Possible oversight as written: does the "Calm" spell cancel itself?


Rules Discussion


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber
Rules excerpt for "Calm" spell wrote:
... Failure Any emotion effects that would affect the creature are suppressed and the creature can't use...

And the "Calm" spell has the Emotion tag. Obviously not RAI, but RAW? If a target fails, it looks like it triggers a paradox in the vein of "this statement is false".


9 people marked this as a favorite.

Not really because RAW common sense is required. If a spell cancels itself it is too bad to be true. It is clearly referring to other or existing emotion effects.


Or as I phrase it: strict RAW is a troll ruling.


I did a bit of a read, and from my understanding a spell or effect cannot counteract(and possibly suppress) itself RAW as the general rules for those do specify "other spells" or "other effects".

Granted effects suppressing other effects is less detailed and nearly non-existent within the rules appart from in relation to conditions, but we also have no reason to believe spells supressing other effects behaves any differently from counteract or overriding conditions.


NorrKnekten wrote:
Granted effects suppressing other effects is less detailed and nearly non-existent within the rules appart from in relation to conditions

Light and Darkness though. Quite a large category. Also suppressing here is much more understandable and defined than counteracting, surprisingly.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Possible oversight as written: does the "Calm" spell cancel itself? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.