Cantrip deck


Rules Discussion


Hello, I have a question about cantrip deck.

Is it possible to have all existing cantrip in a cantrip deck ?

Is it only 1st level and non heightened ?

Thanks for your future answer.


It is only 1st level and non heightened.

The official item has 24 different cantrips from the Core rulebook, but your GM can make substitutions I suppose.

Keep in mind that each of the cantrips in the deck are 1 use before the card burns.


Normally Cantrips heighten automatically. The primary exception being if it is cast from an item that specifies the spell Rank (or spell level for legacy items) that the Cantrip is cast at.

Cantrip Deck does specify the level as level 1. So yes, Rank 1 - not Heightened.

As an extension of the rules, I don't see anything wrong with adding a 'Full Pack' deck that has a different set of Cantrips in it. Might even be nice to have some that are on a theme. It might be a bit much to have a 'Full Pack' deck that has all available Cantrips in it for the same price as the one that only gives 24 of them.

Also, as an extension of the rules, I don't see anything wrong with adding a higher item level version of the Cantrip Deck that casts the Cantrips at a higher spell Rank and spell bonus/DC appropriate to the item level. The price of those decks should be adjusted to also be appropriate to the higher item level.

I would also allow Crafting a Cantrip Deck 5 pack of a non-Common Cantrip that the crafting character knows or has access to.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Cantrip deck All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.