Finishers + Stance Strikes?


Rules Discussion


Sorry for the bad title, I wasn't sure how to phrase it. Anyway ...
SCENARIO: A character is a Swashbuckler who's taken the Monk or Martial Artist dedication. He's in Crane Stance, which specifies 'the only strikes you can make are Crane Wing attacks'.

The character wishes to use Confident Finisher, which, as part of the effect, says 'Make a Strike'.
This is probably obvious, but does this mean ...
1. He can perform the Confident Finisher with a Crane Wing attack, or
2. He can't perform the Confident Finisher because he has to perform a generic Strike, and can't due to his stance?


A Finisher just asks for a Strike, this Strike can use any kind of "weapon or Unarmed attack" the finisher allows (one made with an agile, finesse, etc)

So, as long as the "specific attack" of a Stance follows the requirements of the finisher (agile or finesse) then you can indeed use it on a Finisher.

Similar to how you can, as an example, use a Sudden Charge with a Crane Wing attack, or (to use a monk specific attack) you can use One-Inch punch with Crane Wing attacks.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Agree with the above. "The only strikes you can make" is somewhat confusing language because of the way Paizo decided to categorize unarmed strikes, but functionally they work like weapons. You can finisher with a crane wing in the same way you can finisher with a shortsword.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Adding my vote in agreement as well.

I tend to think of these unarmed attacks coming from stances as just named unarmed attacks - just like we have named weapons such as Ghoul Stiletto and Alghollthu Lash.

Named unarmed attacks are still just regular unarmed attacks. So you can make a Finisher Strike with Crane Wing attacks as well as Tiger Claw attacks just as well as you can when using Fist or a generic Claw or Bite attack from an ancestry. And just as well as you could make a Finisher attack with a Ghoul Stiletto or Alghollthu Lash.

What the "the only Strikes you can make are ..." restriction means is that when you make a Strike, the only weapon that you can use is the named unarmed attack. And that restriction would still apply to the subordinate Strike action in a Finisher.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Finishers + Stance Strikes? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.