a Ring of Spell Knowledge. This works. The only question is why you are bothering to invest in your own spellbook when you could borrow a party member's spellbook for your ring.
| Andy Brown |
A spell written into a spellbook would indeed constitute a written version of the spell and enable the use of a Ring of Spell Knowledge. This works. The only question is why you are bothering to invest in your own spellbook when you could borrow a party member's spellbook for your ring.
From the wording of the OP, I'd guess they're not always playing with the same characters, such as with society play, so they want their own copy of the spells because they don't know in advance what's going to be available
| Azothath |
An additional argument is: If a sorcerer had Scribe Scroll feat he could make scrolls, so why can't the class scribe a spell into a book other than it is generally useless to the class. It also explains why some creative spell scribings are hard to decipher and require a skill check... lol.
The simple riposte is, RAW doesn't say they can.
So it's GM territory.
in OrgPlay their Chronicles will serve as evidence of the spells in the spellbook, particularly Items Purchased and notes thereof.
A copy made by the spell owner using his book is done at half cost (in the new book) but there's the spellcraft check to use it by someone else. Normally those are 'take 10' after 5th level.
How often you can change the spell in the ring is up for debate, but once per day seems adequate and fair. I'd reference the FAQ on Paragon Surge as a guideline.
| Tom Sampson |
How often you can change the spell in the ring is not a matter of debate, unless you are seeking to houserule things. There is no restriction in the text that you can only change the spell in a Ring of Spell Knowledge a limited number of times per day, and that clearly indicates you can change the contents at will. Since the action is not specified, it defaults to a standard action. This is no different from a Ring of Invisibility and the same standards apply.
I would also note that the ring is not the same as the Paragon Surge spell. The Paragon Surge spell is far broader in its uses than just expanding spells known with the Expanded Arcana feat and unlike Paragon Surge the ring is limited to low level spells where you are unlikely to ever afford a ring with which to cast your highest spell level—unless you are playing a Bloodrager or similar, which is generally not the sort of spellcaster we worry about.
And on a sidenote, personally I would indeed permit a player with the Scribe Scroll feat to write spells in a spellbook, but that is a houserule. There is a whole thread on that subject here and I think most GMs would honestly permit players without a Spellbook class feature to write spellbooks, but you do have to ask your GM as this is not how the rules work.
And to answer the original question, yes you can have other player characters with spellbook class features write spells into your spellbook. They would essentially be borrowing your spellbook and scribing a new spell into it as if it were their own spellbook. Since you can obviously scribe spells into an acquired spellbook as well as sell or gift spellbooks, it would not be a problem to have someone borrow your spellbook, write a new spell into it, and return it to your possession.